We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Florence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
Jensen Beach, Florida
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 309glenb
Sahil A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Florence, South Carolina
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CapnAmrca
Sahil A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2016

This was a nice layover hotel on our way to Miami. When you've been travelling for fourteen hours you don't want conference rooms, five star amenities or even a swimming pool . (which they did have brough) You want a clean room, a comfortable bed, and a simple breakfast so you can get going again. HJ filled the bill and...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R5982JJdavidb
Sahil A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for the trust and your business. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again soon. GM

ohio
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We had a bed - Sleeper sofa in 2nd room - not the right cushions - Was told they would bring cushions but did not. First morning we went down for breakfast - they ran out of food. Tub was dirty - cleaned it myself.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R8176AKterrys
Sahil A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

We are sorry to see you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. We are a new management company that has just recently taken over operations. We are about to go through major renovations throughout the property. We will also be going through retraining of the whole staff to make sure everyone has a great and relaxing experience...

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 31 December 2015

The lobby looked nice, we had been traveling a long time so thought "how bad could it be?" It could be worst than you'd imagine. Check in took forever, room was quite a ways from the entrance. Parked car, realized they never gave us a room key. Drove back to lobby, got card, drove back to room, card didn't work,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
Sahil A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are a new management company that has just recently taken over and are very sorry for the experience you had. We are starting renovations on the whole property to bring the experience back that every HOJO customer deserve. We are also taking a deep look into our procedures so...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 362bettyr
Sahil A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Breakfast was the worse I ever had in a hotel, the laundry room dirent work and was not inform of that before booking hotel, family with kids needs a laundry room.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 214janerg
Sahil A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are a new management company that has recently taken over operation of the hotel. I am sorry to hear you were not informed about the closure of the laundry. We are about to go through renovations and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you once they are complete. We are trying to...

Waynesville, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 December 2015

The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly. Buffet breakfast was excellent with a lot of choices. Room was clean and while the hotel is a bit older, it was comfortable. Very good value. Carol

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
Sahil A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this review. We are very glad your stay was wonderful. We are a new Management Team at the hotel and are very happy to see that our guests are happy with the changes we have made so far. We are starting renovations very soon and will be working very hard further improve our design while...

Baytown, Texas
Reviewed 11 November 2015

First room key card didn't work. Second room dirt on sink counter and I wouldn't get in that bathtub with a full nuke suit on. Food under head of bed & what looked like mouse droppings on box springs. Third room just slightly better. Tablecloths at breakfast were dirty and wrinkled. Food was disgusting and not much available for a...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K6125ZWjosephm
Sahil A, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about the experience you had with us. My team and I have just taken over management of this Howard Johnson just this week. Over the next 12 months our team plans to do a full renovation on the hotel and take care of all the inadequacies that currently exist. Please give us another chance...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I was absolutely wooed by the price of the hotel. It was well below the median for the area, which was very attractive. I went to check in and the customer service was actually pretty good. There were two attendants at the ready to assist. As is typical, I was asked for the credit card with which I reserved the...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmD300XU
Sahil A, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

We are a new management team that has been given control of the hotel just this week. We are very glad to hear that you liked our price and our staff made you happy, we will keep that in mind. I am sorry for the inconvenience that our procedures have caused. We are very invested to bring back the quality...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#28 of 40 in Florence
193 reviews
0.7 km away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#23 of 40 in Florence
461 reviews
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#22 of 40 in Florence
180 reviews
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
5.4 km away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Management as of Nov 2015. Many rooms with flat screen TVs. All rooms are equipped with microwave, fridge, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards. Group Rates and meeting room available. Free in room WIFI. We are located within walking distance of several restaurant chains. Right off the I95 exit 164. Within 5 minutes of shopping, baseball park, softball park, tennis complex, hospital and downtown Florence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Address: 2038 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Price Range: ₹ 3,823 - ₹ 5,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Florence
Ramada Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn Florence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere or sleep in your car”
 of 5 bubbles wdfltrdr, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We did not ask. Hotel seemed quiet and respectful Latoya will do her very best to accommodate you.”
 of 5 bubbles gailv985, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles LinT5, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles 256kg, 2 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Main building is great for us, as there are no pets allowed.”
 of 5 bubbles 609ruthh, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay