We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Florence Inns & Suites

Booking.comUS$ 72*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Florence Inns & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Florence Inns & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Perry Hall, Maryland
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Due to some of the previous reviews I almost did not make a reservation. I'm glad I read more than just a few reviews. We were traveling from Baltimore to Jacksonville to attend a wedding. When you are on the road and you only need the room to sleep, you also want a clean room and a comfortable bed. The...

Thank DesiChenko
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you just proved to others that not all reviews paint a negative picture of our hotel. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again.

Norris Point, Canada
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed at Florence Inn and Suites because we were evacuated from Myrtle Beach during Hurricane Matthew. After the first night we drove around Florence to find another place to stay. No Luck. I booked through Expedia for four nights and I told the owner we may stay for an extra night, pending weather conditions. I checked my bank account...

Thank Perry P
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. First of all I'd like to say that we glad you are O.K after that vicious storm we had. I would also like to apologize for the conditions of your room. Unfortunately we were sold out that night therefor we were unable to move you to different...

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Door handle didn't work. I struggled with high humidity and odor but son was sound asleep so I couldn't change rooms. Woke up & noticed carpet so gross I wore flip flops. mold in sink and coffee maker. Front desk unable to offer any resolution but suggested Manager on Monday might be able to discount $10.

Thank BlackfinJim
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very sorry for the issues you had with your room. We take pride in providing our guest with a clean and comfortable room. The issues you experienced were uncalled for and we take complete responsibility. I will personally talk with the housekeepers to assure that...

Rockville Centre, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The room was a bit dated but relatively clean if you did not look too closely at the dust in the corners of the mouldings. Air conditioner was noisy and operated at only one speed but it was adequate. Small kitchen area with some cooking and eating utensils provided. The buildings are two story with no elevator. When we checked...

Thank Barton L
Comer, Georgia
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Very sweet and helpful people. Nice rooms. Went out of there way to help and make us comfortable. While we were checking in someone went and turned on the air for us. Due to the temp was almost 100 degrees out.

Thank kimnall71
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. Our goal is to make each and every guest as comfortable as possible and we are pleased that you were happy with your stay. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 July 2016

The receptionist was very nice, but the room is filthy and very very very smelly. I was very tired but it was hard to sleep. (I should travel with a bottle of spray for smelly places...or just avoid them). Don't even bother.

Thank Monica V
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. I'm not sure what the smell was in your room but I can assure you that the Housekeepers spray air freshener in each room on a daily basis. Also, if you had informed the front desk of the smell, they would have promptly moved you to another...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

The price is good. The room is okay, happily it does not smell musty (that's key). It is not super fancy, the bed is not great, the furniture is a little weird. You get two small, thin towels. Fast wifi, though. Haven't had the breakfast yet, hope that is adequate.

Thank Janice M
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. I'm sorry you didn't find the bed as comfortable to your liking but we do try very hard to make each and every guest as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again on your next trip trough Florence.

Reviewed 7 July 2016

Please stay away from this hotel!!!! The owner of this proper is rude, disrespectful and a TIRANT.. He treat the staff like second class citizens and has not respect for the guest and their privacy. He walks around the properly as if he the WARDEN of a maximum security jail. The breakfast was bare minimum and he should have better...

Thank Kay H
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. I am very sorry you were not happy with your stay. The owner does respect his staff and especially his guest. He walks the property frequently to be sure our guest are safe and secure. Come back and stay with us again and I can assure you...

Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

For just a place to rest our eyes while drive from Florida to Virginia it was ok. The only bad thing I would have to say about the room that we had was it was very musty when we first walked in and the carpet wasn't all that great. Other then that, it did the job.

Thank msell031415
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Non smoking room pillows and linens reeked of stale cigarette smoke. Carpet was icky. Room rates were almost double what the large sign advertised outside the hotel, apparently to cash in on the Methodist Church conference at the civic center. It wasn't a horrible place but definitely would not go back again.

Thank JanAndMikeL

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (34)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Room/Suite (8)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Bathroom (6)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (3)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
4.9 km away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
4.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
10.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#18 of 41 in Florence
354 reviews
10.2 km away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#31 of 41 in Florence
201 reviews
10.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Florence Inns & Suites

Address: 3821 Bancroft Rd, I-95 Exit 157, Florence, SC 29501-8041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Price Range: ₹ 4,521 - ₹ 4,844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florence Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Florence Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence Hotel Florence
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites Florence
Howard Johnson Florence
Florence Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Florence Inns & Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Florence Inns & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, hairdryer, flat screen TV, convenient to I-95.”
131lisamariek, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay far away.”
goosie43, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“extremely close to I95, gasoline and fast food”
donnasZ1170OS, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Two story - no elevator”
Bar2nL, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check the room before you decide to stay if you request a non-smoking room.”
SherraleeG, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 72* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 72
Expedia.comUS$ 72
TravelocityUS$ 72
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates