We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center

Save
Share
1310 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1114
Lowest prices for your stay
$108
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$108
View deal
Hotels.com$108
BestWestern.com
Priceline$108
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (10)

About

#9 of 12 hotels in Clemson
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At the Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center will stand out among other hotels in Clemson,SC. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at any Best Western hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Boating
Bowling offsite
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
127Reviews3Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 32
  • 14
  • 14
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Giancarlo D wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Josh has been an awesome Night Auditor. He is the nicest guy i’ve ever met. His service goes a long way! He’s a true gem to the company. I have walked in and I have received 5 star performance from him. He puts 110% effort in all of his tasks. Love this guy!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sam B wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
This dude literally saved my life! He let me use his phone charger! He was so kind and compassionate. This man has outstanding manners and you can tell he takes his job seriously. This man’s name is Josh the Night Auditor I’d give him a 10 out of 5!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
98lori wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions
Stayed here for football weekend. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The overall experience was very good and hotel was clean. My biggest complaint was that the door has gap at bottom and you could hear noises from hallway.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Clarence B wrote a review Oct 2022
Lafayette, Louisiana2 contributions
Excellent all around great location and motel was of a great design staff as excellent. Will return in the future It has an atrium with seating and TV's for football weekends design was at its best very user friendly also.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kentgabriel wrote a review Oct 2022
Columbia, South Carolina62 contributions78 helpful votes
I've been to a lot of hotels in my lifetime, and I've come to know you have to roll with the punches sometimes. Mistakes happen. Managers have staffing issues. COVID. etc etc. I get it, but if your hotel has a broken A/C or a broken toilet, (Or both), you have to fix it and then make it right for the customer. We booked this hotel for 2 nights for the Clemson | NC State football weekend. Paid a lot for an average hotel, but we knew that ahead of time, and I am not holding any of that against them. Supply and demand - heck, you could even say I learned that at Clemson University. When we checked in on day 1, the room was hot and as any frequent traveler knows, many hotel ACs have issues so I turned down the thermostat and waited a couple of hours to see if the room would cool down. It didn't. And by the time we got back from dinner we were tired and didn't want to wait so we toughed it out on night 1. Bad decision. We did not sleep well at all - anyway, we called the hotel who sent out an engineer in the morning and he confirmed the compressor was bad. So they moved us to a new room. Well, we moved ourselves. No offer to help, but for a hotel like this I didn't expect it. They did book us a room nearby which helped with the transfer of our luggage, and they did give us a suite, but this wasn't s suite suite. Keep in mind a suite at this hotel is not like a suite at the Marriott or Hilton. So expectations were low. When we were settled in that morning and were about ready to head out for the game, we noticed the TV didn't work and the toilet ran after flushing ... upon further inspection I noticed the flapper was deteriorated so badly that it would not stay affixed to the chain. So I figured a way to manually keep it from running. I let them know about both problems. They did fix the TV remote issue but when we returned late that night from the game, the toilet still was not fixed. And the toilet cover had come totally off!! Which required my wife to have to squat. Yuk! And every time I she or I used the toilet, I had to stick my hand in there and 'fix it' to keep it from running all night. So the room issues were one thing, but the way they handled customer service was also an issue. The crew at the front desk upon check out could not do anything - they obviously were not schooled in how to take care of a customer. They did not even try - they just told me to call the manager on Monday when they were in the office. So Monday I called. left a message. Called. repeat. Eventually I spoke with the sales manager (the manager did not call me back) and she told me the toilet was working fine. No way. No possible way. Perhaps someone had fixed it and they didn't tell her. But that is beside the point. She told me that because I booked through a 3rd party they could not issue me a credit. So I called Expedia (who by the way is awesome because they took care of me) and they called the hotel on my behalf. They had to call twice because the 1st time they just denied the claim outright. Anyway, the hotel said that moving us to a suite was compensation enough for our troubles and again did not recognize the toilet issue beyond the broken cover. Unbelievable. It's too bad hotel and service like this gave me a bad experience in Clemson. Clemson = awesome, Hotel = not!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Hansen, Owner at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. Guest satisfaction is something we strive for every day and your feedback is very much appreciated. Please know we use all feedback, both positive and constructive when reviewing the services and accommodations we provide to our guests. If we can be of further assistance, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia G wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
We stayed here while moving my daughter in for college. The staff .especially Ayanna..were awesome. But at check in I received different room than was on reservation. It had said balcony with atrium view ..I got first floor with dumpster view. We had a lot to do so I did not complain. My room key did not work more than once. Every time we left the room I had to go get new key. Kind of annoying. The room reeked of bug spray when we entered. But did not see any bugs other than one dead in hallway. While swimming in the pool, which was not very clean but I understand low staff issues...3 people came out to fire pit area with beers. No problem. Then they started smoking weed. Still not my issue. Then 2 people with security vests joined them and enjoyed weed with them. Were they the hotel security? No idea but they had the same shirts under vests. Not very professional in my opinion. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jelisa Robinson, Sales at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I apologize that you did not have a great experience with us. We use guests feedback to help us become better. I sincerely apologize that you were not welcomed into your room with a pleasant frangrance. The hotel does not have security and our staff do not wear vests. Please accept my sincerest apology and I hope that you stay with us again to give us the oppotunity to provide you with a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sightsee233835 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The hotel was the worst hotel I ever had stayed at the worst staff ever rude and smug violating laws that pertain to the Americans with disabilities act insulting their guests and then kick them out so many things wrong with the rooms and staff please avoid this hotel like the plague
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Kessinger, General Manager at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Mr. Kalusa....thank you for your review. The review below this one is also from you. You were removed from the hotel via my request and with the supervision of the City of Clemson Police Department. You unfortunately were verbally abusive to my staff and my manager. We do not tolerate abuse of any kind in our hotel. You did mention your mission to degrade the hotel via all social media and that's exactly what you have done. This is your prerogative, but we do have the police report and also have witnesses to your behavior. I am not worried as we want all guests and future guests to know that our hotel is free of anyone who insists upon abusing the hotel staff or guests. And as mentioned below in your additional review, I welcome any inquiry into any perceived violation you state via the Department of Justice or ADA. The hotel has done absolutely nothing wrong. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim K wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
In reference to my recent stay at the best western plus in Clemson, SC. Ticket # cr519785 I have to say I am very upset with the service and treatment by the dayshift manager that my husband and I received. We will never stay at this particular hotel ever again. Let me start by explaining that on 07/18/22, we experienced an electrical emergency at our home and had to seek alternative shelter due to the heat. Now I know that doesn’t excuse any words we had or said to the staff, but it was a very stressful situation. My husband and I both have medical issues and we each have a service dog. The particular policy for this hotel was no pets. We explained they were service animals. After much debate and a phone call to the general manager, we acquired a room for the night. Skip to the next morning, my husband went down to readdress the issue and get clarification from the staff. Granted I wasn’t present at the time because we were instructed that the dogs couldn’t left alone in the room. The morning manager was very rude towards my husband and my husband isn’t one who quietly takes rudeness from others. He did call the manager a rude ass. But the attitude from the manager was that they only allow service animals is because they have to instead of showing a welcomeness to those in need of service animals. We were forced to vacant the hotel upon their demand even though we paid for 2 nights stay. 2nd night fee is supposed to be refunded, we’ll see. I have to say as a person with medical issues and require the need of a service animal, i have never been more embarrassed or insulted in my life especially enduring an already stressful personal situation. I firmly feel the staff violated ada and Hippa policies by demanding to know our medical issues and why we needed the service animals also wanting us to show proof. We will be reaching out to the ada to see what steps we can take next to see that this never happens to another person with medical issues and disabilities.if I could give this hotel a “0” rating I would
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Kessinger, General Manager at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Thank you for your review. I am the GM and I am fully aware of this situation. From the moment you arrived your husband was yelling and screaming in the lobby saying you would sur=e our hotel if we did not take your dog (one dog). This is even before we could as you the 2 questions, we are permitted to ask by the Department of Justice regarding service animals. I was called on the phone by my front desk associate and I heard your husband yelling in the lobby about suing us and having my associate fired. This behavior is never permitted in a hotel by a guest. I asked your husband the 2 questions we are permitted to ask. Once he responded the check in continued. At no time ever did we ask exactly what the medical issues were that you may have. We are permitted to ask..."Is that a service animal?" and "What tasks does your service animal provide for you?" Thats it. And he went to his room. The next day your husband returned to the desk many times to say we ripped you off by charging you too much money, which was completely untrue. Your husband returned again for another reason and then became very agitated with the desk staff and Assistant Manager. Your husband did in fact use the words "rude ass" in reference to my Assistant Manager and that was overheard by the staff and the lobby guests. It was at that point your husband was asked to vacate the property due to his verbal violent outburst toward my staff. This is not permitted as a guest of our hotel in any situation. Your husband then asked to speak to me via the phone and I repeated the demand to vacate the property. Your husband refused verbally many times and then he hung the phone up on me. The Police were then called on a non emergency basis to help assist you and your husband to vacate the hotel. Only with the Police present and much arguing did you finally vacate the property but that was not before throwing the keys at us at the front desk. Please note this had absolutely nothing to do with your service animals, it had to do with irrational behavior and statements in the lobby of the hotel towards my staff. I welcome any and all inquiries from the DOJ and ADA or anyone regarding your stay with us. Also please note that you did mention you would slam my hotel via every social media site. Your choice of course, but you were removed from the hotel with the Police present and we do have that police report. We run a respected and very professional hotel and we do not tolerate abuse of any kind against our associates, our guests and your vendors. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
charlesgraydonw wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
We were checked in and walked into an already occupied room. Automatically checked out after day 1 of a 2 day stay. Getting that error and the billing fup has been a comedy in errors. The staff and management were all new and not that friendly. I only saw one staff member wear a mask. Even the room and hallway upkeep were poor-stained carpets, broken toilet seat fasteners, etc. There are better options in Clemson SC.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
migsters wrote a review Aug 2020
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina1 contribution
Bathrooms filthy! A/C clanking! Breakers tripped no electricity! Restaurant Closed! We stay here all the time. It has been going downhill for a while, but this time was by far the worst! Not sure anyone even cares! Too bad cause they are so close to Clemson University and had a good thing going!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
university inn clemson hotel clemson, ramada clemson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ramada Inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaClemson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PLUS CLEMSON HOTEL & CONFERENCE CENTER - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
Nearby attractions include Larry W. Abernathy Waterfront Park (1.1 km), Clemson Area African American Museum (0.5 km), and Backstreets Pub & Grill (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include 'All In' Coffee Shop, Pixie & Bill's, and Pot Belly Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Plus Clemson Hotel & Conference Center?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.