We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Charleston Marriott

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,034 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,012: English reviews
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pros: • 14th floor rooms have balconies • Excellent channel selection • Complimentary on-site parking • Expansive outdoor common area Cons: • Location close to downtown but not historic district • Very compact bathroom – tight squeeze for one person • Aging property with a couple, minor issues In Charleston for the half-marathon, I selected the Marriott because of its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scl44
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review regarding your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott. We are delighted to read your stay with us was comfortable and you loved our facilities, from our rooms to the lobby, and all that downtown Charleston has to offer. We also appreciate your observations and concerns and will share the same with the respective teams. We...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights at this modern establishment. Had a couple of days of meetings in the convention centre so not only slept here but also had several meals here that were catered to our meeting area. All was handled politely and efficiently as is expected of the Marriott brand. Thank you and well done !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skibumal
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott while on business in the area. We are so pleased to read that you loved our courteous service and your comfortable room. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Charles Moore Hotel Manager Charleston Marriott

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here because it is at the start of the Charleston Half Marathon. Really good rate for the area. Hotel is new and clean. Staff were among the most friendly and accommodating I have ever worked with. Sad that there is no wifi free in the lobby. Shuttle to downtown that runs every 30 minutes was a great touch.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary S
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow online reviewers regarding your stay at the Charleston Marriott. It is a pleasure read that you were impressed with our friendly associates who took great care of you, the great value we offer for the price, as well as with our shuttle service. Thanks again for choosing us, we look forward to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there for 4 nights until New Year's Day of 2017. The room view was good but the Ashley River is not all that glamorous. Though the hotel offers shuttle service for $6 a day to downtown, it's not in a location where you can walk to anything else. However, there was not much going on during the New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray E
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you liked our breakfast offerings, affordable rates and your clean room as well. However, we apologize for not being able to live up to all your expectations and regret any inconvenience caused. We appreciated having you as our guest and hope...

Charlotte,NC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night on the way to Hilton Head Is. Saw mixed reviews but last minute, used some points and only one night...Great-staff, lobby was quite impressive, location-quite far from downtown (as noted) but on the water; good-the free shuttle-wasn't, rooms, clean and nice; bad-hotel room door sagged so much that we had to slam it & listen to everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank All4vacations
ManagerX1, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to post your feedback. We are so happy to hear you were overall impressed with our hotel and that the location met your travel needs. We are however sorry for the difficulties you had with your guest room door. We take comments like yours seriously...

Melbourne, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a very long drive we arrived in Charleston for New Years Eve ,a reservation made in November for Concierge floor,4:00 check-in . We arrived 4:15 ,tired but excited for cocktails 6:30 and Dinner party,we were told our room not ready because there had been a late check out of 2:00. I was beyond irritated because tired and knowing of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanet53
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I was disappointed to learn that your room was not ready upon your arrival, and I want to offer my apologies for the delay. All rooms should be ready by our check-in time of 4pm. We do offer late check out to our guests, and unfortunately sometimes that can cause delays in our housekeeping...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel reasonable pricing in a good location. A few minutes into the main historic area. We really enjoyed our stay. Denise was very helpful in getting us a room with two queen beds in a close location to elevators for my mom. Thank you Denise!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mguermi1
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott near downtown. We are delighted to note that you had a good time with us and enjoyed our beautiful location, the great value we offer as well as the outstanding service from Denise. I will definitely share your compliments. Thanks for being our guest, and we look forward to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were sent there by the hospital when our son had surgery in December. We required a handicapped room and had no problem booking it through the hospital. the only complaint with the room was that it was smaller and the beds were quite high making it nearly impossible to get into them when handicapped. .Other than that our needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott and for taking the time to share your experience. I was delighted to read you were impressed with the décor of our hotel and our staff helped in making your stay a memorable one. I will certainly share your observation with my team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I try to stay here whenever my work travels take me to Charleston. I love the ambiance of the lobby and bar/restaurant. They recently added a self pour wine bar in the lobby which is a lovely upgrade. They have a nice rooftop bar as well and if I'm travelling with co-workers its nice to go out there and/or downstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your business stay every time while you are in the area. We are happy that you liked our rooftop bar, Aqua Terrace, which has magnificent views, and that you were impressed with our friendly associates and comfortable room. However, we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused while you were here. We...

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I stay at this hotel frequently for business travel. The hotel has a great location, central to all of the best attractions in Charleston with free parking. The concierge lounge has panoramic views of Charleston Harbor with excellent free food and service for Marriott Gold and Platinum members. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds and pretty views. Southern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
ManagerX1, Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for making the Charleston Marriott your home away from home on all your business trips to the area. We truly appreciate all your wonderful words about our hotel, location, rooms and amenities. The river views from our hotel are exquisite, and we are glad you love them too! It is always a pleasure to have you here, and...

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.7 km away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Saffire Restaurant & Bar
Saffire Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: American, International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 12,620 - ₹ 24,831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charleston Marriott staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston Marriott staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“14th floor rooms have balconies; south-facing rooms offer views of Charleston”
  • Large flat screen television with excellent channel selection
  • Compact bathroom a tight squeeze even for one
  • Shower and bathtub with good water pressure
  • Pleasant room with a southern feel
  • Seating area would be more comfortable with an ottoman
  • Very consistent decor with beige and soft green hues
 of 5 bubbles scl44, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors best”
 of 5 bubbles 295murraye, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One with doors that close-normally!”
 of 5 bubbles All4vacations, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher the floor, the better for a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 554JohnR554, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Gold and platinum reward holder can get upgrades on their rooms most of the time.”
 of 5 bubbles katrsst, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay