We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cannonboro Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cannonboro Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 371: English reviews
Start your review of Cannonboro Inn
 Click to rate
Etowah, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our second stay at Cannonboro Inn, the last being in March 2013. Our room (#2) was very comfortable with an attached bathroom, sofa, and queen-sized bed. There are several porches to relax on, read, and partake of the offerings for the evening social hour. The indoor common areas, where breakfast is served, are comfortable, historic, and relatively quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwyerdcw
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room looked pretty and historic. However, the housekeeping was bad. When we arrived, I always wipe things down. The bathroom floor was black! The toilet was dirty as was the tile and tub. The rooms need to be repainted and wallpapered. There is no vanity to put your things next to the sink. We had another guest turning the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

While we enjoyed our stay with friendly staff and an extremely knowledgeable owner who shared his love for the city with guests during the brief period he was present, for a B&B in a city full of them, there was little special about Cannonboro. We stayed in the suite; very much appreciated the large amount of extra space it provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmcnslt
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

staff was very nice and accommodating, They left instructions for our check in because we were arriving after office hours.Good location, walkable to downtown and many great restaurants on the King st. And for breakfast they made bacon waffles - amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fedinadaria
Whitby, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were excited to be staying in a historic inn in Charlestown, but feel let down with the three day experience. * We called to say we would arrive around 7pm. "No problem, someone is always here until 8pm." We arrived just before 7pm to find 4 sheets of paper with 4 names, including ours taped RTO the front door....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MZM2013
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed one night at the Cannonboro Inn during Presidents' Day weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I liked that you can view photos and details of the individual rooms on the Inn's website, so that you can see exactly what you're getting when booking. We stayed in Room 6, which is on the ground floor and beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rich_coleman
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is walking distance to town area, very close to Med School and Univ of Charleston. We understood the Inn is in transition with a new owner to take over- rooms definitely need a refresh, there is a not a fine line between quaint and needing repairs- and the Inn is near the repair area- some peeling wallpaper, bath tiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravel8437
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Very charming, old-school homey type feel. Perfect for couples. The inn keepers were all very nice and helpful with recommendations around town. We stayed in room 6-cute room however if you like to sleep in you will be woken by other guests walking past your room to breakfast at 8 am every morning, as our room was right next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

We love to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again soon!

North Bend, Washington
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Our stay happened to be during the time Hurricane Matthew hit. The Inn used this as an opportunity to impose fees even after they said they wouldn't. There business ethics are questionable, and I would be concerned about doing a reservation into the future with this Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisbillingsley
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

Our lovely city at our Inns were fortunately spared during the destructive path of Hurricane Matthew. Our Innkeepers and Housekeepers worked around the clock as we did not close business to accommodate our wonderful guests and thankfully traffic back into Charleston was opened just a day after the storm passed the coast. We did cancel the reservations for the time...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We loved this B&B. Very clean and comfortable. The location was ideal for us. The breakfast was delicious and we loved the afternoon snacks and wine.They were so nice to deal with. We will definitely be back! I would like to bring all my girlfriends!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stoiosdeana
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

We take great pride in our gourmet breakfasts and afternoon treats and love hearing our guests enjoy them! Please come stay with us on your next visit.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
2,694 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,656 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,937 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gorgeous historic inn (c. 1853) Located in the residential historic area of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cannonboro Inn

Address: 184 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5824
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 12,827 - ₹ 17,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cannonboro Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cannonboro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannonboro Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cannonboro Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
NYC

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cannonboro Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you are a very deep sleeper pick a room that faces the back or sides of the inn. Bring ear plugs just in case.”
 of 5 bubbles dwyerdcw, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suite provides much extra room for price similar to other rooms but be sure you don't mind navigating several flights of narrow stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles dmcnslt, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed first floor #6. Small B&B so no real noise from people in the hallway.”
 of 5 bubbles MZM2013, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles catherinebZ7985II, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Helpful to be on first floor, so you don't have to lug luggage up.”
 of 5 bubbles ravioli39, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5