We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,094 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,070: English reviews
Greenville, United States
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Close to Folly Beach with out being on it and paying the big $$$, this hotel is close to amenities and only a 15 minute drive to downtown Charleston or Folly Beach. If you like a nice pillow-top bed...this place is for you! They have a nice outdoor pool and breakfast in the morning. Outside access to rooms and you...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer G
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer G! It is great to hear that you had a great stay while you were here visiting the beautiful city of Charleston! Thank you for taking the time to inform potential future guests about all the great amenities we have to offer! We hope this means we will be seeing you again soon!

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I chose this hotel because #1 it was proximal to the airport, #2 it was pet friendly and #3 it wouldn't hit my wallet too hard. My bride was returning from visiting her family in Tennessee and returning via Southwest at 4:30 p.m. to CHS. We live at the beach and I thought it would be a nice surprise for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigMikeinMB
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear BigMikeinMB, Thank you for highlighting all the great amenities we offer at our hotel! We are always delighted to hear when guests have such an awesome experience! We not only strive for a comfortable stay but to provide excellent customer service as well. We hope this means we will be seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 3 September 2015

Location was wonderful. Rooms were extremely clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. The pool was fantastic. The staff from guest services, housekeeping, maintenance, and breakfast staff were wonderful - the epitome of southern hospitality!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank S7377VSpatriciaf
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear S7377VSpatriciaf, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Charleston! It's great to hear that the stay was perfect for you. That is what we are always striving for! We hope since we left such a positive impression that you will be returning soon! Have a great weekend!

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Standard room with two beds was okay. The bathroom was too small. Nice size pool and grounds were always clean. Housekeeper and Staff for breakfast were super nice. The check in staff had a very rude attitude and never smiled. The traffic to get into and out was crazy, leave extra time for the traffic. It is on a busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2traveling2live
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear 2traveling2live, I'm sorry to hear you did not feel like you had a "10" experience. We are always striving to provide an excellent stay for our guests, and reviews is how we learn what you think we should improve on. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, and we hope the next time you visit Charleston...

monroe, United States
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Lovely hotel The staff was super friendly.The beds were beyond comfortable. The breakfast was good. We loved the pancake machine. Very clean. It was nice to have two sinks in the room. Close to downtown. Short Uber ride to everything. We would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Carol G! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Charleston! It's great to hear that the stay was perfect for you. That is what we are always striving for! We hope since we left such a positive impression that you will be returning soon! Have a great weekend!

Greenville, SC, United States
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The check in clerk was terribly rude.The deoderizer used to freshen the room and lobby initially cause me to have trouble breathing. We left the door to our room open to air out and after a bit, the fumes subsided. At Check out, I was charge a maketing fee that was not mentioned when I booked, nor was it mentioned...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sharon D, I'm sorry to hear you did not have a "10" experience when you stayed with us. We are always striving to improve in all areas so we can provide you the best experience and reviews are one of the ways we can get your feedback. I assure you we provide excellent customer service so I hope the...

Reviewed 30 August 2015

One of the best hotel experiences ever. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and directed us to the best restaurants in the area. The accomadations were first rate & the landscaping for a moderately priced hotel were outstanding. We would definitely put this hotel at the top of our list for a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mike L, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Charleston! It's great to hear that the stay was perfect for you. That is what we are always striving for! We hope since we left such a positive impression that you will be returning soon! Have a great weekend!

Reviewed 29 August 2015

I did not know what to expect since I have never stayed at a Best Western. But I was very pleased with our stay. The staff was very pleasant including the house keeping staff. The rooms were clean and well attended to. The breakfast had a good selection of items. It is a little difficult getting in and out of...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G4723AFdeniser
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi G4723AFdeniser! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Charleston! It's great to hear that the stay was perfect for you. That is what we are always striving for! We hope since we left such a positive impression that you will be returning soon! Have a great weekend!

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Stopped in after driving 9 hours. Took a chance with a budget hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Rooms are clean, modern, nicely appointed with micro and fridge. Pool area is beautiful with lush plantings and lit at night. Breakfast was included; pancakes, waffles, 2 types of omelets, sausage, fruits, ect. Checkout at noon and about 15 minutes from center of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank L D
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi L D! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Charleston! It's great to hear that the stay was perfect for you. That is what we are always striving for! We hope since we left such a positive impression that you will be returning soon! Have a great weekend!

Leesburg, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2015

A couple of friends and myself were traveling to Charleston as one will be attending the Art Institute. I booked through AARP and was able to get a really great rate at the Best Western Sweetgrass Inn. I was exceptionally impressed with the property and personell. I have been in the hospitality industry for 30 years as well as Assistant...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doug K
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Doug K, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Charleston! It's great to hear that the stay was perfect for you. That is what we are always striving for! We hope since we left such a positive impression that you will be returning soon! We would be glad to give your friends...

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#35 of 60 in Charleston
217 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 7,260 - ₹ 15,364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Aruba
11 days ago
Maplewood, New Jersey
Charlotte, North Carolina
4 months ago

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our king size bed room was very spacious..”
janicer502, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to have a room in the second building, second floor. We stayed in 229 and 233”
ZeraS_11, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“two stories, no elevators. rooms do not open to pool.”
K5013DYdonnap, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go to back of hotel, rooms need upgrade.”
sadler8613, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No problem to recommend this motel.”
Theyeddie, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5