We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Charleston Inn

Booking.comUS$ 137*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 269*
US$ 137*
US$ 139*
US$ 269*
US$ 138*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

1,121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,096: English reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2016

3 nights in Charleston was the start of our "Antebellum" trip to Charleston, Savannah and St Augustine. The Sawgrass Inn was great and offered an included breakfast that rivals anything at IHOP or any other breakfast spot. The location is south and over the bridge from downtown Charleston and offers a close enough location(6 miles, 15 minutes) to the downtown...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank PAUL R
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We take pride in providing great accommodations only 4 miles to downtown and offer a great breakfast selection for our guests. We cannot wait for you to stay with us again!

Florence, United States
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Had an fabulous time staying at the Best Western in a suite..... fit for a queen. The room was clean and the service was out of this world!!! The front desk clerk help me decide on what dress to wear, can you believe that. The term out of your way service is definitely this place!!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Annie T
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Annie! I'm so glad that we could make you feel like a queen! We certainly try our best to please our guests and let them know they are special to us! We are so happy you had a great time!

catonsville, United States
Reviewed 5 January 2016

2-day stay in Charleston. This hotel is on the main hwy. to Charleston, just a 5 minute drive into the city. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good & there is a BBQ place (Bessingers) right next door...very good food!! The staff was very nice and accommodating. Our visit to Charleston was great...wish we had longer to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Edward N
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Edward N! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Charleston! We do enjoy being close to downtown but also have great dining options within a block of the hotel as well for anyone who might not want to venture to downtown. We hope the next time you visit Charleston that you can stay longer with us!

Barrie, Ontario
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Nice hotel overall. Big comfortable room... and most important, quiet. Close enough to downtown Charleston. Breakfast is average for this category of hotel. We Will stay there again on our next trip to South Carolina.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eric W
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Eric W! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay while you were visiting the beautiful city of Charleston! We look forward to you staying with us again!

New York
Reviewed 1 January 2016

short distance from airport, downtown and several plantations. room is clean, and breakfast is good. internet is fast. staff is kind and helpful. there's a bus stop nearby. take bus 30 to downtown is economic. good for the price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rongy266
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear rongy266, Thank you for letting future guests know about some of the great amenities and service we can offer them. We hope this means if you enjoyed your stay that you will stay with us again!

Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Caveat emptor - you get what you pay for. I am not trying to knock the Best Western Sweetgrass. In fact, it more than met my family's needs while we were on vacation over the Christmas holiday. However, don't expect too much going in. This is an older hotel, with motel style rooms. The doors all open to the outside,...

Thank Rod R
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rod R, I'm sorry to hear we could not give you a perfect 10 experience. Unfortunately, with Priceline or other third party booking engines, to get the lowest price guests are only allowed to book a standard room with two double beds. We are in a great area only 4 miles from downtown with many dining and attraction options....

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We extended our trip by one day since we were really enjoying Charleston so much and the only room we could find in our price range during New Year's Eve week was at Best Western on Savannah Hwy. The hotel is being renovated and we were first given a room above the set of rooms being renovated. All of the...

Thank allioak
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Allioak, I'm glad we could make arrangements for you during your stay, and that it turned out to be a pleasant one. We hope you will stay with us again!

Hampton, United States
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Very sad by the way my debit card was billed three times for a one night stay. It took days to get it fixed. My son asked for a trip to the beach for Christmas, because they messed up my checking account we were unable to do all that we wanted to do. Plus I was so stressed over it...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sonya H
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sonya H, I'm sorry you and your family could not experience a smooth trip while visiting Charleston. Unfortunately when guests use debit cards at check in, it creates an authorization hold immediately to make sure there are funds on the card. At check out, there is an actual charge on your account. A lot of people get this confused...

Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 28 December 2015

I was told I was given a recently renovated room. The front desk staff was friendly. I got lucky that it was on the first floor, so I bypassed the stairs, since I tend to overpack. The bedding was comfortable, and though Savannah Highway is busy, the location is convenient, and close to many routes for Charleston and North Charleston....

Thank TravelchicMB
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear TravelchicMB, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and see the quality we have to offer. We are certainly proud of our renovated property in hopes of continuing to please our guests. We have great staff in breakfast who are always willing to help you and excellent staff in other departments as well who will assist you in...

Colonial Heights, United States
Reviewed 27 December 2015

The Best Western is being redone and it is looking good. The pillow top mattresses are a real bonus and the rooms are excellent. A portion of the hotel is still under renovation and you'll want to request the area that is already renovated. It appears the renovation will be completed in the near future. The employees are most helpful...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Arthur S
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Arthur S! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to enjoy our renovated rooms! We are very proud of the design and comfort these rooms offer as well as other amenities on our property. We hope we will be seeing you again soon!

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (76)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Bathroom (8)
Room/Suite (19)
Dining (2)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Amenities (6)
Pool (2)
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (40)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
View from Room (2)
Dining (3)
Room/Suite (8)
Bathroom (2)
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 61 in Charleston
228 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 6,723 - ₹ 15,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
1 month ago
Maplewood, New Jersey
Charlotte, North Carolina
5 months ago

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This hotel has 2 floors and no elevator. We asked for a first floor room and were accommodated.”
C5051Hljudyw, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“There are no good rooms - they all smell!”
88jelenas, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms further from the courtyard pool should be quieter.”
talks2fast, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Our king size bed room was very spacious..”
janicer502, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to have a room in the second building, second floor. We stayed in 229 and 233”
ZeraS_11, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 137* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 139
BestWestern.comUS$ 138
View all 14 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates