We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,027: English reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here one night passing through Charleston. The staff was very friendly and offered several suggestions on where to eat in the area. The room was large with a great view of the pool. It was very clean and updates. Only downside was the construction worker smoking a joint outside his room around the corner from ours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kristin P! I'm glad to hear that we could adequately accommodate you during your pass through Charleston. We were not aware of the situation you mentioned, but will definitely look into that. We hope the next time you are passing through that you will stay with us again!

Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 27 November 2015

The shower in our room was INCREDIBLE!!! Every hotel room should have this kind of shower head & strength of water pressure!!! Very good breakfast. Coffee maker, microwave oven & mini-fridge in room. Free parking.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gail P! I'm so glad that you could take advantage of the amenities we offer in our guest rooms. We strive to make you feel as home as possible when you are traveling. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Charleston!

Mineola, New York
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We recently stayed at the BW Sweetgrass Inn in Charleston. We spent 5 nights there. We were very satisfied with the cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel and the security of the place. We took the #30 bus into town every morning. It runs along the Savannah Highway - right across the street from the hotel (at White Oak...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jules996
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jules996! Thank you for pointing out some of the positives we have of being here in the area. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you decide to stay with us again!

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I had to cancel at the last minute and they were great about it. The manager was very professional, friendly (Im trying to get my character count up to 200) I did not spend the night but the outward appearance was great and the general location was congenial.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ernest S
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ernest S! I'm sorry to hear that you had to cancel. We do understand situations come up so we are glad that we could help you in any way. We hope the next time that you visit Charleston that you will stay with us!

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank parsonrussell0916
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

United States
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We didn't have reservations made before we stopped here. The staff was pleasant and the breakfast lady a delight. The breakfast had more selections than other Best Westerns we stayed on our vacation and was good. The hotel is smaller and so was our room, We only stayed one night and it met our needs. This hotel allows animals and...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Linda C! I'm glad that we could meet your needs during your vacation to Charleston! We not only meet Best Western standards, but we also strive to be the best in the country. We are a pet friendly hotel with designated pet friendly rooms so we do try to put other guests with pets near each other so you...

United States
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Our room was dirty, the floor was gritty, the ice bucket had mold growing in it, the shower was not clean, the staff appeared unconcerned about our complaints. Definately below Best Western standards.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Allison W, I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience while you are in Charleston. We are known for great customer service so I just want to make sure you have the correct Best Western in Charleston as there are multiple ones in this area. We take pride in providing a stress free stay and wonderful accommodations for...

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were quite mad after canceling our stay at the Red Roof Inn in Mount Pleasant. We decided to stay here because they were offering a good deal that night and we just wanted somewhere to stay that was quiet and clean. Immediately as I walked into the lobby I could tell this was so so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeR6699
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear JoeR6699, I'm sorry to hear you had a horrible experience at another hotel, but we are glad that we could show you what customer satisfaction means to us and our guests. We cannot wait for you stay with us again!

Woodruff, South Carolina
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Upon checking in they tried ti give us a room different from our reservation. We were told our room was not ready, even though it was 3pm, check in time. We left and came back at 5pm and were told it still wasn't ready! We were tired from traveling and this made things worse. They then found an available room...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bruce K, I'm sorry to hear you did not have a 5 star experience while you stayed with us here at the Best Western! We always strive to provide our guests with a positive stay. We hope this will not deter you to stay with us in the future as we are always improving within all departments. Come back...

Germantown
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I have stayed at this motel several times as I have family in Charleston. Very consistent in all regards. Clean property and rooms, friendly staff, very convenient to many attractions as well as major highways. The price is always very competitive.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Terry D! I'm glad that we could provide you a great stay each time you have visited Charleston! We take pride in providing a positive experience and great customer service so you feel home away from home. We cannot wait for you to stay with us again!

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
197 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 6,439 - ₹ 14,489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It looked like it would be lovely to have a pool view room, but they all seemed like they would be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 985tiffanye, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pet Friendly available on request”
 of 5 bubbles Shanghai-McCoy, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We like rooms on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 379roberts379, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 120. Parked in front of room, in main building. Ice machine close. View of pool ( very nicely landscaped) very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraB34, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I have only been on the back side”
 of 5 bubbles Z2038DEtinas, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5