We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

695 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 676: English reviews
Far Rockaway, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Flew in on the 1st of March. Had to attend funeral. Stay at this hotel last night. Wasn't bothered by the construction. Parking was ok, not really a problem as some people have stated. The very sweet girl at the front desk told me where to go for some dinner. We called Mark who was our taxi driver. Very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thekid2816
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843.722.4000 gdifederico@northph.com

Smithfield, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about the construction is true, but also be warned that should you accidentally miss the driveway because the signage is so poor, the one-way streets make it nearly impossible to get back around. Also, be prepared to park in the gravel lot between the hotel and McDonald's. Pros: There's a free (disgusting but edible) breakfast, you can bring your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethbake
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. We offer our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you had entering our property due to signage placement. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn...

Bethany, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and kids finally got to Charleston. We decided to take our small toy dog. This was a "dog friendly" hotel. Well, there aren't many dog friendly places around you can easily get to for dinner. When my wife made the reservation they clearly told her the trolley was dog friendly- it isn't. We were in a big jam...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim S
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had at our hotel. We offer our most sincere apologies for any disturbance caused by the neighboring construction. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Gregory DiFederico Assistant...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed at this hotel the weekend of February 11, 2017. We are big fans of the Holiday Inn Express, and have always had good experiences in the past. Unfortunately this time was not the same. Upon arrival, we were surprised to find a huge fence surrounding an entire side of the building, and a massive construction project taking place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M2M02
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had at our hotel. We offer our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience the neighboring construction may have caused. We hope that should you return to our area you will give us another opportunity to serve you better. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday...

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I had an excellent time at my stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Charleston. The hospitality was excellent. I did have to request a room change due to the rooms view (construction outside, which was beyond the hotels control), however it was granted and my stay was a pleasant one. Great job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 87Queenz
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to our city. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express.

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Had to use the rest room before I checked in. Trash on floor urinal leaking. Same elevator dirty 2 days, no sugar substitute all 3 days. Breakfast bread refrozen and nothing to cut with. People tearing bread with hands, gooey insides. had to call to make up room at 330 pm when we returned to change for dinner. tub was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenatofc
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had at our hotel. The problems you discussed are unacceptable and we offer our most sincere apologies. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn...

Laurinburg, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 12 February 2017

My hubby and I were in town to celebrate Valentine's Day! He planned this trip months in advance and chose this location because he was assured I would have an awesome water view. Upon arriving to a gravel driveway with lots of construction signs, holes and dips, the first thing I wanted to see was the river...to my surprise I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frances M
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback and use it to continually improve our service. We are sorry to hear that the neighboring constructions site had a negative impact on your overall satisfaction. We offer our most sincere apologies for your experience. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here overnight for a business trip. The hotel is in a great location in Mt.Pleasant near the Ravanel bridge and Patriot's Point attractions. It was easy to find and has ample outdoor free parking. The hotel is clean and has very nice rooms. No funky smells or sticky carpet. The beds are nicer than my house and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel, and once again thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express. Greg DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843.722.4000 GDiFederico@northph.com

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Checked in for short Charleston stay. Drive about 5 minutes to historic distance....15-20 minutes to Sullivan's Island...close to Medical District. Very welcoming and helpful staff! Temporary construction zone...one done will add close amenities!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haeckconsulting
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Tyler Dockery Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843-722-3521 Tdockery@northph.com

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 January 2017

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown-Ashley River from January 21st through January 28th due to medical treatment my wife was receiving at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC). The hotel building was very well maintained. The room was very clean and fresh. The morning breakfast was always set up early and was well stocked with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph K
Tyler D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Joseph K, We are pleased to read your review of your experience with us while you were in town for medical reasons. We are all grateful for your kind words and hope your wife is feeling well. We will be looking forward to your next trip to Charleston. Best regards, Tyler Dockery

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (38)
Viewed
King Leisure Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
7.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 11,387 - ₹ 20,746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
5 days ago
Brookfield, Connecticut
6 months ago
San Angelo, Texas
8 months ago
over a year ago
Wilmington, Delaware
over a year ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel until construction is complete.........”
  • front of building
  • Gravel driveway....
  • view from room 803
  • view from room 803
 of 5 bubbles 89francesm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors away from the construction are better.”
 of 5 bubbles JaimeH601, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a riverview!”
  • Electrical outlet without cover, yikes!
  • Bathroom curtain would not stay open beyond this
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
  • Change left behind by those previously in the room
  • My
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
 of 5 bubbles NCRNmom, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for floors 7 or 8 to at least get a view and try the river side”
 of 5 bubbles curtreich, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River side rooms have nicer view.”
 of 5 bubbles Dougal71, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5