We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 673: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Rooms were a tad dated (stained carpet, popcorn ceiling, small bathroom etc). Staff was friendly enough and the beds were ok. The room we had was on the eight floor and was quite small. The breakfast was ok, the staff really seemed to struggle with amount of people waiting to eat and keeping the food area full. Maybe offer less...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of your experience. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Sincerely, Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843.722.4000 Gdifederico@northph.com

Richmond, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay! Food was good, rooms were clean, everyone was super nice! But Andres at the front desk was AMAZING! She helped so much at getting around downtown and suggestions for activities and dining! Hotel was great but Andrea 5 STARS!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShellieO79
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to provide outstanding customer service. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Sincerely, Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843.722.4000 gdifederico@northph.com

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly service with the receptionist very accommodating and full of useful information. The rooms were clean and tidy and had all the facilities we needed. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linbin45
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Sincerely, Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843.722.4000 gdifederico@northph.com

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have read some of the other reviews which are usually either a 5 or a 1 and I thought that I would offer a more objective opinion on this hotel. On the plus side it was nicer than I expected, but then Holiday Inn doesn't bring visions of the Four Seasons to mind either. Honestly I haven't stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim M
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you had no hot water during your stay. We know this is unacceptable and would like an opportunity to make it right. Please reach out to me directly to speak in more detail about your stay. Thank...

United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beds were comfy. Cleanliness about a 3. Desk clerk was rude. Told GM about the cold eggs and hot ones brought out fairly soon. It is just difficult to get in and out of. Nearest trolley stop was quite far. If you stay here and don't want to drive downtown, use Uber or a taxi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that you faced cleanliness issues in your room. Please accept our most sincere apologies. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Sincerely, Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843.722.4000 gdifederico@northph.com

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff here are extremely friendly and customer oriented. It is not their fault that the entire area surrounding the hotel is under construction. They do an excellent job making you feel comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrell F
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit and once again thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Sincerely, Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843.722.4000 gdifederico@northph.com

Westfield, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed at Holiday Inn Express Ashley River. Charleston is exploding with new construction, and this hotel is getting it from all sides. Staff doing best they can, room was clean and comfortable. Morning complementary breakfast was very good. Parking lot was too small, and construction in progress all around the hotel semi blocked access to parking, fencing blocking off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocksrule
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any disturbance caused by the nearby construction. We hope you will give us another opportunity to gain your loyalty in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn...

Far Rockaway, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Flew in on the 1st of March. Had to attend funeral. Stay at this hotel last night. Wasn't bothered by the construction. Parking was ok, not really a problem as some people have stated. The very sweet girl at the front desk told me where to go for some dinner. We called Mark who was our taxi driver. Very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thekid2816
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Gregory DiFederico Assistant General Manager Holiday Inn Express 843.722.4000 gdifederico@northph.com

Smithfield, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything about the construction is true, but also be warned that should you accidentally miss the driveway because the signage is so poor, the one-way streets make it nearly impossible to get back around. Also, be prepared to park in the gravel lot between the hotel and McDonald's. Pros: There's a free (disgusting but edible) breakfast, you can bring your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethbake
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. We offer our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you had entering our property due to signage placement. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn...

Bethany, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and kids finally got to Charleston. We decided to take our small toy dog. This was a "dog friendly" hotel. Well, there aren't many dog friendly places around you can easily get to for dinner. When my wife made the reservation they clearly told her the trolley was dog friendly- it isn't. We were in a big jam...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim S
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had at our hotel. We offer our most sincere apologies for any disturbance caused by the neighboring construction. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Gregory DiFederico Assistant...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (38)
Viewed
King Leisure Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 60 in Charleston
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 11,398 - ₹ 20,634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Brookfield, Connecticut
6 months ago
San Angelo, Texas
8 months ago
over a year ago
Wilmington, Delaware
over a year ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel until construction is complete.........”
  • front of building
  • Gravel driveway....
  • view from room 803
  • view from room 803
 of 5 bubbles 89francesm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors away from the construction are better.”
 of 5 bubbles JaimeH601, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a riverview!”
  • Electrical outlet without cover, yikes!
  • Bathroom curtain would not stay open beyond this
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
  • Change left behind by those previously in the room
  • My
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
 of 5 bubbles NCRNmom, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for floors 7 or 8 to at least get a view and try the river side”
 of 5 bubbles curtreich, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River side rooms have nicer view.”
 of 5 bubbles Dougal71, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5