We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Charleston\\
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Charleston's NotSo Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 455: English reviews
La Chaux-de-Fonds
Reviewed 27 August 2012

great place, great atmosphere, very laid back, great price, great situation. Thanks NotSo Hostel, I loved a lot of things about your place and will come back on my next trip. Charleston is magic. I particularly appreciated your generosity: "as much as you want to eat" breakfast, free shower, free laundry!!! free Internet, and great staff. WELL DONE AND KEEP...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank algex
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in a private room which had seemingly not been cleaned in some time - there was a lot of dirt on the floor, sand on the bed, and dirty socks in the closet. While we were provided with clean sheets, they were basically plastic and the mattress was worse than any college dorm mattress I've slept on. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank summerroadtrip2012
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. If you would be willing to email me with the details of your stay, I would like to look into it so that I can improve for the future. Were you staying at the main location or the annex? Also, please let me know the status of your refund so I can make sure it...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Got in to this hostel last minute and was met by a super cool staff that made us feel welcome and oriented us to the city. We stayed in the dorm room which was inexpensive, clean and surprisingly chill. All in all I really enjoyed my visit and will definitely be back next time I find myself in Charleston!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScotQ
Asheville, Nc
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I had a great time in Charleston this past weekend! I spent some much needed "Mom" time away on a trip alone, and decided to spend it at the NotSo Hostel. It was my first hostel stay, and the place was great, and the blend of folks was great too. The only hang up that I could say was a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CindyHayes
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I am glad you had a good first time experience at a hostel, especially this one. I have heard from guests that the Notso Hostel is a great introduction to hostels for people who have never stayed in one. I have spoke to the employee that you mentioned in your review, thank you for your...

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Great value even at the nicer off-site locations. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant stay. Free decent coffee and breakfast to kickstart your day. 10 min walk downtown. What else can I say, I always feel at home at NotSo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ganzopty
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 August 2012

NotSo Hostel was a fantastic place to stay! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful gave great recommendations of cool places to visit and eat around town. It is also a super convenient location, with downtown Charleston a pleasant and easy walk away. My friend and I also loved meeting all the other different travelers staying there and sharing stories...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephan M
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 August 2012

NotSo Hostel is an excellent place to stay. The hostel is very close to King St and the centre of town, we walked to most places as we didn't have a car. It was easy to get to the hostel from the greyhound bus using the directions NotSo hostel provide in their confirmation email. Nicole was extremely welcoming when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattbell25
Krabi Town, Thailand
Reviewed 31 July 2012

NotSo was a great place to stay. The atmosphere was very social and Nicole the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. She made me feel like I had a friend in Charleston! I was originally going to spend two nights there but I extended my stay to four. I stayed in both the dormitory and one of the private rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I had high hopes for this hostel upon arrival: located near the sights of the city, charming house in the local architecture, warm and professional reception by the staff, good price. I was in a private room, in a house with only private rooms. All was wonderful until the nightly raucousness began. It was reminiscent of my college dorm years:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the review your partner left about this same incident. I am glad to hear that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. The staff was not involved in the evening's activities. An employee lives on site but was not apart of the group that was causing a disturbance. Guests are not allowed to...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I read the reviews before I booked with this hostel. I've stayed in a number of guest houses and hostels in Asia and in Portland and I've had mostly good experiences. This was not one of them. The young woman who ran the place seemed very friendly when we checked in. Indeed, she was always friendly, but the last two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bellatore
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. That night, the staff were as surprised as you were about the guests there. The employees of the Notso Hostel did not throw or participate in the evening's activities. We do our best to enforce quiet hours. I apologize you and your husband who left the next review were not there on a quiet night....

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
The Aimee Room (14)
Viewed
The Andrew Adams Room (29)
Viewed
The Brazil Room (13)
Viewed
The Cyprus Room (18)
Viewed
The Dylan Room (13)
Viewed
The Goldman Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (340)
Viewed
The Kendall Room (28)
Viewed
The Kenya Room (19)
Viewed
The Kingsolver Room (17)
Viewed
The Taylor Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
7.3 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,764 reviews
5.6 km away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
1,119 reviews
1.3 km away
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 3,943 - ₹ 6,270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in the Cyprus Room. Seemed a little more quiet than the main house.”
794kelsiep, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Air bnb next door should be good.”
C6321HMjohnp, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“relax, deep breathe and enjoy”
TravelingTnHillbilly, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“i think the rooms are all pretty much the samebut i prefer the rooms i side the main house as i like to go down for coffee in my pajamas....”
255mima, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Staid in room in building 2 stairs, 6 rooms in backyard. A kitchen. A balcony with chairs to relax. great for couples.”
K5504RKbrunop, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5