We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Charleston\\
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Charleston's NotSo Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 453: English reviews
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I originally picked this hostel because the price was right, but after staying a few days, it really was more than just fairly priced accomodation. Check-in and check-out was really easy as was communication with the staff before visiting. I stayed in the Cypress room, in the middle house and it was really nice. The main house and middle house...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LWest4
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so glad you felt the hostel was more like visiting a private summer cottage, we'd love to host you again and appreciate your recommendation.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Charleston hotels are pretty expensive and we were delighted to find this hostel. Not only was the price great, the location was excellent, being close to all the tourist attractions and restaurants and bars. We stayed at their Annex location(cannon street. We had the Monet Room. It's small but no complaints. It would be nice to have a night stand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lolita D
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will put a larger mirror and more shelving to better accommodate future guests in that room. We'd love to host you again!

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 May 2016

My husband and I had never stayed at a hostel before so we weren't sure what to expect. We stayed in the brazil room and our stay was pleasant. The shower that was next to our room was broken but the place was clean and our interaction with the staff was all pleasant. We didn't feel that it was walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachbum213
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely recommendation! I am so glad you had a positive first hostel experience here and we would love to host you again on your next trip to Charleston.

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I found my experience with the NotSo Hostel to be very happy. I enjoyed all the girls in my dorm. We had good conversations and we ran into each other out on the town. Very good place to make acquaintances. Staff was pleasant also. Very nice to sit on the 2nd story porch when the sun goes down. Nicely located....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendall A
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so happy to hear you met other wonderful travelers during your stay and that front porch is the best seat in town. We hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Kendall private room at the Annex location. This location was better than the Spring St main location as it was closer to the main areas. Adequate room, small bathroom, comfy bed. Could get fairly noisy as right next to the kitchen, however they provide a sound machine which helped a lot. Don't bother walking to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyAussie
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the annex. We hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Me and my brother were doing a roadtrip and we stayed one night at the NotSo hostel. Our experience was great. The place is clean, comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. If you can make it during the check in time they'll help you as much as they can. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adria D
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and the hostel clean and comfortable. We appreciate your recommendation and would love to host you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

This is an excellent budget option for those visiting Charleston - I stayed in the "back house" (Cuba room) which was nice, quiet, clean and had really very impressive facilities. The back house had its own kitchen complete with cooking facilities and fridge/freezer which were in impeccable condition. The room was an ok size but I could imagine that it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank baddler
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am so happy you loved the facilities and we do have air conditioning in all our rooms. We have four bathrooms for our guests to use and a fere trolly to take you to King Street six blocks away from the main location. We'd love to host you again!

New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 28 April 2016

This is located in the perfect spot, walking distance to tons of restaurants and hot spots as well as a free downtown trolley stop. It's basically a house with private rooms (with locks), and a shared kitchen/living room/2 bathrooms. It was clean and felt safe. There's a full-size fridge, and a washer and dryer you can use for free, along...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jake S
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hostel clean and safe. We provide earplugs and sound machines so guests can sleep more soundly. Would love to host you again on your next trip to Charleston!

Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We loved this place. The location is excellent being walking distance from all of Charleston Old Town. Check in was seamless, unimpeded and easy. Parking was available. There was breakfast in the kitchen and another guest generously made coffee. Just as it should be. I LOVED this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTnHillbilly
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We were so glad to host you and glad you loved the hostel. We look forward to your next visit!

New York
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I stayed in the Brazil Room which is located in the back building, which I suspect was once the slave quarters. It was quiet and getting access the shared bathroom was not a problem. The parking was free and many of the guests had cars, which was good since Charleston sights are spread over a large area. The immediate neighborhood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daviddouglassmith
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your recommendation! We are glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
The Aimee Room (14)
Viewed
The Andrew Adams Room (29)
Viewed
The Brazil Room (13)
Viewed
The Cyprus Room (18)
Viewed
The Dylan Room (13)
Viewed
The Goldman Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (340)
Viewed
The Kendall Room (28)
Viewed
The Kenya Room (19)
Viewed
The Kingsolver Room (17)
Viewed
The Taylor Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
7.3 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
5.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
1,094 reviews
1.3 km away
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 2,334 - ₹ 4,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in the Cyprus Room. Seemed a little more quiet than the main house.”
794kelsiep, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Air bnb next door should be good.”
C6321HMjohnp, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“relax, deep breathe and enjoy”
TravelingTnHillbilly, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“i think the rooms are all pretty much the samebut i prefer the rooms i side the main house as i like to go down for coffee in my pajamas....”
255mima, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Staid in room in building 2 stairs, 6 rooms in backyard. A kitchen. A balcony with chairs to relax. great for couples.”
K5504RKbrunop, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5