We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 627: English reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I stay at this hotel about once or twice every other month or so for work. My company books our rooms and we come in for the night and leave the next day. I have gotten the room next to the elevator every night I am there and every time I report it to the company because we specifically ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

If you have assigned rooms, and are not allowed to add your IHG Rewards number, that means that you are with an airline. We are under contract to provide certain rooms, and it was in the signed contract where it was decided that points would not be allowed for each individual. These are things that are beyond our control, but...

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Our day started with a cheery "Good morning!" from Tamara L. and breakfast in your dining room. Tamara's service was extraordinary in attention and detail, even sharing some of the sites to see in the City. Loved starting the day with smiles and good service! Must also say that we loved the happy hour at the bar in the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwilliams0n
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

We're very glad to hear that Tamara and the rest of our staff made your stay so enjoyable. Remember, you don't even have to stay with us to enjoy happy hour! Thank-you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. Have a great day! Carter K. Davis Front Office Manager

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This place was nice, we had an issue with the phone and they fixed it right away. People were friendly and the roof top restaurant had a great view and a nice relaxing atmosphere. The gym was up to date equipment but a lil small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie F
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

We're very glad that you had a great stay with us! We hope that if and when your travels bring you back to the Charleston area that you'll offer us another opportunity to impress you and your family. Have a great day! Carter K. Davis Front Office Manager

Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Tamara L was our server at the hotel. The morning started out with rain and a fire alarm! :( We went downstairs with a slight attitude and Tamara L & Tamara brought sunshine to our table. They both were amazingly understanding of the situation and had great concern that the weather and alarm would not affect our stay. We felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for taking the time to call out two of our Rockstar servers! Double Tam is a duo that we are very proud to call a part of our staff. They are warm, caring, and there is absolutely no faking the kind of care that they assert. We are so happy that they could impact your morning in...

Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our trip to Charleston. It was a very nice hotel. Robin was wonderful. She checked us in and gave us suggestions on sight seeing. She arranged for our plantation tour and even followed up on her day off to make sure the tour had called us. The room was nice. There is a lot of construction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie0722
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for choosing our location for your stay in beautiful, Charleston, SC. We are very pleased that Robin was able to arrange the tour and provide helpful information during your stay with us. The free trolley definitely comes in handy with the market area being close to a mile away. We hope that you will return to stay...

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Upon checking in, we noticed construction next door feet from our hotel.Our balcony room was so close to construction we couldn't open blinds, there were construction workers literally right outside our balcony ! Oh well, so we got hosed on paying extra for balcony we couldn't use. Beds are very hard but room was nice and clean. We were woke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott s
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. We feel that every review is an opportunity for us to get better. We certainly apologize for the construction going on around us. We try to work with those guys on stop and start times, but at this point, they are going to work when it suits...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Experienced theft by housekeeping on our 3 night stay at this hotel. Manager initially did not offer to refund money of perfume stolen, but after "discussion" refunded money on credit card that was used for parking valet. She then Offered to have a free night stay at hotel...WHY would I come back to this hotel? This is likely to happen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amester9342
JHuff425, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Amester9342, I apologize you were not satisfied with the compensation offered for your perfume. We take theft very seriously at the Holiday Inn and I apologize if I was not clear that my reimbursement for more than the value of the perfume was my acknowledgement of your loss. I understand why you refused my additional offer to return to the...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This is a great modern hotel. I found that the Holiday Inn was very well located, nice, clean and modern and at a very nice price point for the area. Valet parking was reasonable priced and our vehicle was kept in a locked garage. The staff provided great insight for the areas dining. The restaurant in the lobby was good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jared D
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that our location worked perfectly for your visit to Charleston. I'm glad that our staff was able to provide you with insight for the numerous dining areas close to us. If the price point was too good, maybe I should talk to someone about bumping that up a tad! ;-) Thank you for your...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I just wanted to give a shout out to the best waitress/server ever!!! Her name is Tamara and she worked in the hotel's dining/bar area. Every morning we came down and she was so friendly, courteous and hard-working, always going out of her to make sure all the guests were being taken care of, sometimes the only waitress on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FitzHer
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to specifically recognize one of our staff members. Tamara is a guest service rock star! We absolutely love the energy and warmth that she brings in the morning. I will make sure that she sees this. Thank-you for taking the time to review us here at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. Have a great...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Knowledgeable and friendly staff provided excellent food / entertainment options within walking distance to "Upper King" and elsewhere. The rooms were modern, clean and the best value on the Peninsula. The hotel was easily accessible and unlike other hotels in downtown charleston, parking was convenient and affordable. My wife and I had a great time celebrating a special occasion.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmtravels2016
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

We are very glad that our staff was able to help you with some excellent recommendations while you stayed with us. I will pass on your sentiments about our rooms to our housekeeping manager, Faith, who does a great job for us here. We hope that if you and your wife find yourselves back in the area, you'll offer us...

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Pool (44)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen (63)
Viewed
Standard King (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 11,060 - ₹ 24,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Fort Smith,AR
New Orleans
2 months ago
Depew, New York
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are probably more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Plog60, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“At the present time, every room is either going to overlook construction or the street. So there's no such thing as a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles Jocjarmom, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for something away from the construction.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolebans, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our view was looking out on to construction.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor to avoid elephant feet above you.”
 of 5 bubbles kareno899, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5