We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Belmond Charleston Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Belmond Charleston Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond Charleston Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,878: English reviews
Northeast USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2015

The hotel overbooked our room and kicked us out for the night. I'm in a wheelchair, so a ramp van taxi had to lug me back and forth to an inaccessible room in a subpar hotel. Charleston Place apologized for the massive burden by upgrading me to the club level upon my return. The room upgrade was great. However, I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gottakeepongoing
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear gottakeepongoing, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the issues you had at the start of your stay. We are glad that your upgrade to the Club Level helped make up for a small part of that issue. We appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2015

I'll be very short, the service provided at this hotel it is very good, the only problem was the AC unit made so much noise that we could get a decent night sleep, i read previous reviews about it, and ignore it thinking is a 5 stars hotel, it can't be true, but unfortunately it was. Definitely not coming back.

Helpful?
2 Thank oana i
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Onan I, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you had AC noise issues during your visit. We do our best to eliminate any noise issues, but apologize that your AC unit was too loud. In the future, please let the front desk know if your unit is too loud. They... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2015

You can't believe how excited I was to stay at Charleston Place this weekend. I've always wanted to stay there and understandably had high expectations. We have stayed at numerous hotels in Charleston and this had yet to be checked off the list. We checked in earlier than expected which was a definite plus. Even though our reservation said King... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jen W
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Jen W, We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you had issues during your visit. While we are glad you were able to use the complimentary food and beverage credit for brunch, we are sorry your issues were not resolved sooner. Thank you again for your comments as we go over all... More 

Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
272 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2015

I loved this hotel. I love the ambiance of the setting which was well hidden in an area offset from the main city streets. The lobby was beautiful and the grand stair case was reminiscent of the history of the city in years past. The rooms were large, with rich crown molding. The bed was most comfortable and the bath... More 

Helpful?
Thank cphilpot
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear cphilpot, Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed a majority of your stay, including the modern technologies in the room, the downtown location, and the lobby. We are sorry to hear you found the value was not inline with what you were expecting, but we appreciate you taking the... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

Charleston Place is the best hotel in Charleston!! I have been staying here for years and it gets better and better!! The newly renovated rooms are luxurious, spacious and sooo comfortable! The staff is most hospitable, friendly and knowledgable! The location cannot be beat! A must!!

Helpful?
Thank Michele W
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Michele W, Thank you for your very kind review! We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable, and we are honored to be your hotel of choice for Charleston. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place More 

Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2015

A fabulous hotel dedicated to outstanding service by their staff. We had a delicious appetizer style dinner in the famous Charleston Grill. We paid extra and enjoyed The Club on the 8th floor with delicious continental breakfast, snacks, hors d'oeuvres and a fine bar with plenty of fine wine all day. Central located and we walked everywhere seeing all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank gigi788540
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear gigi788540, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on Club Level, it really is a treat! We appreciate you taking the time to write a kind review on your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place More 

United States
Level Contributor
676 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Great location and, although, there are at least four ways to enter the hotel, we had a heck of a time finding the entrance at first. Once we had our bearings, we got it. Rooms are comfortable. We were in a newly renovated room. Really appreciated the lighting controls right by the bed...desk, floor lamp, chandelier, bedside lamp, and so... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AAHolt
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear AAHolt, We are glad you enjoyed a majority of your stay, including our friendly staff and newly designed rooms. We appreciate you sharing your positive and constructive feedback as we go over all of these reviews to better our guests' experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place More 

Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2015

My husband and I spent my birthday week at the Belmond in Charleston. The facility and staff were above expectations. Our every need or desire was met. The location of the hotel was amazing. It is in the heart of Charleston well within walking distance of attractions, historical sites, restaurants, and shopping.

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn D, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your birthday celebration! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time and found our staff to be helpful. We appreciate you taking the time to write a kind review about your stay, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

The Hotel was beautiful very historic, shopping was great, Thorobred lounge was nice for an evening cocktail while listening to a pianist. We took a private tour with Ian (ask the concierge) He drove us to three plantations and went walking around the city. Ian was very knowledgeable about the history of Charleston. Our only complaint was even though our... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank FLfoodguru
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear FLfoodguru, Thank you for sharing your experience will staying with us. We are glad to hear you found our staff helpful and enjoyed the Thoroughbred Club. We appreciate your positive and constructive feedback, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place More 

Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

We decided to spend a long weekend in Charleston on our way home from Bermuda. It was our first time in this beautiful Southern City and the Charleston Place more than exemplified the city. The staff was incredibly gracious and accommodating. The facility itself was beautiful, and the rooms comfortable. My only complaint were the numerous shops within the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Patrick N, Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you two back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place More 

565 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (548)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (129)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,563 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,563 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
1,233 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 19,971 - ₹ 48,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Charleston Place staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Charleston Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spend a little extra and book CLUB level!”
 of 5 bubbles B5008GZmichellek, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Interior rooms are quite nice and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Maugie_L, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4th floor has fitness room and spa”
 of 5 bubbles heatherbM7939FA, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony that looks over the main strip if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles lbunker67, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We paid for and enjoyed a room with a king with the little balcony that was fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles rejohnson, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay