We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

984 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 976: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Very good location in terms of proximity to historic district. Valets / bellmen and front desk staff were very helpful and attentive. The bottled water at the entrance was a nice touch -- much appreciated in the heat. Our room itself was disappointing. The lighting throughout the room was very dim, including lighting in the small bathroom. This drove me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate your kind comments about the team's helpful and attentive service I'm also very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in your room as we'll be certain to place priority this week and proactively addressing the issues you mentioned in the bathroom. Please know that while Marriott's terry re-use program...

west hanover
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We are loyal Marriott consumers and have stayed in many hotels. This is NOT a category 8 establishment. The lobby is grand, no arguing that, as is the first floor bar. Both are chic and comfortable. Our room, however, was disappointing. Do not request a balcony room; there is absolutely no view and the chairs are hard and uncomfortable.The furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank localgirl1948
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and for your loyatly to Marriott. I'm happy that you felt the lobby was both "chic and comfortable" as we've enjoyed our partnership with local designer Michael Mitchell who's assisted us in creating a space that incorporates both intriguing and indigenous elements. I'm sorry that you you did not enjoy being in an...

Reviewed 10 September 2014

Our stay the the Marriott Renaissance in Charleston SC was a most warm and delightful stay that wanted us to extend our stay. Everyone from the front desk to maid service and bellman's were very helpful, courteous and kind. Before our arrival we were contacted to get our personal priorities. Every detail was seen after to make our stay most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J1565SSdavidh
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. As I shared your comments and we couldn't be happier for you and the time that you had in Charleston. We also realized that your experience at the Renaissance Charleston was perfectly aligned with our goals of providing our guests with an intriguing and indigenous experience that includes warm, southern hosptiality with...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 September 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a very good location. The rooms are comfortable and white nice. It is close to a four star property and could use some updates to the rooms but I don't think they are as outdated as some other reviewers do. The service is a bit spotty however it is mostly very good as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frogbog
Statesboro, Georgia
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We had requested early check in which we did receive. After checking in we decided to walk around downtown and see some sites. The hotel clerk recommended some places that we should be sure and see. She gave us a map and directions. Later, upon returning to the room, we found...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pappylapaw
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We're excited that you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary with us and hope to host you again next year. Happy Anniversary! Regards, Brian Wander General Manager

Salem, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We arrived very late, and were pleasantly surprised how quickly we were checked into our room and valet took off with our car! The hotel is adorable, the rooms look like they've been renovated, we had a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony. (granted the view was over a noisy smelly alley) regardless... It was clean and safe....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2theT
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay, within walking distance of the City Market, Marion Square, King St. and just a bit further to the Museum area. The hotel staff is fantastic, if you've never been to Charleston before, just ask anyone and they will help you with directions, reservations, anything. The lobby is well appointed as are the rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Del A
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel really blew me away. I used to be a die-hard Hilton loyalist but the Marriott family lured me away with their courteous and genuinely happy staff. The amenities were INCREDIBLE from the gym overlooking the pool - to the rooftop pool overlooking historic downtown Charleston. Everyone at this hotel was phenomenal from the Valets to the bartenders to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobGhazi
Atlanta
Reviewed 1 September 2014

You could not ask for more from a hotel anywhere and this one is excellent for the best way to experience Charleston. The front desk upgraded us although we arrived early so we had lunch and returned to a nice room with a balcony. Be sure and see Susie across from the front desk to know all the perfect things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank et111travels
United States
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This is my Fifth visit to Charleston and my first stay at the Renaissance. We stayed here bc we had "points" . We were upgraded to a balcony room. Don't waste your money as the balcony overlooked the parking lot. The room was small as was the bathroom. No ventilation in the bath... And no vanity mirror. Hubby had diff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JYNM
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We strive to offer each of our guests a special Charleston experience and it's dissapointing for us to hear that your experience was only "ok." I personally confirmed that the issue that you had during your stay with the bathroom exhaust has been corrected and apologize that you were negatively impacted by that...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
The Restoration
#9 of 60 in Charleston
897 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
1,469 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,537 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 17,898 - ₹ 32,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would not stay during the construction”
 of 5 bubbles 237judyj, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Terrace or Balcony rooms will help with lack of space (but very limited)”
 of 5 bubbles RussellKP, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from elevators”
 of 5 bubbles Trails4GMZ, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The higher the room, the better the view if the city.”
 of 5 bubbles Bonnie623, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't ask for 3rd floor, it is where gym/pool are and are hi traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles bcps7, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5