We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Governor's House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Expert photos
The Governor\\
The Governor's House Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 410: English reviews
Clinton, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend in Charleston and have to say that The Governor's House Inn was the perfect home base for everything we wanted to see and do. The location was ideal for long walks South of Broad and "getting lost" in the beautiful nooks and crannies of the city. We could walk to dinners,... More 

Thank Jeter2Kris
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and very glad we exceeded you expectations! We do have a great staff. We try to start your day with a special meal, so glad you liked The Cinnamon French Toast, it's been a big hit. Hope you visit us again soon. Bryan More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved being within walking distance to the charming historic district in one direction and in the other direction to the waterfront for the sunsets. Gorgeous! Loved being in this beautiful, charming, historic home with all its quirks and uniqueness I would have been disappointed if they hadn't been there. The furnishings, the ambiance were so special and fitting for the... More 

Thank Kathy D
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and so happy your visit was a memorable one. It's not often you can stay in the former home of one of the signers of The Declaration of Independence. Glad you found the uniqueness of the inn to your liking. Hope you will return to stay with us soon. Bryan More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a last minute weekend get away to Charleston and thoroughly enjoyed the town and this charming inn. We had a cute room on the third floor. It was a bit of a hike up but well worth it. As was the fantastic breakfast which was really good and nice to talk with the other guests. The location of... More 

Thank corinnaontheroad
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon. Bryan More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in Charleston as first timers to the city. We were VERY pleasantly surprised that at the accommodations. The Governor's House Inn is perfectly located to walk to most of the interesting parts of the city, they have ample parking and truly historic place to rest after all day on the go. The staff is all exceptionally accommodating and... More 

Thank Chris K
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

So glad you had a great stay with us. It is easy to be nice when you are dealing with nice people. The entire staff tries to make each guest feel special and have a unique experience. Hope to see you again soon. Bryan More 

South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This B&B is gorgeous and very conveniently located o downtown.This was my husband and my first experience with a B&B and we were very impressed. We will absolutely stay in more. Charleston was so much fun and staying in such a lovely historical home made it all the more special. our room was huge, the bed was comfortable and luxurious... More 

Thank fireflysprite
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Bryan More 

Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this B and B! We stayed in the Barbados Room for 3 nights. Although not a huge room, it represented the rooms of the history of the era the house was built. The bathroom was huge! The staff was welcoming and the room was well cleaned each night. Breakfast was very tasty and satisfying. Bryan... More 

Thank Nancy T
ManagerGHI, Concierge at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for this most complimentary review. We try very hard to assist our guests with anything they may need and are happy you appreciate the rich history of this house as much as we do. We hope you stay with us when you visit Charleston again! Sincerely, Mac More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Friendly, helpful staff made staying here delightful. The room we rented was the smaller suite on the first floor (the only one on the floor). It was a good room for a honeymoon, just large enough for two people to stay comfortably for four days / four nights. Each morning breakfast is served - very well prepared, better than average... More 

Thank evandossey
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for staying with us and writing this delightful review. We are so happy you decided to stay with us on such a wonderful occasion. Congratulations and may you have a lifetime of happiness. We look forward to your return visit! Warm Regards, Angela Ward, GM More 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The stay here was not a very pleasant experience. Our room was not clean, did not get clean up service until 5:00 p.m. The next day and only then because we requested it. Food was fair but not up to quality expected. We felt very overcharged for this stay. Should have been compensated for inconveniences in our suite. Would not... More 

1 Thank anetjarosr
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and telling us about your trip. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay. There is no doubt that an error occurred when your room was not cleaned by our housekeepers on your second day here. It was a break down in the way we communicate between departments and I can assure you... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed at a historic inn in Savannah and followed with a stay at The Governers House Inn. Unfortunately there was no comparison between the two inns at a similar price point. The Governor's Inn on entry smelt of a musty odor which was apparent on bedding too. The extra pillows in the Rutledge suite provided were stained (and consequently... More 

2 Thank JLG_8
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Governor's House Inn. Since we met during your stay and we had actual conversation during your visit I regret you didn't mention any of your concerns to me while you were our guest. We like to do everything we can to remedy situations at that moment in time rather than looking back... More 

Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Brian (the innkeeper) and the entire staff at The Governor's House Inn made our stay a truly exceptional experience. The Inn itself is beautiful and has a rich and interesting history (be sure to ask Brian... he is extremely knowledgeable). The breakfasts were varied... but all excellent. Charleston bills itself as a veritable foodies paradise, and The Governor's House upholds... More 

Thank gnfredricks
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for mentioning me in your review! It was a pleasure to speak with you about the home and our special city. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfasts and tea hour. Word of mouth is always a good thing and so appreciate that you will be spreading our good name to other travelers. We look forward... More 

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (172)
Dining (18)
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Room/Suite (62)
Bathroom (6)
View from Room (5)
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Amenities (31)
The Hotel (22)
The Laurens Room (30)
The Middleton Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (38)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Room/Suite (11)
View from Room (3)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (1)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,563 reviews
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
601 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,564 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
2,902 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Suites
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Address: 117 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2435
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 14,455 - ₹ 26,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Governor's House Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Governor's House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The larger rooms are spacious and seemed to be cleaned better than the small rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JLG_8, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Rutledge balcony faces east, so it gets direct sun early in the day. It's most enjoyable in the late afternoon/early evening.”
 of 5 bubbles CPintheSouth, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in the "Master Bedroom". Not really sure what the other rooms included.”
 of 5 bubbles 513robertv, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Christopher Suite is the best. Quite secluded with a wet bar, refrigerator, table, nice bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles 309kelsieb, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had the "Waggoner" which had it's own private veranda. Our friends had the "Barbados" which had a private entrance”
 of 5 bubbles Domaracki, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay