We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rhett House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rhett House Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

958 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rhett House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 955: English reviews
North Augusta, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 November 2013

When I read negative reviews,I wonder if I've stayed at the same inn.The staff,from the front desk to the kitchen,are friendly and most helpful.The rooms in which we've stayed:1,10,15 and a ground floor room(don't remember the number) at the cottage across the street have been well-appointed and clean. Breakfast for me is coffee and an English muffin;my bride likes a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bob S, On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your wonderful review. It is our pleasure to show our guests what southern hospitality is all about. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rhett House Inn and we always look forward to welcoming you back.

SE United States
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was my second time at this historic B&B. First time about three years back. The Inn's staff is helpful, efficient and very friendly. I was accompanied by a rather demanding person who stayed in another room and the staff never showed impatience with her. The room was clean and comfortable. The public spaces are wonderfully set up and welcoming--great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonnieSEUnitedStates
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your second trip to Beaufort and the Rhett House Inn. Thank you for compliments of the Inn and the amenities and sharing your thoughts about the AC. Feedback from our guests is encouraged as this only helps us to improve each and every guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time...

Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 2 November 2013

First trip to Beaufort and we had really been looking forward to great southern hospitality and an authentic stay in this historic B&B. If we had just spent all our time on the glorious front terrace, we wouldn't have been disapointed. It was excellent and the highlight of our stay. Otherwise, this inn is really overpriced. When we arrived we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 3Thirstytravellers
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

We are obviously disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on showing our guests what Southern hospitality is all about. All of our rooms are very different in size, decor and location. We do not have basement rooms but we do have rooms on our first floor street level that are not as bright as staying...

Singer Island, Florida
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just stayed at the Rhett house Inn, 4 of us ladies on a road trip and loved the Rhett house Inn. It is just lovely sitting on the front porch sipping the complimentary lemonade and champagne. The side garden is so tranquil and beautiful. The evening desserts were so delicious as was the breakfast. The innkeepers were so nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the staff thank you for your wonderful compliments about the charm of the Inn. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Thank you for helping to spread the news.

Savannah, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a wonderful experience at the Rhett House! It was a perfect place to stay to keep the mood of the Tour of Homes. I loved having breakfast on the veranda! The location is close to areas of historical significance. Staff was knowledgeable about area attractions. I will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geneen G
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

You picked a perfect weekend to visit Beaufort. The tour of homes is a special event that happens in the Spring and Fall and is a great way to experience the charm of our town. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

New Windsor, New York
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in Beaufort for 3 nights and couldn't have picked a better place to stay, The inn is beautiful and although another review says staying in the cottage house made them feel disassociated we felt completely the opposite. we stayed in room 17 which is across the street and it was great. You have all the privacy you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yoberto
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the privacy and amenities that the cottage house rooms have to offer. Thank you for your compliments of the staff and the food that we serve. We look forward to your return visit.

Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Loved the location, the staff, the yummy deserts at night in the kitchen till 9, the smell of the wood fireplace in the living room every night! Wonderful porch! Suggest new mattress in room 2.... Would definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaycey H
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your first trip to Beaufort and The Rhett House Inn. Thank you for your suggestion regarding the mattress and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Beaufort.

Napa, California, United States
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our night at Rhett House Inn in Beaufort SC was a highlight of our 16-day trip through the southeast. We left fervently wishing we'd booked more time for this combination of magnificent architecture, generous amenities, and relaxing southern charm. Imagine returning late from your dinner and wanderings, to find three different homemade desserts waiting in the kitchen! Unique, thoughtful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeWilcox
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff it is wonderful to hear that we were the highlight of your trip. We are glad you enjoyed the charm of the Inn and the amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at the Rhett house last week and was very disappointed in the accommodation. I was in the back cottage and they are neither pretty nor quaint like the inn. Ask for a room in the main building. The homey pies are a lovely thought but not a real southern quality item. Breakfast is good not great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 57783Traveler
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay in the cottage. The cottage dates back to 1864 and was known as the Freedman's store. It has been renovated to inlcude 7 rooms each with their own entrance, private porch and the bathrooms have a whirlpool tub and separate...

Michigan
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed two nights in one of the cottage rooms. We liked the separate entrance, the room was small but had everything we needed. We also borrowed the bikes and road all over downtown Beaufort. It's a beautiful place. The breakfasts were good - enjoyed sitting on the front porch. Gracious hosts - I highly recommend the Rhett House Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S D
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the privacy of the cottage. The bikes are a great way to explore the historic district. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Beaufort.

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.3 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,114 reviews
0.4 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
898 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
633 reviews
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Price Range: ₹ 12,501 - ₹ 21,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rhett House Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Overland Park, Kansas
Tarpon Springs, Florida
over a year ago
yankee in the south
over a year ago
Citra

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Rhett House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 has a separate entrance and a private screened in porch. It is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles nghigginshome, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have stayed in room #7 which opens out onto the courtyard...lovely. Stayed in room #10 which is huge and has a great porch!”
 of 5 bubbles kathys650, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be sure and ask about stairs if anyone in your group is challenged.”
 of 5 bubbles EveS_12, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The stand-alone cottage rooms are perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles 798cherryd, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we had our dog, so we stayed in room 11...the annex. It was PERFECT!”
  • our room!
 of 5 bubbles mlovestennis, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5