We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Middletown \/ Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 353: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have stayed here several times before and it was okay, but not great. I believe that they must have upgraded furniture, fitness center and overall staff. The hotel was awesome from checking in to checking out. I received a suite upgrade based on platinum status and the suite was very nice. The hotel was very clean and comfortable in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joerg S
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here one night so we could visit our daughter in college. The room was clean but there was no fan in the bathroom. Breakfast was so-so. The pool was closed when we were there. Staff was friendly. All and all ok for one night. I do feel that it was way overpriced, but it was the only thing that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJV27
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear MJV27, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. I am happy you like our friendly staff and clean rooms. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the hotel pool and room rates may...

New York
Reviewed 1 October 2013

place is worn not clean carpet was ripped ac vents were dirty not cleaned under bed found a hair brush and we had been there 3 days so was not cleaned at least that long furniture was worn as was ripped curtains guess we did not like it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank awsum22
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear awsum22, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room condition. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and...

New England
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here one night on a recent weekend. The front desk supervisor, Aubrey, was very friendly and accommodating, but that was the only positive. The worst problem with the place is the flimsy construction. You can hear everything in the adjoining rooms, slamming doors, and people upstairs stomping around. Some of the rooms have been renovated with new beds, so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NE V
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear NEVisitors, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured,...

Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

So i stayed here for a wedding. Room was decent, no fan in the bathroom but the tv was nice and had a dvd player. Breakfast was okay. Eggs were terrible but the fresh pancakes were good. They tried to keep things refilled as best they could. The pool was small, shallow but decent, hot tub was adequate. The fitness...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen441985
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear Jen441985, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your...

Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels, I like Holiday Inn Express because they are everywhere, mostly clean new properties. I was disappointed with the Middletown Holiday Inn Express as it was not as clean as most of the chain and seemed a little wornout. The bed was not as comfortable as most for some reason. If I were to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bdolgin
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear Bdolgin, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked mini family vacation and left hotel after one hour. Pool area had dirty walls with holes in the Sheetrock and my kids found a poop floating at the bottom. Pulling my kids out immediately I found that the door was broken and we were locked in the pool area. I threw my kids in the shower and sat on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SYCmom
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear SYCmom, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding pool and room cleanliness which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the...

Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I was here for business nearby and the location was great. We had a car, so it was very easy to get downtown, and only 5 minutes to work in the morning. The room was what you'd expect from this kind of hotel, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Unfortunately my room was near the side door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Almaniac
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear Almaniac, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are saddened to hear of your encounters in our hotel and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the noise challenges you had and for the dissatisfaction the pool condition has caused you. It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as...

UK
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Upon checking into our room we weren't entirely convinced the bed sheets were fresh. They seemed to be clean but had not been pressed. The white sheets were now a strange shade of grey. The wallpaper in the bedroom was peeling off, the curtains were stained and smelly. The entire hotel needs a facelift. The gym was a depressing, small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CullybackeyDisco
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear CullybackeyDisco, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any...

New Jersey
Reviewed 31 August 2013

As an IHG platinum member I stayed here for two weekend nights recently using 35,000 IHG points per night. I selected this hotel because of its Middletown location and convenient access to Newport. I had a one bedroom suite with a pull out sofa bed on the third floor adjacent to the elevator overlooking the front of the hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony J

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
267 reviews
4.0 km away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Address: 855 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Price Range: ₹ 5,437 - ₹ 22,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even my ground floor rooms have been super quiet in either wing every time.”
 of 5 bubbles markn733, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance to take advantage of good rates!”
 of 5 bubbles jeffcT5222PI, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are well constructed. All rooms are quiet. We stayed lower level, no problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 637fayem, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room toward the rear of hotel to avoid road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BIGDAVE57, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Third floor wonderfully quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles TraceeW, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5