We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at Mount Hope Farm

Save
Share
250 Metacom Ave, Bristol, RI 02809-5180
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (55)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (11)

About

#3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
An intimate and charming getaway, The Inn at Mount Hope Farm is a escape where guests can enjoy history and nature. The Inn consists of three buildings: Governor Bradford House, built in 1745, has 5 bedrooms; North Pasture House is an 18th century post and beam farmhouse with 4 bedrooms; and South Pasture is a converted 1930s pool house with 3 bedrooms. Each room is individually styled, many with antiques, all with comfortable beds, luxe linens, private bathrooms, and air conditioning. Mount Hope Farm is a coveted wedding venue and we host many large events throughout the year. The historic waterfront Cove Cabin site can accommodate parties of up to 300. The Inn's gardens and Barn are used for parties of up to 140 people. Mount Hope Farm's grand country estate is an accredited arboretum sitting on the shore of Mount Hope Bay and encompassing 127 acres of preserved open space. Families love visiting our friendly goats, chickens, and donkeys. Our location provides easy access to Newport and Providence and is just over an hour from Boston.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
96Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 19
  • 3
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carolyn C wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
My extended family (parents, four adult siblings, partners/spouses, offspring -- 22 in all) stayed at the Inn the weekend my niece got married nearby. The Inn provided an absolutely lovely setting for our families to spend quality time together before, in between, and after the wedding festivities. Between walking the grounds, visiting the animals, attending the Farmer's Market, and visiting nearby sites, there was plenty to do. In addition, the history of the site is very interesting (I had no idea before I arrived).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The rooms in the main inn are the nicest; some of the rooms in the other two buildings are a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
IrvingBrown wrote a review Sep 2019
Dartmouth, Massachusetts128 contributions97 helpful votes
This is a lovely place to walk, and maybe to hold a wedding, but probably not to learn about early American history. We didn't stay at the Inn; we just went there because a website said that we could take trails that led from there to historic sites, in particular where King Philip (Metacom) lived and died. A friendly clerk gave us a printed set of directions (there is no map) that was supposed to lead us to a memorial to King Philip, but we couldn't find it. When I got home, I looked it up online, found that the Pokanoket Indians and Brown University have been squabbling over control of the land, and I concluded that that squabble may have resulted in the historical sites becoming inaccessible or at least extremely difficult to find. Nevertheless, in the time (more than an hour) that my wife and I were searching unsuccessfully for the historic sites, we got good exercise and even saw beautiful cardinal flowers growing in streams. We also saw a lot of people walking their dogs, and they all seemed to be enjoying themselves. It's a beautiful location, so I can see why King Philip might have liked it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Seaside441387 wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
If you want to go back in time this is the place. Country setting and very very clean accommodations. There is a shared kitchen in each building if you want to pack your own snacks. Add to this a paved round trip 1.4 mile walk to Mount Hope Bay through the woods. When you arrive at the bay you can rest on a bench and enjoy the view. There are goats and donkeys for children to visit. I cannot say enough. I brought my grandchildren without their electronics and they loved it all. Another visit I brought my adult goddaughter. She said it was what she needed to relax from her very stressful job. I brought a visiting au pair and it reminded her of her grandparents home in France. Many restaurants in the town of Bristol and visiting Warren. Come and enjoy a stay away from it all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GeorginaM1305, Manager at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Responded 3 Sep 2019
So glad you enjoyed the very essence of the Inn at Mount Hope Farm---it's an historic saltwater farm--George Washington stayed here twice---once with his troops camped outside during the Revolutionary War and a second time in 1790 when he was President. Mount Hope Farm is where Rhode Island's history began in 1620.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nashvilledoc wrote a review Aug 2019
Nashville, Tennessee3 contributions
Here are the negatives: Loud wedding music until 11:00 Room neither soundproof nor lightproof We texted management at 10:00 about the music and got no reply Cook for our “country breakfast” made a marginal omelette. He didn’t bother to use the commercial coffee maker in the kitchen, instead we had lousy keurig. We had to cut our own fruit and make our own toast Overpriced even without these issues Positives: Spacious room Very pleasant grounds and setting I didn’t really mind that there were no staff on site Based on other reviews, I think the manager should focus more on improving the Quality of her establishment and less on criticizing her patrons
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing main drive due to possibility of noise from the barn
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GeorginaM1305, Manager at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Responded 26 Aug 2019
I am sorry that Nashville doc did not have a good experience. Our cook does cook to order and typically makes toast for guests. He does cut the fruit up, but sometimes guest would prefer smaller pieces. We did have a wedding on property the night this guest stayed and there was music; however, we do monitor the sound level to conform to Bristol's rules and the sounds was under the sound limits. We are sorry that this guest was disturbed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thegirl wrote a review Jul 2019
Nashville, Tennessee5 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked a weekend at the inn at Mount Hope Farm. It’s a very lovely setting. However, I would never suggest staying there as a guest. First of all it was extremely overpriced. We paid over $270 a night and we were the only souls there. I had to tell the water delivery guy that I didn’t work there and visitors that wanted to tour of the farm that I did not work there. There are no televisions in the room nor do you have Wi-Fi. There is Wi-Fi if you’re in the kitchen, but it does not reach to the rooms upstairs. The rooms are very nice and spacious. However, the first night that we stay there there was a wedding band blasting us out till 11 o’clock at night. I texted the innkeeper who said they should have stopped at 10pm. We had a long day of travel and we were really wanting to get some rest that night. Unfortunately, we were listening to music in our room that we didn’t care for until late into the evening. The room was lacking in a blackout shade and the lights from the barn lit up a room. We had to basically make our breakfast the next morning since there was a new guy who was fixing our breakfast. He made us an omelet, but is not the quality of breakfast that we were accustomed to at that level of room rate. The second morning we had to get bagels out of the freezer to make for breakfast. We complained and they did give us a very slight discount. However,I do believe that they should’ve given us a free night. Honestly, I feel a little robbed. We saw a menu in the kitchen for a breakfast form the previous week which was very nice. Maybe,if you are part of a wedding party you would enjoy istaying there. Otherwise I would absolutely never ever stay there. It was the most disappointing stay we have ever had and we travel a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GeorginaM1305, Manager at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Responded 26 Jul 2019
We are sorry this guest wasn't happy. The room she stayed in is furnished with antiques and is over 400 s.f. with an equally large private bathroom. We state very clearly that there are no televisions in the rooms. The Mount Hope Farm and Arboretum is an historical farm and people visit here to enjoy the antiques, history, gorgeous trees and gardens, animals and peaceful setting. We did have a problem with the wifi that night for which we apologized and provided a substantial discount to the guest. We serve a cooked breakfast only on Saturdays and Sundays, which the guest knew and the cooked-to-order omelet provided was because the guest asked for that instead of the more lavish breakfast which the cook provided to others. Unfortunately, nothing we did, including the substantial discount we gave her since the music annoyed her, could please this guest. Based on her other reviews, we are not the only Inn that she was displeased with. We pride ourselves on happy guests and regret that we didn't succeed with this one.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RealJZ wrote a review Feb 2019
Irvington, New York98 contributions19 helpful votes
Unlike some other guest houses, it appears that because Mt Hope Farm is run as a farm and an event space, they have a bit more revenue at play, and the house is extremely well maintained. Furnishings are in great shape. Things like well insulated windows (a problem at another local B&B), wooden cabinetry with easy sliding draws and doors, working thermostats - these all reflect a fair amount of care being put into a 300 year-old property. We had a chance to look through a number of the rooms in the Gov Bradford House. They were all spacious, nicely furnished with reasonably updated bathrooms. The ONLY issue there was a very weak water flow in the shower. We did have a problem with the free wifi. But it sounds like that is very unusual, and we were able to pick up a network from one of their other buildings. The issue with this Inn is its essential business structure. It is NOT run like other B&Bs. There is no couple who owns the property and greets you when you arrive. Off season (as it was for us), you may be the only guest...in which case you may be the only person in the house. Also, as such, there is no breakfast (other than coffee and help-yourself to English Muffins) during the off season. For my wife and I, this was not a problem (though given those facts, the pricing is $20-$30 higher than it should be off season.) But obviously some other reviewers felt differently. If you want that warm welcome, Mt Hope Farm is not the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms have descriptions on their website. Read them.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GeorginaM1305, Manager at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Responded 20 Feb 2019
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are sorry about the low flow in the shower; we didn't know about it and are fixing the issue. And, thanks for your patience about the wifi problem; it has been fixed---just sorry our technical guy couldn't fix it while you were here at the Farm. We are NOT a B + B, but rather an inn since we only serve breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings during the high season. We are a non-profit and our mission is to preserve our historic structures and landscape and make them available to the community. Our Farm Superintendent lives on the property, but no one lives in the Inn. So, yes, there are no innkeepers to greet you and talk with you. We actually regularly benchmark our pricing against others in the area and don't think we are high; the price difference between the very large rooms in Governor Bradford and the smaller rooms in the other two buildings that comprise our Inn are $25 to $40. This reviewer stayed in one of our nicest rooms, which is priced before taxes at $160 in February on a Friday or Saturday night; other rooms at the Farm range from $130 to $200 on Fridays and Saturdays and from $99 up Sunday through Thursdays off season.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanne K wrote a review Nov 2018
Springfield, Massachusetts15 contributions3 helpful votes
On the plus side--the grounds are beautiful; there is a walking path, my room was very attractive with a nice comfortable bed. On the minus side--I came to the inn with three students who were housed in one of the far buildings. Although there were three beds in their room, there were only towels for one person. There was a coffee machine, but only decaf coffee. I was housed in the main building. I had problems with my hot water, the temperature of the room and the temperature of the room--thermostat set at immovable 60 degrees. None of these problems would be big--except there was NO ONE available to talk to resolve them on the grounds. The office is closed on weekends. I called the number I was given--no response. To top things off--when I returned to my room at the end of the day, housekeeping had left it unlocked and the door wide open. I would complain--but my only venue appears to be Trip Advisor because once again there is no one to be found on the premises.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from lionslurking, Manager at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Responded 19 Nov 2018
I am so sorry that Jeanne K. was unhappy. Here is the rest of the story: there were 3 students who were part of Ms. K's group who checked into the room Saturday and 3 sets of towels were in the room each night; the used towels were removed Saturday and replaced for Sunday; only 2 of the 3 sets were used Sunday, so this does not appear to be a valid complaint. Unfortunately, the room was booked for 2 guests, not 3 and Ms. K did not apparently want to pay the extra charge for the third guest in the room. We routinely stock the room with 3 sets of towels, and that was the case this weekend. There are two coffee machines and both had a full supply of coffee; in the case of the second coffee machine, the extra pods were in the cupboard immediately adjacent to the machine. The hot water in the c 1745 house takes a few minutes of water running to heat to temperature and the thermostat in the room will supply more or less heat. I don't know why the guest was not able to work the thermostat. It's unfortunately the guest left this series of complaints in addition to not paying for the extra person in the room. The only valid complaint is that the housekeeping staff did leave her door open and unlocked and that definitely should not have happened. We have gone over the proper routine again with the staff and this should not happen again. We do make it clear to guests that the Office is closed after 5 and on weekends. We do have a Farm Superintendent who lives on the property to take care of emergencies. This guest received a callback on Saturday within 30 minutes of her original call, but did not answer. When she called again Sunday, she received a callback in 5 minutes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marilyn M wrote a review Oct 2018
Cortland, New York340 contributions178 helpful votes
Read the fine print before booking because this B & B does NOT have a breakfast & the South Pasture House had no internet. We never saw a live person at the inn, although there were farm workers working on the farm, so there this inn didn't have the usual friendly host & hostess to welcome us to the inn & area. The rooms were spotless & the bathroom was spacious, but this inn wasn't what we were hoping for. For this kind of price, the inn was not up to our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not the South Pasture House
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from lionslurking, Manager at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Responded 16 Oct 2018
I am sorry you were disappointed. The Inn at Mount Hope Farm is an Inn and only offers breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays from May 1 to October 31, which is made clear. If you look at pricing of local inns, hotels and B and Bs, I think you will agree that Mount Hope Farm is a bargain, with the South Pasture rooms being the least expensive because they do not have WiFi and because they are smaller than our larger rooms. I am sorry you were dismayed not to be personally greeted. Our staff is on site daily until 5 pm Monday to Friday and our Farm Superintendent and his family live in a cottage on the property. On weekends, our housekeeping staff is at the Inn and other guests have told us how friendly and welcoming they are. Please come back again and appreciate the Farm’s 127 acres, gardens, trees, animals and history. We are a non profit committing to preserving this important piece of American history.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave A wrote a review Sep 2018
Southern Pines2 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at the Inn at Mount Hope Farm for the Fourth of July. This is a historically significant and special place in Rhode Island. A must see if you are in the area. The accommodations were great and the staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend a stay at the Inn! Read the book, the Mayflower, before staying here to learn about these important surroundings.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from lionslurking, Manager at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Responded 17 Sep 2018
Dave-- Thanks for your lovely review and Mount Hope Farm is a very historic place. George Washington slept in the Governor Bradford House, which is part of the Inn, and his troops camped in the yard. This year, the Farm was nationally recognized as an Arboretum. Come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate B wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
What a lovely stay at Mount Hope Inn! We stayed Labor Day weekend for a one-night anniversary getaway. Be prepared to step back in time- the three houses that comprise the Inn are a gateway to the past. We had so much fun exploring the houses, antique furniture and accents, and generally imagining the history that has taken place at the farm. The beds were comfy and everything was very clean and well-maintained. The grounds were just beautiful. In the morning, we walked outside with cups of coffee and watched the goats and donkeys and chatted with a volunteer. She even offered to take us in to play with the 2 month old baby goats! This is a fun place to come as adults only, or with a family, and is proximal to the cute downtown area of Bristol and Colt State Park, without the price tag of other Inns in that area. We look forward to returning!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from lionslurking, Manager at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Responded 4 Sep 2018
Thanks so much for your note.....the Farm is a very special place and it's terrific that one of our devoted volunteers introduced you to the baby goats. Please come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
country inn at mount hope farm (governor bradford house) hotel bristol, country inn bristol, bristol country inn
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandBristol
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn at Mount Hope Farm?
Nearby attractions include Common Pub & Grille (1.2 km), Mount Hope Farm (0.05 km), and Wood St. Cafe (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Is parking available at The Inn at Mount Hope Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn at Mount Hope Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pomodoro Pizzeria, Common Pub, and Casual Inn.
Is The Inn at Mount Hope Farm located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Bristol.
Does The Inn at Mount Hope Farm offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn at Mount Hope Farm?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum (1.7 km), Linden Place Mansion (1.5 km), and Coggeshall Farm Museum (3.2 km).