We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chanterelle Inn & Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chanterelle Inn & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chanterelle Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Stay: We stayed in one of the cottages. With high ceilings and open layout, the cottage felt spacious and was the perfect size for the two of us. These cottages were saved from the landfill and were fully refurbished to have a rustic and homey feeling. The only downside was not being able to enjoy the porch because of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChawaJen
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your most generous review of the cottage---and your appreciation of our environmental practices including the rescue of the cottages from a land-fill! It is unfortunate that you were not comfortable on the verandah because of the bees at the honeysuckle vine. They are so endangered and they make such lovely honey for our dining room.

Long Island
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We came to the Inn needing directions to the nearest gas station. We were so impressed we stayed for dinner and the night....nothing could have been better. A wonderful room filled with lovely antiques, a wonderful dinner, searching for chanterelles in the pouring rain, an amazing breakfast, a fun hostess and cook, nice other guests....and directions to the gas station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan K
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

One of those great serendipitous happenings that make innkeeping such a fun business to be I Thank you! We so enjoyed having you with us and hope you "drop in" again.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We only visited the Chanterelle for dinner, which was well worth it. Very quiet setting - seems it mostly caters for the visitors who are staying there as it is a bit of a drive to get there from Baddeck or the other towns on the Cabot Trail. The appetizer (tomato soup with basil) was very good. The entree (baked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lupo2007
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for coming out from Baddeck. Yes, a 25 minute drive but fortunately a beautiful one with views of St. Ann's Harbour. I'm glad you liked the tomato soup (we do get great tomatoes from the Farmers' Market that time of year) and the sole but am disappointed you did not enjoy our signature Chocolate...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here as part of a group and bought into the Cape Breton Sampler package for three nights stay. Sadly, despite our hostess's assurance that on the whale watch we were virtually guaranteed to see whales, we didn't. The sailing shouldn't have taken off (a large proportion of those on board vomited prolifically), but although we were told we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bristolange
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your experience here at the Inn. I regret your stay did not meet your expectations. The Chanterelle is a small inn with a limited staff in a rather remote area of Cape Breton and we make no representations otherwise. In response, I offer the following facts: * Assurances regarding the whale watch. The...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This inn was my favorite place to stay during a two week road trip around the Maritime area of Canada. Chanterelle, perched on top of a hill overlooking a beautiful mountain range, is environmentally friendly in so many ways: locally sourced foods, green detergents, and a wind turbine on the property. The surrounding nature seems grateful, as hummingbirds and blue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IleanaFS
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at the Inn---you brought such positive energies!. Our chef was very pleased you enjoyed the dinners. We felt honored that you chose to stay with us on your honeymoon and wish you a long and happy life together.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at this inn as part of a group hiking trip. It was a beautiful place to stay and the dinner was truly exceptional. If you are going through this part of Cape Breton, this is a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your most generous review. We always look forward to hosting hiking groups as they appear to appreciate the cuisine, area and our efforts to be environmentally friendly. We hope you return.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I am conflicted to whether to rate this as average or very good. It would likely be in between if that option were offered. Lovely and peaceful setting but I left somewhat disappointed. We stayed in the main Inn and our room seemed a bit cramped and dark for the money. Although it looked out over gorgeous countryside the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LVLTO
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the Inn. We always appreciate feedback. In answer to your comments: Windows high. Yes, 'tis true. The inn was built maximally to reduce its environmental footprint: the entire structure and setting were subordinated to the requirements of the solar panels covering the back roof. The roof design determined the window height. The greatest...

white rock
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Pretty views and quiet location. Rooms were clean and pleasant. Having explored the rest of the Cabot Trail, we would have been better to stay further north up near the national park. Our biggest disappointment was the food. Their chef who had been highly rated was not there as far as we could tell and most of us found the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wesbrook
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the Inn. Your review contained a couple of "firsts" for us over 14 years of being in business: 1) the food was poor to mediocre and 2) the breakfasts were unsatisfactory. I am puzzled in that most of your group joined us for dinner for three nights. (Yes, our chef was here: is...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Chanterelle is pleasantly located on a hilltop overlooking St. Anne's Bay on the Cabot Trail. It is named for the mushrooms that grow wild on the property. The food is excellent. Earlene Busch, the proprietor, uses fresh ingredients, mostly local, and all sustainable to concoct original and innovative dishes for both dinner and breakfast. Of course, chanterelles are often featured....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TOvisitor
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the positive energies you brought to the inn. I am glad you were here in "chanterelle season" and that you enjoyed them. It is unfortunate that you were here on such a warm night---it was one of only three this summer as the nights since have been exceptionally cool. We hope on day...

Zürich
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We - a family of four with 2 young children - enjoyed our 1-night-stay a lot. We can recommend the inn for its wonderful setting, its peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, and the excellent food they serve (both for dinner and breakfast).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaffaelZH
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. You have such lovely and sophisticated children! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and hope you return

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North River Bridge
47.3 km away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
25.4 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
582 reviews
10.7 km away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
270 reviews
24.6 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
272 reviews
43.7 km away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Nova Scotia with our breathtaking views, "Cape Breton Fresh" cuisine and renowned eco-friendly accommodations. The Chanterelle Inn has been serving travelers to Canada for over 15 years. Our 100-acre estate sits high on a brae overlooking the estuary of the North River as it flows into St. Ann's Harbour. Numerous sustainable practices and a central Cape Breton location make the inn perfect for getting in tune with the beauty and bounty of the island. You will find endless opportunities and our friendly expertise helpful for finding your own balance between stimulating and serene. Restaurant 100 KM uses local produce, seafood, meat and wine to serve an acclaimed regional cuisine that was named to the list of 50 Top Restaurants in Canada. Likewise, Innkeeper/Chef Earlene Busch has won numerous personal accolades and twice represented Canada at Slow Food's Terra Madre in Turin, Italy. National Geographic Traveler featured us on their Stay List of the 13 "most authentic and unique hotels" in Canada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chanterelle Inn & Cottages

Address: 48678 Cabot Trail, North River Bridge, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North River Bridge
Price Range: ₹ 8,209 - ₹ 12,962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chanterelle Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chanterelle Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Baddeck
Baddeck Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chanterelle Inn & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a cottage if you can”
maryh24, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“By design there is no TV and that was a nice change”
Guildford31, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Loved the peace and quiet of the cabin.”
925donc, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not suitable for those using wheelchairs.”
beverlyk588, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Cannot recommend.”
Livingthelifenow2015, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5