We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hotel Lancaster

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hotel Lancaster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 21 November 2016

This is a locally owned and operated hotel. The owner really cares about his guests and shows it. The people are friendly and very helpful. This is a great place for a group stay. We had our sports team there. It was comfortable, quite and the service is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnesawyer
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

It's clean and the staff is friendly. It does get a little noisy but that is to be expected in the center of town. Breakfast is not really worth the effort. Rooms are a nice size but the bathrooms are small. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim C
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

It was little noisy. I can hear the traffic and kept me up all night. Room was clean and staff was nice. Few blocks away from Central Market and walking distance. Public parking garage right next to the hotel was convenient. Discounted rate of $10 a day with in and out privilege.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Not great ambience, but served the purpose. Rates all over the place---we even were charged $25.00 more for the 2nd night in same room. Hotel has no parking---you pay for public garage. Location is good----you must go to The Central Market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BOB796
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. Our hotel is conveniently located next to a city-owned parking garage and we offer our Guests discounted parking. We apologize if you were unaware of this. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Central Market - it is truly a must-see when you visit Lancaster. Thank you for staying with...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed here as well as 25 other family and friends for a wedding, had to pay for parking, (outragious) the noise level at night was unexceptable . Security was notified said they coudn't do anything , bathrooms need to be updated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank supercisp
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to meet the needs of our Guests and one of those ways is by offering discounted parking for our Guests. Again, we apologize your stay did not meet your expectations.

texas
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Traveled from DC to the area for the weekend. Had high hopes for a lovely weekend in Amish country and Hershey. Checked into the Lancaster with a young adult son for a mom/son weekend. Room was unbearably noisy. As per my profession (journalist) I haves stayed in literally 1,000+ hotels in my career and have only had a handful where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TXTRAVELWRITER
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel location at the corner of two very busy city streets in the heart of Downtown Lancaster allows our Guests easy access to walk throughout the city or drive to see Amish farmland. We apologize that the city noise bothered you. If your AC unit wasn't working properly,...

Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Our organization booked this hotel at the last minute and the hotel was more than accommodating. The staff were very friendly and personable. The rooms were very clean, modern, and nice. The fitness center was great with new machines. The breakfast was also filling. If you are in the area, The Hotel Lancaster will not disappoint.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tyguy1260
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We are happy to know that you were very satisfied with our accommodations and enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again!

Isla Verde, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I had an absolutely gorgeous room on the ninth floor. My room had a very comfortable king size bed with refrigerator. Location was perfect. There are plenty of charming restaurants and mid level price points within walking distance. Shoppers looking for the unusual or vintage clothing have only to go five minutes walk to the eclectic Queen Street. Right across...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank divadonna2015
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about your stay with us! We will make sure to share your kind thoughts with Vincent, Carol and Shonae. Our central location in the heart of the Downtown area makes it fun to visit the many restaurants and shoppes that are just steps from our hotel. Thank you for staying with us!...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The hotel staff were excellent and the hotel was good and with the work they are planning to do to the hotel it will be excellent. We went there for a conference but stayed on and enjoyed seeing the amish country.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate knowing that our Team was successful in exceeding your expectations. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit to Lancaster and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

The Hotel Lancaster was wonderful. We arrived with a large group of 10th grade students from the South on a class trip and stayed for 2 nights while touring the area. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the Manager was always on hand when we arrived. The location is absolutely beautiful with the convenience to walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We appreciate your nice review about your stay with us! We are happy to know that your group truly enjoyed their visit to Lancaster! Our Team strives to provide a wonderful stay for our Guests. We are glad to know we were successful and that your group had a great time. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.2 km away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
888 reviews
0.4 km away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.0 km away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
520 reviews
10.0 km away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Address: 26 E Chestnut St, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602-2702
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Price Range: ₹ 7,497 - ₹ 12,842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Maroochydore, Australia
Staunton, Virginia
Staunton, Virginia
2 months ago
Summit, New Jersey
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have good views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles nanbloodworth, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I do not think there is a bad room”
 of 5 bubbles 474susanf, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with one king size bed are spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles RussWatson, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the top floor, which was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles vovka1965, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“dont stay there”
 of 5 bubbles supercisp, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5