We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hotel Lancaster

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hotel Lancaster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Start your review of The Hotel Lancaster
 Click to rate
Meshoppen, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my stay of 2 nights at the Hotel Lancaster, and felt well rested each morning to walk 2 blocks to my classes at Quilt Week for the American Quilters Society. I liked that it was more quiet and restful here than right at the convention center. the staff was friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was nice.

1Thank Susan K
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your kinds words and are glad to know you enjoyed staying with us for the Quilt Convention. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year for the Quilt Convention!

upstate New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here during music festival called Roots and Blues. . It was a perfect location. Easy walking to all the different music venues. The morning breakfast was simple but done with quality. Local fresh bread, quality, fresh fruit, and quality. Our room was kept immaculately clean. There was a mini fridge and microwave in our room. Lobby was very...

2Thank annbee
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us during the Roots and Blues Festival! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next year for the Roots and Blues Festival. A tip - due to the popularity of the Roots and Blues event, you may...

Chatham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

The thing that stood out the most is how friendly and happy the staff were. They were quick to offer help with a smile. Seemed like they really liked working there. We stayed in this hotel several years ago and were pleasantly surprised to see all the changes. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our...

1Thank Praising212
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind compliments about our Team Members! We are fortunate to have such a great team who enjoy helping others to have a pleasant stay. We appreciate you telling your friends about us and we look forward to having them visit us when they come to Lancaster. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Come see...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly, comfy, clean, place to stay. Staff is helpful. Cold breakfast offers a variety of juice, cereals , breads, and muffins/coffee cake. Coffee and tea available 24/7. Parking extremely reasonable and convenient.

1Thank Gail D
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority so we are so pleased to hear that our staff succeeded in making you comfortable and happy during your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Folsom, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Lancaster is a beautifully remodeled hotel in the heart of downtown Lancaster. So many wonderful pubs and restaurants, plus galleries and shopping are all within easy walking distance of this hotel. The owners, along with all of the staff, are all 'hands on' and cannot be more friendly! The owners cleaned off tables at breakfast and shoveled snow...

1Thank nanbloodworth
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Don't stay here if going to Spooky Nook. The rooms are disgusting. Breakfast consists of one loaf of bread everyone has to fight over in a 3x5 galley kitchen. The staff is rude and if they know you are with a group for Spooky Nook they treat you like ugly step children. John Meeder should be ashamed to be associated...

1Thank John D
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We apologize if you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take your comments very seriously and tried to locate your reservation so we could contact you. We were unable to find your reservation. Please contact me directly so I can gather more information about your visit. My email is gm@thehotellancaster.com. Thank you.

Dexter, New York
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We had never been to Lancaster and booked our rooms not knowing what to expect. The hotel is located downtown and downtown is busy! We were expecting a slower paced Amish community but Lancaster is Busy! The hotel is in the heart of downtown and very close to many restaurants and is within walking distance to the central market and...

1Thank Susan F
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted to know you enjoyed our hotel and had a great time exploring Downtown Lancaster. Being located in the heart of the Downtown allows our Guests to walk to many terrific restaurants and pubs, shoppes, art galleries and theaters. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you stay...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 March 2017

wall plugs behind tables and cupboard both sets on both wall computer lamp yr own lap top cant be plugged in at same time telephone in room not working vicious Chinese man on phone when ordering take out no meat in the beef entrée no stationary no frig no bar to hold onto in tub

1Thank playwright150
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We apologize if our Guest room did not meet your expectations. Due to the age of our building, we try to provide additional outlet plugs in our lamps to allow for recharging. We do not understand your comment about your food order. At this time, we do not offer any food service within our hotel. We would appreciate you contacting...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Four years of quality care, nook and cranny clean, breakfast and courtesy allow us to look forward to our stay each year. We cannot rave about The Music without recommending our favorite place to rest! BTW, fabulous pillows!

Thank Virginia R
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We are so delighted to know you have stayed with us for each of the Roots and Blues Festivals! Thank you for making us your hotel of choice! Thank you for complimenting our Team and hotel and naming us your "favorite" place! Our pillows receive lots of positive comments and we are glad you enjoyed sleeping on them. Thank you...

York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This was our 3rd year staying at The Hotel Lancaster for the festival. Ideal location for visiting downtown Lancaster. Park your car in the adjacent garage and walk to venues and restaurants. Hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very nice, beds are comfortable. Excellent value.

Thank RussWatson
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5-Star rating! We are so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the third year in a row. Our central location in the heart of Downtown Lancaster makes is fun and easy to explore the city. We look forward to seeing you again...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (33)
View from Room (5)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (45)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Room/Suite (11)
Dining (3)
Other (16)


  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Address: 26 E Chestnut St, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602-2702
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Price Range: ₹ 7,839 - ₹ 12,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Maroochydore, Australia
Staunton, Virginia
Staunton, Virginia
3 months ago
Summit, New Jersey
9 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are good!”
, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have good views of the city.”
nanbloodworth, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I do not think there is a bad room”
474susanf, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with one king size bed are spacious.”
RussWatson, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the top floor, which was very quiet.”
vovka1965, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5