We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Robertson Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Robertson Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Robertson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We held our wedding at this majestic venue. What an amazing location, with grandeur, class and an ambience that we found to be priceless. Management (Lotty) was absolutely wonderful, prior ensuring she answered all queries efficiently helping us to feel at ease before and during the day. To the management at the hotel, and to anyone considering holding a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mino010
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

As there was a Private function we were unable to use the bar or dining facility. Walked (20 minutes) into town for dinner. Our room placement was directly above the party/function room. Hotel knew we were not part of the function. Could have put us on the second floor away from the function room. Music stopped at 12am & noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nads26
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Beautifully building and grounds. Let down by detail. Eg. Ironing boards and irons left in the hallway, communal showers need to be MUCH cleaner than what they are at present (talking about the 2nd floor ladies showers), wonderful dinner but served on cold plates, staff too casual. Also, there is no toilets in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank coko87
Lisa G, Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Coko87 Thank you for the review Here at The Robertson Hotel we take Guest feedback very seriously We are glad you enjoy the beautiful old building with the amazing gardens and surrounding areas We have made note of the house keeping issue and have appointed more staff members for general cleaning of the main areas and the bathrooms We...

Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately this place is run by a lady named Lotti who a lot of the guests found rude and she couldn't crack a smile. We got there a day earlier to set up the table decorations only for them to forget to order the table clothes for the wedding. They sorted it out but weren't ready for me to set...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mandylee001
Lisa G, Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mandylee001 We appreciate you taking time to address these issues that had arisen during you're stay at The Robertson Hotel We have since arranged a staff meeting to address these issues and working towards much better customer service We sincerely hope to see you in the near future under much better circumstances Thank you The Robertson Hotel Management

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We spent Saturday night for a gorgeous weekend wedding at the Robertson. It's got the old hotel charm, staff were pleasant and friendly, the grounds were gorgeous. I couldn't complain about this place since my expectations were managed. Only a few rooms had suites while the other rooms were communal bathroom and toilets. Even tho we were in the Heritage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
Lisa G, Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Vicky Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us for the wedding The wedding was delightful and look absolutely beautiful Thank you again Vicky T hope you can return soon for a little country getaway Many thanks The Robertson hotel

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Inexperienced staff. A Dry Martini made with Sweet Cinzano!! That's all they had. Two choices of mains for dinner - no entree. Main course and dessert cost $55. No wine list - only two reds to choose from - one awful at $30 the other somewhat better at $51 a bottle. 1920's bathroom no plug for the basin. Hilarious, really....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aallen232016
LisaGrantKotis, Public Relations Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allen, Yes, we have traditional and original 1920's bathrooms. That's part of the history of a building built in 1924. Hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful comfortable rooms and enjoyed the wonderful grounds at the property. We have 5 huge open fireplaces to sit by also, We hope you got to relax by them. We do not...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We booked into this hotel to attend a family wedding and was looking forward to enjoying a stay in this grand place. However the extremely poor process of booking a room and incorrect charges really spoilt our experience and our stay. We e-mailed our reservation on their booking form and after many phone calls and e-mail requests and up to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank donnaandjon
Sydney
Reviewed 26 August 2016

THE UPSIDE: gorgeous driveway, entry and property, lovely refurbished rooms, old boardinghouse charm. THE DOWNSIDE: common areas were chilly despite generous, good heating in the bedrooms. Stayed for the last Saturday night 'christmas in July' buffet dinner and had an enjoyable stay. Lovely country charm, beautiful property and fun overnight stay. Has nice period touches throughout without feeling shabby. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Upside_Downside
LisaGrantKotis, Public Relations Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear, thank you So Frenchy. So many guests enjoy the atmosphere and the history of the building, we are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay. Its not a modern building and this may dissapoint some people, but if you are after history and character from 1924, this takes you back indeed. We really appreciate the positive...

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Decided to meet a friend and get away to the country for a weekend retreat. Not too far to drive from Sydney. A lovely old style hotel with lots of history. A couple of fireplaces, where we spent a few hours just sipping wine and catching up. The restaurant food was way beyond expectations and very reasonably priced. The steak...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leiza L
LisaGrantKotis, Public Relations Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leiza, Thank you for your very kind review. its wonderful to hear that our guests enjoy the grand old manor. The building is full of history and has an amazing history since 1924. Its not a modern building and its wonderful to hear guests appreciate it for what it is. We look forward to seeing you again, come again...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful establishment in July, the grounds and the hotel are outstanding and the staff were brilliant very hard working but everything was lacking from the management, no personality, rudeness, seems she gets paid to just sit on her bum at front reception, hell the woman doesn't even own a smile, the young chap that was running around...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ghmkinnon

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
24.3 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
416 reviews
22.6 km away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
23.2 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
Peppers Craigieburn
#3 of 9 in Bowral
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
20.7 km away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
335 reviews
25.7 km away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Robertson Hotel

Address: 4575 Illawarra Highway | Conner of Illawarra Highway, Robertson, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly Fountaindale Grand Manor)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Robertson
Price Range: ₹ 7,577 - ₹ 18,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Robertson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Robertson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaindale Grand Manor Hotel Robertson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robertson Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Narooma, Australia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Robertson Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Heritage rooms have no TV, bathroom, toilet, a/c or fan.”
 of 5 bubbles 675victoriac, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Room 205.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieW945, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check if there are any private functions first. You may not get the rest & peacefulness you anticipate.”
 of 5 bubbles Nads26, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not relevant”
 of 5 bubbles aallen232016, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have a bathroom so ensure you read the room info first.”
 of 5 bubbles 19tonyj, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay