We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores

620 reviews
Save
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (12)
Overview
  • Excellent9%
  • Very good32%
  • Average37%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“spa room”(35 reviews)
“bowling club”(34 reviews)
“soldiers point”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (620)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
59
202
210
90
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
59
202
210
90
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa roombowling clubsoldiers pointbay view roomhotel restaurantshort breaknelson bayfamily roomgreat spotlorikeetsgrouponrampsalamanderjettyheaps
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
241 - 245 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

Check in was fine. Girl checking us in was by herself. She was good at her job. Got into room, bathroom was clean. Not a very secure entry door to the hotel room. Just a chain for the door for security no deadbolt or anything....More

4  Thank Jimjun27
Response from SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander ShoresResponded 28 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property and for your positive comments about our efficient reception staff. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 17 October 2014

Shabby.- Beds with indents, black mould on the edges of the shower glass, peeling paint, small CRT TV with "foxtel" on it but no foxtel, grubby looking carpet, threadbare settee in the room and dated clashing decor.. A great setting and gardens ruined by poor...More

3  Thank mark h
Response from SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander ShoresResponded 28 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property and it is unfortunate it didn't live up to your expectations. We do hope you enjoyed the water views and relaxing location during your stay. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 14 October 2014

Other than an excellent view over the bay, this hotel is dirty, overpriced and dated. The view was excellent but this did not make up for the general shabbiness of the hotel. The breakfast (included in the room price) was poor, with a limited selection...More

2  Thank Lee K
Response from SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander ShoresResponded 28 October 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased we were able to assist you with an earlier check in for your stay and you enjoyed the water views and peaceful location the property offers. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 12 October 2014

Disgusted with recent stay at this motel. In one easy step we were transversed to the 1980's. Box style TV with poor reception, old spa in the room that looked like it leaked over many years and the timber bedside table was water damaged. Clock...More

5  Thank James W
Response from SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander ShoresResponded 28 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property and it is unfortunate it didn't live up to your expectations. We do hope you enjoyed the water views and relaxing location. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 11 October 2014

Stayed here a few nights, staff was very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in a spa suite, it was very clean, but it was dated. Nice view of the ocean, multiple types of birds sat on our balcony railing and sang to us daily. Breakfast...More

Thank Lucy L
Response from SalamanderShores, Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander ShoresResponded 28 October 2014

Thanks for your review and your favourable comments regarding the customer service, buffet breakfast and the views! We are very lucky to be in such a peaceful location in Port Stephens which is home to a multitude of bird species and koalas! We hope to...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
14748495051123
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Beachfront
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Conference Facilities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room Service
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet Room
Self-Serve Laundry
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 93 - US$ 203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Stephens
Room types
Accessible rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 93 - US$ 203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Stephens
Room types
Accessible rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (12)
Pool & Beach (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jing X
5 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from monenaManchester | Reviewed this property |
We paid a little more for weekend, just paid directly when checked in, from memory $50
0
Votes
freemason2013
16 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Vaibhav M | Reviewed this property |
The best part is the view. The hotel itself is very old. Rooms are not likeable.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Get a room with a view of the Bay not a Garden room"
Read review
"Only 30 mins free wifi"
Read review
"Best rooms are on the ground floor backing onto the garden and the bay."
Read review
"at a 145 dollars a night look around"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing