We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Seas Motel

Certificate of Excellence
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
South Seas Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for South Seas Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Stratford
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Older motel - Lisa and her team make you feel welcome - a budget priced motel. Have stayed here numerous times - always neat- tidy and clean. Willing to take on buses - we fund raise for the Royal Children's Hospital - Victoria each year and stay here for three days at a time. Now branching into having families stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A7335XZjulied
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The South Seas is well located in the middle of Merimbula. It doesn't have an ocean view but it does have clean, well maintained and budget rooms. It also has a large BBQ area and heated pool. Worth a visit for a night or two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fell0w_Traveller49
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Here now. We booked 3 nights our first stay and loving every minute. Staff are just lovely and so central to everything would make this our choice every time we visit this beautiful place. It's an older hotel but very comfortable, a friend recommended to us and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lou2_10
Gippsland, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Travel a lot for business and leisure and for the price of the budget room considering how clean, neat, well presented, location and great bed, fantastic value. Reception staff very professional and passionate, will stay again and not hesitate to recommend. Fact that it has a microwave and basics like a toaster is a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R R
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed one night on my way through to Canberra with a group of friends. The reception was friendly and courteous and had my room key waiting on my arrival. The room was adequate but had certainly seen better days with paint peeling and a very worn bench top. The blinds were broken so that let in a fair bit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank markrichards1964
Leisa C, Owner at South Seas Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thanks for your feedback and I am sorry your stay was marred. I was unaware that the blind was broken and have already ordered a new blind to replace said blind :). The bench top in this does have a funny painted finish however on inspection of the room I could find no flaking paint. We are renovating...

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We only stayed one night as traveling through but will definitely stay again. A short walk to shops and a 10 minute walk to beaches. We even had a filtered view of the Lake. The Management were very friendly and helpful. Definitely value for $$$

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise R
St. Andrews Beach, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2015

I have stayed here twice in the last month and would highly recommend the deluxe rooms. The rooms are large and well equipped, and the last one we stayed in was recently painted. Staff are very helpful and nothing was a problem to them.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2015

From first phone call to book, through to check in, during stay, to check out everything was handled in a friendly and efficient manner. Stayed three nights in a very comfortable room with lake views from shared verandah. Makings for a very ample continental breakfast delivered to room night before was included in package.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoekiama
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We had 3 nights last week at this motel and it was fantastic. Thankyou Lisa for being friendly and welcoming. The location is great, it was a first time visit for 2 of us but the 3rd person goes to Merimbula a lot and always stays here. What's wrong with besser brick?? Again Lisa thankyou and we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pugs68
Geelong
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

Having paid a tariff well above it's worth because of Easter rates, I would rate this as an average at best motel. Appears to be the most outdated motel in Merimbula. Location is very good however and our room whilst very small was very clean. Would probably prefer to stay elsewhere next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimamo63

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
124 reviews
0.1 km away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 16 in Merimbula
128 reviews
0.0 km away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Merimbula
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#4 of 16 in Merimbula
93 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#11 of 16 in Merimbula
42 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 16 in Merimbula
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Seas Motel, offers Deluxe, Standard & Budget Motel accommodation as well as fully self-contained 2 & 3 level apartments. Located in the CBD of Merimbula on the 'Sapphire Coast' of Southern New South Wales. We are ideally situated, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Sydney Melbourne Coastal Drive Route. South Seas accommodation is undoubtedly Merimbula's best located Motel located in the CBD easy walking distance to everything from the Shopping Centre, Supermarket, Clubs & Restaurants. With the Lake located just 150 meters from the Motel and Apartments. Stay in and relax in the Garden and Spacious Lawns Area or on the Sundeck beside the large Solar Heated Salt Water Swimming Pool. Perhaps dining outside is more inviting, use the free BBQ facilities and dine in the large secluded outside dining area or use the newly renovated Function Room that seats 70+ people for your next, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking. Groups are well catered for with discounted Package Deals available for Fishing, Golf, Bowls, Whale Watching, Coach Tours, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking.South Seas offers 20 rooms with something to suit everyone from Travellers or Executives to short breaks, long stays or planning your next extended or family holiday. Deluxe and Executive motel units have individual cooking facilities; most Standard rooms have scenic balcony views. All rooms have Tea and Coffee, Toasters and Microwaves and direct dial Telephones. South Seas also offers a cooked al-a-cart breakfast delivered daily to your room or groups can dine together in the function room if they so desire. Wi-Fi Internet and BBQ are offered free to all guests.South Seas Motel offers clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and in a central location at a fraction of the cost.Interstate coaches stop directly opposite the Motel, while Merimbula Airport is within 2km. Why not enjoy your next visit to Merimbula by staying at the South Seas Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Seas Motel

Address: 12 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Price Range: ₹ 4,517 - ₹ 7,595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your South Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Seas Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor, water views, budget , or quiet room at the back, as desired”
 of 5 bubbles Gracar41, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose a studio apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles kenkP3004UK, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Merimbula Drive if you are sensitive to road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles simone_a13, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“rooms at front have own balconey”
 of 5 bubbles 352narelleb, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Save yourself and don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles DwyerMandy, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Agoda.com
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates