We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Hostelworld.comUS$ 48*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 67*
US$ 48*
Great Deal
US$ 67*
US$ 64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 444: English reviews
Start your review of The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Lovely hostel with alot of backpackers. Big place with many things to do. Not far from The city, only 15 min walk. They do have an buss that goes thru The day. Have an cafe with lovely smoothies and food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For budget accomodation, it does the trick. Warm bedding and room, warm shower and bathroom space. I didn't have a need for the kitchen or bar or cafe or tour booth or pool and spa or shuttle bus but i thought they were great offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place is hidden away in the bush, and is such a cool place to hang out. Great facilities and Claire at the front reception made me feel so at home. Definitely recommend a visit there! Thanks for having me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chez T
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had quite high expectations when I arrived and was a bit disappointed by the unfriendliness of some of the staff and the fact that you basically have to pay or pay a deposit for almost everything (mugs, pans, blankets, towels, wifi). I guess it's due to the fact that some backpackers have stolen things in the past but nevertheless,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent three nigths here during the easter break and had a wonderful time. The vibe is amazing, the location is unique, the staff is very helpful and although it is situated some way off of byron bay center that was not an issue. This is an ideal place for backpackers and I would highly reccomend it to anyone that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandersandvik
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Yeeewww! Five stars, thanks Alexandersandvik, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Took a bit to get use to with all the Turkeys and Lizards running around. My first impression was not very good but I have to admit, I had a great time there and would return. Kitchen is average. Cafe food is great. Talent night is a lot of fun. This is a unique hostel and one should be prepare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Robert - yes those lizards and turkeys win your heart! Glad you had a good stay. Happy travels :)

Haag in Oberbayern, Germany
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We spent 3 nights in one of the Teepee's at Arts Factory which was pretty cool. Unfortunately we got only a thin blanket and therefore the nights were freezing! (You can borrow a blanket at the reception if you leave your ID as a deposit there. But be careful: the staff lost my friends driver license) We also had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fussl_franci
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fussi-franci, thanks for your review, bummer we only got two stars, as it looked like you actually enjoyed your stay, especially if you are fussy! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Loved this place. So many hilarious characters. The staff were helpful and amusing. Plenty of activities if you chose to engage or if you just want to hang out and make new friends then that's totally cool as well. The only thing that sucked was the bottle bins getting emptied early in the morning but that's probably because I went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review Annie, I will remind them about emptying the bins too loudly :( Glad you enjoyed your stay - happy travels :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arts factory is perfect if you only want to smoke and drink. But if you're interested in clean rooms, showers or not living in a zoo, go somewhere ells. The cafe and the people are great though. There were about 15 spiders living in our room and birds on the roof every night. Sooo loud!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ida B
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Ida - not sure about living in a zoo?

Emanuel777
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great atmosphere, chill with lots of friendly people. The cafe had great coffee and food. The rooms and showers were a little dirty but the beds were clean and comfortable. It didn't look like the floor in my room had been cleaned in a long while. But then who goes to a back packers to hang in there room? Kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Emma, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will give your feedback to housekeeping, as all floors are cleaned (swept & mopped or vaccuumed) each day. Happy travels :)

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.0 km away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#5 of 64 in Byron Bay
397 reviews
0.8 km away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
376 reviews
0.8 km away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
1.3 km away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
447 reviews
1.0 km away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#22 of 64 in Byron Bay
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: ₹ 3,426 - ₹ 5,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
23 days ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My 6 bed female dorm was ok, located close to the bathroom and the kitchen!”
julierZ2423CP, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Private rooms were available if you want privacy, but probably not worth the extra $$”
E7104UHemmab, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The common areas can get quite noisy at night”
Merysapemu, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book ahead if you want your own room”
405chrisbbb, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't think it makes a lot of difference, all the rooms are on the most quiet locations possible of the building.”
rinkedehond, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 48* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 67
Agoda.comUS$ 64
Expedia.comUS$ 67
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates