We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Summerhouse

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Summerhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Summerhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2014

unlike what all the below people are saying, my husband and I (25 & 27 years of age) had the absolute most amazing stay. there was another couple there one of the night but did not even know. the breakie of fresh fruit, musli, local yoghurt, honey, organe juice and coffee was stunning and all you need. the ladies who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank courtney s
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased to read your stay was amazing and that you enjoyed The Summerhouse Breakfast experience. Appreciate your kind words about the service you received from our team, it is truly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived at The Summerhouse and were booked in a room which was next to the common kitchen and loungeroom and pool area on the ground floor. Later that night, there were several guests having a gathering in the common area outside our bedroom which made it very noisy and difficult for us to enjoy ourselves. The fact that our...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Graeme G
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to The Summerhouse. Please accept our apologies for other guests causing you undue discomfort. Privacy is paramount and we would be pleased to offer you a Premium Suite when you return to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Expensive, noisy, cramped. Overpriced and not at all what the pictures of the property would lead one to believe. We both felt the place was like a high end backpackers. We were booked for the weekend but stayed the (Friday) night and left in the morning. We would never stay again. David H

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank David H
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We would hope you would contact us at your convenience on 02 6685 3090 or email us at stay@thesummerhouse.com.au We look forward to hearing from you and apologise that you weren’t satisfied or afforded the usual high standard of service we provide. Mark Wood

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A bit disappointing. Too close to the Bangalow - Byron road, which is fast and noisy. The rooms were clean and comfortable but without a single item of decoration. The view was great and the breakfast pleasant. Overpriced and not the quiet country retreat we were hoping for. Would not return.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nic A
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and positive comments on The Summerhouse breakfast and room cleanliness. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay and we will improve our standards, wishing you the very best. Mark Wood

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A couple of days R&R at the Summerhouse was definitely not enough! Gorgeous location perched up on the hill, with a view of the sea, the lighthouse and the green countryside, this delightful oasis was perfect. The pool was gorgeous, and relaxing with friends on the terrace divine!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudyFD
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your experience at The Summerhouse. I was delighted to read that you had a terrific time with us. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. We look forward to accommodating you. Mark Wood

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Summerhouse Byron Bay. It is like staying in your own home, very welcoming with warm hospitality. The difference is, that it's perched on a ridge with spectacular views of the Byron lighthouse, the sea & the rolling hills.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LilianaGilbert
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you did have a lovely stay at The Summerhouse. We look forward to accommodating you. Mark Wood

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed peak season which explains the price tag but I was a bit disappointed. The views are amazing but we weren't able to enjoy them from our room as the windows faced into the open aired dining area which meant that all the guests dining could see into our room. There was also seating right outside our window so...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bstewart007
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Summerhouse. We are disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion however, New Years Eve can be a festive occasion. It is pleasing to hear that you did enjoy the views. Mark Wood - General Manager, The Summerhouse.

Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We had an overnight stop whilst on a road trip and found it very nice and accommodating. The staff were the friendliest I have come across so far too. The room was very nice and clean and as well the rest of the facilities throughout. The outdoor area is very nice with an excellent infinity pool with deck chairs to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heath W
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your acknowledgement of The Summerhouse staff who strive to provide high standards. We're very pleased you enjoyed the outdoor areas, we value you as our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood - General Manager

wollongong
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at The Summerhouse for a long weekend in Byron Bay. The view to the ocean from the main living area was great. We didn't try out the pool however it looked nice. The breakfast was excellent especially the fresh fruit and the chef couldn't be more helpful. We stayed in the apartment on the first floor and would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank escape123
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and The Summerhouse breakfast experience. Your kind words about the service received by our Chef is truly appreciated and have passed on your high praise. We look forward to accommodating you. Mark Wood

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable 3 nights in the superior suite and the bed and pillows were soooo comfortable. Janet and other staff were very welcoming and the breakfasts were brilliant with Byron fresh fruit and yoghurt. A great place to re-charge the batteries.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kay C
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased you had a very enjoyable 3 nights in the superior suite and found our staff were welcoming. Your compliments regarding the breakfasts have been passed on to The Summerhouse team.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
5.8 km away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
93 reviews
4.0 km away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
68 reviews
1.3 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
323 reviews
4.5 km away
La Vista Byron Bay
La Vista Byron Bay
#1 of 1 in Ewingsdale
162 reviews
4.3 km away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Address: 9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: ₹ 11,630 - ₹ 26,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summerhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Summerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summerhouse Hotel Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Summerhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premium Suite was exceptional”
drbeng2015, 13 May 2015 | Read review
“We chose a Superior room and were very happy.”
Fazel, 31 Jul 2014 | Read review
“we loved our room but we did see one room with a spa and would have booked that one next time.”
568WendyK8, 21 Jun 2014 | Read review
“A suite with private balcony is recommended”
johnlT252SO, 13 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Suggest trying somewhere else - you will get better for lesser cost.”
M4566OTdavidh, 1 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates