We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Ballina

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Ballina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 310: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks - Ballina
 Click to rate
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our waterfront studio was extremely small, dark and drab and very outdated. No room to put suitcases except on the 2 seater lounge and storage space and bathroom shelving is not adequate. Main entry doors difficult to slide and bathroom taps required maintenance during our stay. The maintenance man (Glen) was however very accommodating and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the level of space in the cabin, Liz. Should you wish to discuss your comments further, we invite you to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights with other family on water front van sites. Beautiful views and clean amenities. Easily the best caravan park in Ballina. Good camp kitchen/ pool with great water area for toddlers etc beside main pool and kids pool. Great tv room and games room if weather not good although games are $$ better off playing putt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rams1nat
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear you feel that we're best caravan park in Ballina! Thank you for sharing your review on our location, facilities, and staff customer service.

Cowra
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked an ensuite site for a week. Ensuite very clean and HUGE! Fantastic park for children with the water park a favourite. Generous sized site, felt very private. Will be returning in the future for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunlop3
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're glad that you were comfortable on the ensuite site and intend on returning! Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great clean park, with a great big camp kitchen, putt putt golf, swimming pool with water park, places to paddle board and bike riding. Games room for the bigger kids and movie nights. We only stayed overnight in a Hub cabin which was clean and spacious and well priced. Wish we had discovered this gem when the kids were a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripreviewer149
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that our park was well suited for a family holiday and that you were comfortable in the cabin! Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Spend 3 nights in a cabin. Nice little hideaway. Beautiful park right next to the beach. Very friendly staff. All the facilities you would like to have. A place that is nice and clean. Organized and well looked after. Great place to stay and relax. For families and couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthias S
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our location right next to the beach, Matthias. Thank you for sharing your review of our park!

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Just spent a weekend here with another 3 couples and children, staying in 4 separate cabins on the riverfront which was so peaceful and has a beautiful outlook. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was very large, probably one of the largest cabins we have stayed at in a holiday park before. We were very impressed by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernics
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear that you had a peaceful stay and very much enjoyed the cabin. Thank you for sharing your feedback and suggestions!

Hoppers Crossing, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Stopped at Discovery Lakeside Caravan Park in Ballina after 6 hours on the road . Excellent location for a much needed rest . The cabin we had looked out on the lake and we had a beautiful BBQ whilst looking at the view during sunset . The park is clean and tidy with great swimming pools and excellent for couples...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob180711
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words on our customer service and park, as well as the suggestions!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We had a lovely cabin on the water which catered for a couple. It was clean and comfortable for a couple. The water views form the cabin verandah was peaceful. The kitchen and bathroom were clean, however, could do with a decent upgrade. The staff were fabulous, friendly and helpful. Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystalice16
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we do hope you return for another peaceful stay!

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stayed in a few cabins before but this was by far the dirtiest and oldest thing we slept in. It looks like it hasnt been properly cleaned for 10+ years. The cuttlery drawers where very dirty and so was most of the cuttley, utensils, dishes and fridge. The bathroom was only cleaned very superficial. Piles of dirt under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonity
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the level of cleanliness and the cabins at our park. Please be assured that we strive to maintain the highest standard of maintenance and cleanliness at our park. Your feedback will be shared with the team. However, we're glad that you otherwise enjoyed the location, the waterpark, and the kids facilities. Thank...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

There are a few caravan parks in Ballina but we wanted a caravan site near the water with a cement slap. First impressions on the phone when booking and on arrival are important. Discovery Parks (Big 4) Ballina were excellent. When we arrived we were assisted by "Jessie" who was excellent. She suggested a few sites and asked us to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caravanerqld
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the ensuite, but pleased that you appreciated our level of customer service and enjoyed the views. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
2.2 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
158 reviews
2.5 km away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#12 of 20 in Ballina
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
2.0 km away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
1.8 km away
North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the sparkling waters of beautiful Shaw's Bay lake, Discovery Parks - Ballina offers a range of accommodation to suit all budgets including bungalows, cabins and powered caravan and camping sites, all with waterfront options. Park facilities include a swimming pool, waterpark, modern camp kitchen, jumping pillow, mini golf course, indoor games room, kids nook, TV room and gymnasium. Nearby activity options include cycling, paddleboarding, fishing, golfing or just relaxing by the pool. Discovery Parks - Ballina is a tranquil retreat where simple pleasures offer their own reward. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Ballina

Address: 25 Fenwick Drive, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Price Range: ₹ 3,469 - ₹ 8,639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Parks - Ballina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Discovery Parks - Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Ballina staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Campbelltown, Australia
Morayfield, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Ballina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Discuss accommodation style and age of facility before booking”
 of 5 bubbles 140lizr, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hubs were good (like a 2 bed cabin but roomy)”
 of 5 bubbles tripreviewer149, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would choose a larger cabin next time if staying longer.”
 of 5 bubbles crystalice16, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the cabins, camping is great. Maybe the deluxe cabins are worth they money”
 of 5 bubbles sonity, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“research best option for your budget”
 of 5 bubbles ceterpaple, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5