We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porth Avallen Hotel

Save
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (14)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Porth Avallen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
91
87
43
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
91
87
43
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsi highly recommend this hotelstunning views of the baycarlyon baybay windoweden projectsticky toffee puddingcoastal pathcharming hotelchoice at breakfastst austell baypiping hotclotted creamsunday lunchvery pleasant staycooked to perfectionfeel very welcomelong weekend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
101 - 105 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Hotel tired and we didn't feel it was worth the money we paid - which was extra for a sea view - but because we were on the ground floor meant people walked past our windows and cars parked outside!! Room was very 80s and...More

2  Thank Jacqui T
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. We had a room with a sea view which I would definitely recommend. The cooked breakfast was excellent and the meals served in the bar were good. I would have given five stars but...More

Thank Peter K
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We stayed in the Avellan Suite which we found to be excellently appointed, very comfortable and of course the views are tremendous. George was an excellent host very friendly, helpful and attentive, indeed all the staff were friendly helpful and the service was great. The...More

Thank Fiona T
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

After an horrendous night in a. B & B a local. taxi company recommended this hotel to me. I unfortunately only got to stay for two nights but look forward to returning next year for a longer stay. Hotel is lovely,my room was nice with...More

Thank Tina D
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We met friends for dinner here the other night. The public rooms are well appointed, and the view across the bay is spectacular. The food was also good, we had rib eye steak which was delicious, sadly there wasn't enough to for our men folk...More

3  Thank Geecee_7
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in St Austell
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 132 - US$ 247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 132 - US$ 247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (14)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dave T
Interested in reading your reviews. We booked in for 3 night's stay in June to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. On the third night I was woken at midnight and again at 6am by very loud fan noise appearing to emanate from just outside our room. There was no one to whom we were able to complain but at 6:15 a couple of the hotel workers arrived and heard the noise. I tried to complain on checking out but the owner/manager was too busy to see me and told his staff to get me to email my complaint. Needless to say my email and follow up recorded delivery letter were totally ignored. I am sending a final letter today and expect to be starting proceedings in the Small Claims Court in 2 weeks time citing "accomodation not fit for purpose" and "Loss of enjoyment of life". Do you think this is the appropriate action for me to take?
28 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Dave T |
I was not expecting a reply but to my final letter but George phoned me when he received it.He said my initial complaint was lost due to a computer problem in July and a manager leaving. He immediately settled my claim and... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Sea facing,and if possible the suite"
Read review
"We were in a rear wing extension, bit of a route march through narrow corridors ...prime rooms to the front"
Read review
"Pay a bit more for a view."
Read review
"go for a sea view room it helps to make up for the shabbiness"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing