We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scarlet Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Scarlet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,462: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Just back from a 2 day break at the Scarlet Hotel...we booked this on the recommendation of some friends and we were not disappointed. It benefits from amazing location overlooking the beach and the view of the sea is mesmerizing. The service was exemplary (nothing was a problem), the room was lovely and the spa treatments were all brilliant. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We will pass on your lovely feedback to all our teams. We have tried to hand pick a team that really care and have passion in what they deliver. We hope that comes across to all our guests. We hope that you will visit again in the future. Kindest Regards Erica Lappin...

London
Reviewed 5 November 2014

No review of The Scarlet can help but be clouded by the tragic loss of the three brave people who gave their lives saving four young surfers who got into trouble in the sea immediately in front of this hotel a few days ago. My thoughts go out to their families. This is a fabulous hotel. The stars are the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PriusExplorer
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you both, and as I said whilst you were at the hotel feedback positive and constructive is so very valuable to us, so thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are aware that our wifi can be sporadic this will be changing in the near future. Our head chef Tom would...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a three night stay at the scarlet following celebrating our silver wedding anniversary in September. The scarlet was our indulgent treat. We read lots of reviews and were pleased to find that they were accurate! We will recommend the scarlet to friends and family looking for a chance to really switch off and relax and we are already...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fantasticfloridafour
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Our warmest congratulations on your silver wedding anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to write the review, and give us feedback. It sounds like you took full advantage of all the facilities available to you and had an enjoyable stay. Hot tubs are beautiful in the day time to experience the wonderful back drop; however there is something about...

Somerset, UK
Reviewed 3 November 2014

We celebrated a milestone anniversary here and would certainly return. Having spent many family holidays at the Bedruthan Steps Hotel next door (which is owned by the same family) we were looking forward to seeing what they'd done with this newish venture and were not disappointed. With no kids allowed, this was the perfect relaxing break. The views are amazing,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blackfords
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Our congratulations on your anniversary. Thank you for your lovely review it sounds like a you had a wonderful time enjoying all the facilities. So pleased you braved the natural pool, a cold but great experience I'm sure! With regard to the heating within the hotel we did only turn it on around 6 weeks ago, but the weather has...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2014

I have wanted to stay at the Scarlet for a long time so I was delighted when my husband and I booked it as the last of our wedding treats following our wedding earlier this year. The location is beautiful. You really can't beat the views from all the hotel areas and waking up to the sound and sight of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mthcmb88
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, congratulations on your wedding. The view does have a great wow factor, as does the hotel. It sadden me that the service didn't feel like it delivered to the same level. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have the full experience that we pride ourselves on delivering at the Scarlet. The service is...

Richmond, Surrey
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Our second time at the Scarlet - last time was 4 years ago. There for 4 nights for wedding anniversary. As before the position and the building are wonderful. Spacious room (number 5) had a great outlook and had everything we needed. Food in both bar and resteraunt were delicious. Bit disappointed that there was no recognition that we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zouppy
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Happy anniversary, and welcome back! Thank you for your feedback with regards to us not recognising that you were returning visitors... it's rather odd for us that we didn't do this as it's something we are normally very good at, and I can absolutely understand you being disappointed, as we are equally upset that we missed it... If you do...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We came home today from Scarlet and I need to go back. The service was fantastic, the food was healthy and delicious and the spa was very relaxing. We never left the building for 3 days! Highly recommend the spa. We had a evening hot tub, copper tub and a short journey. We will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

It really sounds like you made the most of your time with us (the copper tub seriously has to be a firm favourite over the winter months. Such a perfect bathing experience for this time of year). It's great to hear that you're already desperate to return... Hurry back, and maybe look for us on Facebook... with regular photos of...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Following a long week at work and somewhat harrowing 5 hour drive under a 'red' travel warning it was a little disconcerting to arrive and find floor to ceiling windows being battered by a gale. They came into their own the next morning though with stunning views to the beach. The restaurant is excellent for breakfast, particularly if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen W
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you had a blissful time... sounds well deserved after a difficult week at work. We all deserve some pampering from time to time and I don't think there's much better than the hammam... such a wonderful, relaxing experience - I defy anyone to not completely loosen up on that gorgeous heated bed! Difficult to peel yourself...

Hereford
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We stayed for a week with friends so had a good look at this hotel. The architecture is modern and very striking both inside and out and makes the best of the views over the bay. very relaxing, no children allowed and when the staff said that nothing was too much trouble, they meant it. They were universally pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mainwearing
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time with us, and it's lovely to see that you recommend us so highly! I will pass your kind comments on to our team (please rest assured that we are working on our restaurant service, to get the consistently good service back that we are loved for!) We...

Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as a couple in June. Our room was beautifully designed and even had a sea view mini lounge upstairs which was lovely. The hotel felt indulgent, tranquil and for grown ups - perfect. The staff were excellent and focused on delivering a very special experience. All the staff were knowledgeable, engaging and intelligent which really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wg284
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you found us worth the drive, and had a couple of wonderful nights with us. It's wonderful to hear that we delivered such a special experience... that's exactly what each and every one of the team set out to do, so I'll really enjoy passing your comments on to them, and your feedback to the management team thank...

970 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (757)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (171)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Annella Indulgent Room (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Just Right Room (41)
Viewed
Natural Reed Filtered Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.2 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,108 reviews
7.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
447 reviews
35.6 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
141 reviews
34.4 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Price Range: ₹ 19,195 - ₹ 29,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Hampshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lots of different rooms, but pretty much all have a view. Ask the hotel staff”
 of 5 bubbles DavidCAnnahilt, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a "just right" room with a view to the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles U5159QYlaurac, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have uninterrupted sea views (from previous experience)”
 of 5 bubbles YolieK, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms have good views and we have found the 'Just Right' rooms have everything we need”
 of 5 bubbles Whyterider, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea Views and Bedroom with Tub with a view!”
 of 5 bubbles DavidF222, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5