We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scarlet Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Scarlet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,461: English reviews
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2014

...we want it all to ourselves! Wife, son and I spent Christmas here. 4 nights of full on R&R. The staff, either front of house, restaurant, bar or housekeeping cannot do enough to make your stay as relaxing as possible. The food was exceptional, better than the previous meals we have had. Especially the Christmas lunch and paired wines..mmmmmmmmm :)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baunton1
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Good Lord, I almost died when I read your title! It did give us all a bit of a giggle, thank you. It was lovely to see you all again, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your Christmas with us... we honestly couldn't do it without all of you brilliant guests, who really make the atmosphere, and this...

Reviewed 29 December 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Scarlet for our honeymoon as we were looking for somewhere not far away that we could hole up and crash after the wedding. We absolutely adored our time there and will be back for anniversaries and special occasions as often as we can! The food was delicious and exceptionally reasonable for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZakandHannah
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations to the both of you, once again, and thanks for choosing to spend such a special celebration with us. It's wonderful to read that you had a wonderful time with us, and I'm especially glad to read that you enjoyed the food and wine pairing so much - it makes such a difference... like tasting in HD! Lovely to...

banbridge
Reviewed 26 December 2014

went for a day spa package including 1 treatment, 1/2 hour in the outdoor hot tub and afternoon tea for £125. I went with friends for the day and we had a lovely time. Very good value for the whole day experience - we added in a light lunch - which was about £20 for soup and sandwiches - not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank codowner
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad that you all had a lovely, chilled out time with us, and I absolutely agree that it's best to set aside at least half a day (I'd really recommend a full day) to really make the most of the surroundings and the facilities with no need to rush off - especially after a relaxing and grounding treatment! I...

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2014

My wife and I took up an offer through Bookatable.com whereby the Scarlett were offering a lunch with sparkling wine at a cut-down price through November and December (I think). We had a superb lunch at great value in late November. We enjoyed it so much that we took 2 friends over in December. We've eaten at fine restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nigel, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and for also bringing your friends to try us, too. It's wonderful to hear that you had such a fab time, and that you're planning on returning to us next time you're over this way, and maybe even staying in the future. Next time you're over this...

Topsham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2014

When we first visited The Scarlet not long after it opened, we absolutely loved it. We recently returned, just for a single night, to celebrate my birthday. Our experience this time around was if anything even more positive. The quirky design, furnishings and original artwork have not dated at all, and the whole hotel is designed to take maximum advantage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarcM209
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed account of your time with us. It's wonderful to read that you had such a fantastic time, even better than the first by the sound of it... sounds like you really had the perfect birthday celebration. Do come back and visit us again soon for...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 10 December 2014

stayed at the Scarlett with my daughter for a birthday treat Enjoyed the overall experience but there is room for improvement for a hotel charging these rates The no tea tray in the bedroom smacks of gimmickry - it is frankly a pain to have to ring reception every time you want a cup of tea particularly as they consistently...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank betty p
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We value it as a tool that helps us continuously improve. I'm sorry that you found that calling for fresh tea was not to your taste. For future reference we are happy to provide a hospitality tray if a guest finds this more appropriate. I've updated your guest notes so...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2014

As 'locals' we got wind of an offer of lunch at the Scarlet for under £20 a head so off we went (proof of address in hand). The setting is amazing and you start to unwind as soon as you walk in with high ceilings and serenity pool view, as it's an adult only hotel the calmness was something we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Adrian K
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your lunch. I am sorry that you felt disappointed with the service in the restaurant - it certainly does not sound like our usual standard, and our team are usually known for the warmth and professionalism - in fact it's something we are quite proud of.! Therefore we are keen to have...

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Sitting in a wooden tub full of hot water with a glass of champagne and a view across the beach and beyond. What's not to enjoy. Fantastic afternoon tea and really looked after by the staff from the lovely young waiter in the shorts to the guy bringing our car right to the door for us....we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GillyZoe
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely to hear that you're coming back, and glad to hear that you had such a fabulous time. Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts here. See you again soon! Kind regards Erica House Manager

Reviewed 7 December 2014

I think it's all been said already! We had the most wonderful stay at The Scarlet. Everything about the experience was beyond our expectations. Take someone you love and enjoy an escape from mobiles and emails and remember what's important in life. It's the perfect place to recharge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honeythinks
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review... I don't think we could have captured it better ourselves... It's so important to take time out to just be, be it with a friend, partner, family member or alone. Do come back and visit us again for some 'us' time again soon. Warm wishes Erica House Manager

Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Everything was perfect about this hotel. Staff helpful and friendly and informal which made us feel very relaxed. Food and room beautiful, especially hot tub on top of the cliff - wonderful Judy and Les

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

The hot tub, especially this time of year when the air is so crisp, really is wonderful I agree. Thank you for your review. We really set out to create an experience similar to staying at a friend's home, with regards to comfort and relaxation, so it's great to read that that's how you felt). We hope to see you...

970 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (757)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (171)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Annella Indulgent Room (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Just Right Room (41)
Viewed
Natural Reed Filtered Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.2 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,101 reviews
7.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
447 reviews
35.6 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
140 reviews
34.4 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Price Range: ₹ 19,131 - ₹ 29,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Hampshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lots of different rooms, but pretty much all have a view. Ask the hotel staff”
 of 5 bubbles DavidCAnnahilt, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a "just right" room with a view to the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles U5159QYlaurac, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have uninterrupted sea views (from previous experience)”
 of 5 bubbles YolieK, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms have good views and we have found the 'Just Right' rooms have everything we need”
 of 5 bubbles Whyterider, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea Views and Bedroom with Tub with a view!”
 of 5 bubbles DavidF222, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5