We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rags Hotel

276 reviews
Save
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (276)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for Rags Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
176
75
19
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
176
75
19
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the harbourdressed crabpie nightgreat harbourlarge corner bathtasty mealbirthday meallollipopsbelly porklasagnesewing kitspur of the momentbig portionslast fridaybuffet stylelovely foodnice touches
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We loved our meal here. We ate in the restaurant (right next to the harbour) but the bar is just as nice. The staff were friendly and the food was amazing. It's all cooked to order so you have to be patient. The only advice...More

1  Thank UkAnnie888
Response from julied930, Owner at Rags HotelResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you for your recent review of your visit to us its great to hear you had a very enjoyable time and enjoyed all the food choices. I am sorry you felt you did not get the usual service at the table we would normally...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Sunday lunch at Easter at Rags starters mussels /mackerel pate /salmon all well presented and tasting great Mains /Sea Bass /Roast Turkey/Lasagne all excellent the staff were helpful the food was served quickly and it was a good day

1  Thank 942janel
Response from julied930, Owner at Rags HotelResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your recent review I am pleased you enjoyed your Easter lunch choices from the menu and the specials. Its great to hear you were well looked after and hope you will visit us again

Reviewed 16 April 2017

A bit tricky to find but well worth it. A cosy, well stocked bar, including 200ml bottles of champagne and a decent real ale. The whole ambiance is calming and the staff all very efficient and attentive. Both our evening meal the the breakfast were...More

1  Thank Bonzo B
Response from julied930, Owner at Rags HotelResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you eventually found us and that you enjoyed your time with us we do hope you will visit us again

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Called in for a spot of late lunch. Very welcoming, excellent food and good service. Both had different dishes. One was Gluten Free. Well worth it. Dressed crab was to die for. Good Burger and sides for me. Lovely view over the harbour. Dr BoB

Thank DrBobWinston
Response from julied930, Owner at Rags HotelResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your recent review its great to hear you had an enjoyable lunch and you were well looked after we do hope to see you again

Reviewed 15 March 2017

From a distance this looks like a "hen and stags" type hotel, set back from civilisation plonked in the middle of a carpark. It's a bit on the way out of town and looks a bit tired from the outside. However it is a spit...More

1  Thank David H
Response from julied930, Owner at Rags HotelResponded 19 April 2017

thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities also of the spa Theatre just next to us . I am so pleased the team looked after you well...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1789101156
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 116 - US$ 132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 116 - US$ 132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dd55dd
2 May 2017|
Answer
Response from julied930 | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your email we do serve lobster but we do require 48 hours notice at the moment as its not on the main menu but we can do it as a special order but it is subject to availability
0
Votes
Sheila T
13 April 2017|
Answer
Response from julied930 | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your enquiry we only have 1 small ground floor room and it is a double not a twin please do let me know if I can be of any further assistance kind regards Julie
0
Votes
Danidoodle23
6 August 2015|
Answer
Response from julied930 | Property representative |
Thank you for your message I am sorry but we are fully booked this weekend Friday and saturday please let me know if I can be of any further assistance kind regards Julie dyl
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Sea views give you a lovely view of the docks boats going in and out the habour"
Read review
"Restaurant only used"
Read review
"The corner harbour view room is the one to go for, if you're lucky enough, with a double aspect view."
Read review
"Didnt stay so can't comment on the rooms."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing