We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alma Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alma Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alma Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 471: English reviews
Pafos
Reviewed 3 February 2017

As we now live abroad, we stay at the hotel regularly when we come back to Stockport to visit friends and family. Yes the rooms are slightly dated in style – no down-lighters, no silver and black striped wallpaper, no imitation wooden floors or chrome TV's here – thankfully. What it is, is a comfortable, clean and tidy family run...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T B
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for posting your review, it is aways nice to read reviews which have been posted by guests that have visited the hotel on more than one occasion (it proves we must be doing our job right) I have passed on your positive comments to the managers in the appropriate departments. We will discuss your recommendation of...

Ampthill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The Alma Lodge is conveniently placed just to the south of Stockport only 10 minutes walk from Davenport railway station. This gives direct access by train into Manchester and you can leave your car in the spacious hotel car park. I received a very warm welcome and the staff were all friendly, courteous and professional. They did their utmost to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret R
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your very detailed review and such a positive one at that. We are pleased that you found the staff very attentive and the rooms spotlessly clean, we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and efficient team. Be assured we have taken your points on board regarding the smoking area....

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The staff were very welcoming and the room was extremely clean, warm and bright. The meal in the restaurant was very good and the portions were generous. The restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient and the price was very reasonable for food and wine. The water was obviously hard which in turn made the towels a bit rough. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisadams2016
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

A big thank you for your 4 Star review Being independently run ensures high standards are maintained throughout all departments, attention to detail and great customers service is paramount, we are so pleased you were able to experience this first hand while staying with us. The Alma team look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Jill...

Holbeach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

A great hotel for a two night business stay. I considered it good value for money.Warm and cosy single room with good decor and cleanliness throughout. There is good parking on site which is a great bonus. Very bubbly and friendly staff serving breakfast where there was a complete and varied range.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cleenman
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your great comments and scores we very much appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We are pleased you found the free on site parking a bonus. we hope to welcome you back in the future (please always request a refurbished room) Kind regards Jill Tavini

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Booked a single room & was given a comfortable twin bedded room which was great with all my luggage. Great to have a bath! Only thing missing were glasses for water. Apparently there should have been plastic ones. I could have asked but had already got ready for bed!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IslandMichele007
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased to read your positive comments and apologize for housekeeping having missed the plastic cups in your room, we hope you were able to use the tea cups instead. Kind regards Jill Tavini

County Laois, Ireland
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

My self and my partner stayed here for 1 night we arrived at this hotel at approximately ten o clock in the morning wrecked as we had been traveling since 2 o clock they previous day !on arrival we went straight up to reception to tell them we had arrived and that we would like to check in !we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avrilryan26
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Naturally l was disappointed to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations but l feel many of your issues are unwarranted and l would like to address them directly. Check in Check in is from 2pm unless you have pre arranged to hold your room the night before (there is a...

Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and were accommodating as company whom gave us appointment got timings wrong. Decor a bit dated but clean. We went early morning and then returned early evening. Had a ramp for accessibility and automatic doors for disabled guests.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank citizenleaders
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you have taken the time to record your experience at the Alma Lodge Hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to fulfil your expectations. Kind regards Jill Tavini

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Had to change lots of things about the booking really last minute and the owners were really understanding and helpful and let us cancel a room with no charge. Room was really nice and breakfast was good. Overall very impressed

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah C
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted, that you chose the Alma Lodge Hotel for your visit to Stockport and are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. In addition, we are glad that we were able to cancel your extra room easily with no charge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, kind regards Jill

Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I wish I'd stayed here before when visiting Stockport; I didn't realise it was such a nice place. The twin room was really nice, large and clean and quiet. The staff are really friendly and there's a lovely atmosphere as you walk in the front door, with a welcoming fireplace and armchairs. The Italian restaurant has excellent food and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue W
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I visited for my friends wedding awhile ago was a lovely evening the room looked amazing was decorated beautiful didn't rate the buffet much thought I'd prefer more of a choice each to there own but would visit again no doubt about it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kirstiebailey

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockport hotels
2.2 km away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
221 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
0.2 km away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
844 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
4.0 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming 3 Star Hotel Restaurant Conference & Events venue which encapsulates all the elegance & style of a bygone era Carved oak panelling & open fireplace creates a welcoming ambience Our 52 bedrooms are comfortably furnished & equipped breakfast is complimentary & Wi-Fi is free. Versatile event facilities comfortable accommodation & friendly service all these amenities has earned the Alma Lodge Hotel & Restaurant its enviable reputation as one of Stockport’s premier venues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Price Range: ₹ 5,310 - ₹ 6,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alma Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Alma Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms the farthest from reception are excellent, very spacious and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 685sandream, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was 31 and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lyndahawkes, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we did not stay over”
 of 5 bubbles shaljones, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the annexe, so not sure if this is why it was so quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SueW639, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 30 was nice and quiet with only a little road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulineY274, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5