We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 370: English reviews
Start your review of George Hotel
 Click to rate
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I found the hotel was kept in very good order, comfortable bed and I stayed in a delightful third floor room that was very quiet. Being a Wetherspoons hotel you have reasonable priced evening meals and a good breakfast to start your day. Bathroom spotless and good shower to use. One disadvantage is that there are no bedside cabinets -...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philM4108WF
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Took family on spur of the moment , although husband not keen . He classes all Whithspoons as not good , but was pleasentry surprised.good food reasonably priced, excellent service, although wery busy. Grandson a very fussy eater cleaned the plate and asked for pudding .we all did the same .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit We are very pleased you enjoyed it and that you received excellent service throughout. We hope to see you again!

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night, when we arrived our room wasn't ready but we were a couple of hours early . The receptionist kindly offered to look after our bags , when we came back to the hotel a couple of hours later she had taken our bags up to the room for us. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria662014
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 302, beware of this room. Not only are there a ridiculous number of narrow steep stairs there are also heavy fire doors. There wasn't any offer of assistance with our bags or even to have the doors held. The room itself is basic with an en suite (up another step, not good in the middle of the night). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to read of your disappointment following your stay with us. Our rooms are very different and unfortunately it can be quite noisy at the front of the building. We are a very old building which is why we have so many stairs but I'm sorry if you were not offered any assistance with your bags. Regarding the...

South Petherton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was entirely my mistake. The receptionist was certain I had not booked to stay in February. Someone with the same name had booked to stay in March. Oh dear. At four in the afternoon on a February Monday, you mght have thought that demand in rural Bewdley would be on the low side. But entering this rambling former coaching...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 576davidjames
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely old hotel right in the centre of Bewdley. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, as always at Wetherspoons. The food was always good and a also a good selection of real ales. Very child friendly. Our second visit, but not our last.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DickieSmig
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back another time.

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a 1 night stay, we stayed in room 304 on the top floor room is sold as en-suite however in reality you walk up stairs and the bathroom is one side of the staircase and the room is the other side and be warned ceilings are very low. There is no lock on the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lexx08
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry to read you were disappointed with you room. All our rooms are en suite but your room was slightly different as is it is a superior double room. Our other double rooms do not have a private staircase and small landing between the bedroom and...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When on Business I always look for spoons Hotels nice old Buildings many rooms have large Baths. Nip down stairs for a meal and a Beer .the George is set in a nice location near River seven Free car parking just get a car park pass from reception.well recommended Hotel

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very pleased you enjoyed it and would recommend us. Hope to see you another time when visiting Bewdley!

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed at various Wetherspoons hotels. We have been greeted by large, modern rooms, a kingsize bed, a stunning bathroom and all-round great facilities. I am sad to say that NONE of this applies to The George Hotel in Bewdley. All the beds are 4ft (small double) with the worst mattress I've ever experienced. Didn't sleep...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsramone
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. I'm so sorry to read you were disappointed with you room. Unfortunately due to the age of our building and due to us being one of the original Wetherspoon hotels, our rooms do vary a lot in size and shape, and our décor is different...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Second stay at the George in two years. Did a Friday to Monday this year. This time up on 3rd floor. Bit of a trek up the stairs particularly with luggage. Rooms were surprisingly spacious. Small private landing between bedroom and bathroom. Mind your heads! Architecturally full of character. Double wardrobe but no drawers in either bedroom or bathroom. Where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian4310
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the weekend! And please do not hesitate to ask for an alternative glass if you prefer! See you next time!

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
1.7 km away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
3.4 km away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
433 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
748 reviews
21.3 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
354 reviews
7.5 km away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Load Street, Bewdley DY12 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Price Range: ₹ 3,079 - ₹ 5,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn stay just went for meaj”
 of 5 bubbles Y3776TKjuliel, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take your chance but avoid 302 !!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles naomim574, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See the room before you hand over your card”
 of 5 bubbles 576davidjames, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a standard room with a shower.”
 of 5 bubbles Geoff122, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you need a accessible room ask! It was well appointed. The quirky routes for the wheel need explanation.”
 of 5 bubbles 8Linda8, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5