We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Castle & Ball Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Castle & Ball Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 568: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Four of us ate in the restaurant of the Castle and Ball on Friday evening and enjoyed excellent food and friendly service in informal surroundings. The chilli salmon on warm sweet potato and kale salad was particularly delicious. We will definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazmik J
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The castle and ball is our local , we've been going there for the past three years on a Friday for a drink and some food with friends and sometimes a Saturday, it was very good , the foods good value for money and usual very good, lately though with a change of managers its gone down in quality the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthonyslisa
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have not allowed or stopped any different customers coming in. The man that had the fall has been a regular for many years, and I'm very sorry you have to witness him falling. We don't have any people on a 'ban list', and this is the only incident we have had that I can...

Bay Area, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for several weeks when I was in Swindon on business for a few months, I got sick of the plastic hotels in Swindon and trying to find somewhere pleasant to go in the evenings. This hotel feels more like a very large old house and the rooms are all different. I would recommend this hotel over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cageordie
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. And we agree about the pillows, we've actually just ordered 72 new ones! That's a lovely review of our hotel and town, all of the staff are very proud of both. I hope you and you wife will find a reason to visit the area.

Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We always eat in the Castle & Ball when in Marlborough the food is always very good and well priced. However, this week our Ultimate Fish Meal was anything but. When the food arrived, the batter on the fish was completely over cooked, the scampi done to a crisp, completely tasteless, mushy peas and chips were hardly warm. Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeannieG123
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you had a disappointing meal with us, mistakes can happen and I hope you sent the meal back so we could replace it. I will bring this up with the Head Chef and we can go through ways of avoiding it happening again. I hope it hasn't put you off and we see you agagina soon

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a table in the bar area at this hotel- very reasonable lunch food and drinks- pleasant staff- a regular favourite when we are in the Town. We choose from the full menu-starters and mains- but the cheaper menu seems very good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
Hull
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Used the room booking for my adult son and granddaughter to stay for 3 nights. The room booked had to be changed on arrival as the hot water did not work in the bathroom. The rooms as expected, are very old and traditional i.e. The floors are not level etc. Which is part of "ye olde" attraction. The beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Broughies
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The room prices do vary depending on time of year, day of the week and events going on in the area. We were refurbished a few years ago and are now going round all areas and redecorating where needed.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a ground floor room, room 3, was very happy with this nice and big and comfortable, loved the 1970's dralon armchairs great to sit in and watch the high street.Didnt eat in the hotel for dinner, one breakfast on Sat was superb, Sundays was'nt cooked!.Tried a beer in the hotel but was cloudy and head with bubbles similiar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbluenose62
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear you liked your room, it's easy to waste time watching the world go by, especially being able to do it from a nice warm bedroom! If you stay again you can call ahead to see if the same room is available

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good setting for visiting places like Avebury and walking on the Ridgeway. Very friendly staff. Good food and good service. Felt relaxed and liked our room (at the back so nice and quiet). Parking behind the hotel was a bonus too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, walking around Avebury is lovely, especially at this time of the year. I hope you will be back soon for another visit.

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mother had booked for the family to stay over Christmas, including dog.. Christmas is a hard time for Staff in hospitality,but the calm friendliness, helpfulness, and level of professionalism displayed by Manager Jim , the excellent Kara on reception, and every other member of staff is as good as any we have received in much swankier establishments. A special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to have you all here for Christmas, and I really hope you will all stay again soon.

Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although we didn't actually stay a night at the Castle & Ball, we dined there on NYE and had a beautifully cooked meal. Even though they were of course very busy, the dining staff were friendly, professional and attentive and the entertainment was just right. Lovely atmosphere and location. We'll be seeing you again no doubt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June H
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We all really enjoyed New Years Eve, great to hear that you did too! We lok orward to seeing you again soon.

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
23.9 km away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
261 reviews
11.2 km away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
393 reviews
9.0 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#15 of 30 in Marlborough
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#4 of 30 in Marlborough
83 reviews
8.6 km away
The Marlborough
The Marlborough
#12 of 30 in Marlborough
87 reviews
8.9 km away
The Bear
The Bear
#16 of 30 in Marlborough
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Castle and Ball
The Castle and Ball
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Extensively refurbished early 2012 and situated on Britain’s widest high street, The Castle & Ball has had a fascinating past dating back to the 15th century, with some of the original oak timbers pre-dating the Spanish Armada. The building’s age accounts for some individual features including the splitlevel brasserie-style restaurant. The hotel’s walled Beer Garden at the rear provides a relaxing setting for those looking to enjoy a drink and a meal alfresco-style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Castle & Ball Hotel

Address: High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Price Range: ₹ 6,207 - ₹ 10,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle & Ball Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Castle & Ball Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle And Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel Marlborough, Wiltshire
Castle Ball Marlborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Castle & Ball Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Coventry, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Castle & Ball Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's an old coaching inn so stairs are a bit off the level, if you're unsteady on your feet get ground floor room. No lift.”
 of 5 bubbles peterpY1867GC, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good parking”
 of 5 bubbles bbbarbara2014, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back, but even then the floorboards may keep you awake”
 of 5 bubbles djclio, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms quieter and don't sleep on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Lizalugs, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quieter at the rear. Although the town in general is quiet after closing times. So front rooms do not suffer much noise.”
 of 5 bubbles lindadD7755UC, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay