We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Castle & Ball Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 98*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Castle & Ball Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 605: English reviews
Start your review of The Castle & Ball Hotel
 Click to rate
DISS
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On first impressions it does not excite the traveler, but does tend to grow on one. Menu rather limited and unadventurous. Bedroom and bathroom clean. Beat point is free car parking in the centre of Marlbrough. Almost value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWGDiss
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have known the Castle & Ball for over fifty years, having attended Marlborough College in the 1960s. The staff are always helpful and friendly with a sense of humour. However, the bedrooms are in need of refurbishment. The decoration is very tired and the carpets are worn. The bathroom had been patched up with hardboard attempting to conceal the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in whilst passing thru for a quick Sunday lunch with the family. Looks a nice place and was very well appointed. Friendly staff and prompt polite service. That's the good stuff. The meals - four roasts - were shocking. We'd had a very busy weekend so hadn't managed to eat properly for a couple of days which was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your roasts, I will speak to the Head Chef and discuss what went wrong and how we can avoid it happening again.

York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting stone henge and other bits in the area. We were very happy with the hotel. It isn't what you would call luxury but you can't expect it to be with the age of the building and I'm sure they have certain restrictions as to what they can change. As a result of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your room not being serviced, this is something I will discuss with the housekeeping team. Thank you for your lovely comments, it's great to hear you all enjoyed staying with us.

east sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is rather a late review as we were promised a free weekend to prove that our experience was not to their usual standard, on phoning this was downgraded to one night. We stayed for 3 nights, smooth check in, nice room, at 5.00 am the first morning we were woken by alarm going off, fire alarm we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weekenderEastSussex
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that the fire alarm woke you at 5am, but this could not be helped as the fire alarms are in place to detect a fire for the safety of our guests. The fire alarm will cause the hot water to stop due to cutting off the gas, again for the safety of our guests. The problem with...

Reading
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in for an early dinner and felt very disappointed by the whole experience - the food was very average and the service was poor. We were served by 3 waiters, none of whom seemed remotely interested in what they were doing! A request for mayonnaise resulted in a nearly empty bottle being dumped on the table; a side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 56Marilyn
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your disappointing experience with us. I can assure this is not the norm, and I hope you will give us another chance to get it right.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the Castle and Ball is really a hotel (and looks quite nice, although I haven't stayed there), the downstairs bar offers some good classic pub food in generous quantities at good prices. Beer is very good, too, and no complaints about the service. Easy to find, too, smack in the middle of Marlborough's main street. There's a car park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I will pass on your compliments to the team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The double room was spacious, with a very comfy bed. The en-suite was also a reasonable size, with plenty of space for your 'stuff', and included a bath, which was very welcome. The decor in the room was rather bland, and lighting in the bathroom was a bit dim. Breakfast time was quite busy, but very well managed by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Highrise61
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was great & excellent value for 2 nights. Very spacious room & lovely large bathroom. Breakfast good - very friendly staff. I have left a separate review for the restaurant which I was very disappointed due to one member of staff at the bar. Unfriendly, no smile & not very helpful. I have stayed in 3 Old English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fromeperson
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review

Please see the review response on the pub page.

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Marlborough Town on a sunny Sunday afternoon just for a walk about. We sat outside the Pub on the High street watching the world go by with a pint and ended up having a late lunch at 4pm in this nice Pub. Unfortunately as we were late eating, all the Sunday roasts were gone! So husband had the mixed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
10.6 km away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
931 reviews
5.5 km away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
413 reviews
7.2 km away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Dorwyn Manor B&B
Dorwyn Manor B&B
#1 of 5 in Avebury
63 reviews
0.2 km away
The Marlborough
The Marlborough
#16 of 30 in Marlborough
97 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#13 of 30 in Marlborough
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Castle and Ball
The Castle and Ball
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Extensively refurbished early 2012 and situated on Britain’s widest high street, The Castle & Ball has had a fascinating past dating back to the 15th century, with some of the original oak timbers pre-dating the Spanish Armada. The building’s age accounts for some individual features including the splitlevel brasserie-style restaurant. The hotel’s walled Beer Garden at the rear provides a relaxing setting for those looking to enjoy a drink and a meal alfresco-style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Castle & Ball Hotel

Address: High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,378 - ₹ 10,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle & Ball Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Castle & Ball Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle And Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel Marlborough, Wiltshire
Castle Ball Marlborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Castle & Ball Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Coventry, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Castle & Ball Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We prefer rooms overlooking the High Street (rather than the car park) but they could be noisy with the windows open.”
PhilipN97, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay at the Hotel, only ate at the Pub”
teresar294, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“good meeting place and good food, helpful staff”
677margo, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Room 3 which is on the ground floor and can be seen from the street and a bit noisy.”
TunbridgeWellsTrevor, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Breakfast is a little slow as cooked to order. Get you order in soonest.”
andrewfoxon540, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 98* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 98
Booking.comUS$ 98
Hotwire.comUS$ 98
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates