We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Craiglands Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Craiglands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

918 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 911: English reviews
castleford
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Went to craigland hotel on Saturday for a afternoon tea got it if groupon it was not bad we had 3sandwichers each and the rest was cakes it would have been nice to have a bit if savory as well the coffee was only Luke warm we did not take the car we went on the bus they said it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conniecastleford
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed over with my wife on a Saturday night, using a Groupon voucher which we'd been given as a Christmas present. It's a very grand old building but inside there's very poor attention to detail. Our double room was very small, but had a corridor leading from the room door to the bathroom, with the bedroom also off the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidLNewcastle
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Was really looking forward to my birthday night away unfortunately this hotel spoilt everything.the first room given was very very small run down and not cleaned .Was moved to a larger room but still dirty ,old run down and creaky. Dinner not much better had to wait more than an hour between starter and main.orderd morning call and newspaper and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noel A
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I must apologise for the, experience that you had here at the Craiglands, myself and my staff try to make every guests stay as pleasurable as possible and I am sorry that on this occassion it did not happen. I have taken the issues you had up with the relevent staff and we hope to welcome you back...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a nice (but short) stay at the Craiglands. The bed was comfortable enough and the room was neat. The bathroom was clean and the shower a good one. We didn’t have dinner there, so can’t advise regarding that. The cooked breakfast buffet was fresh and tasty. We found the staff to be friendly. Parking was a bit complicated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mariam M
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for you review, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will be able to return to stay with us again in the summer months, if you would like to contact the hotel directly for the best available rate. Kind Regards Chris Dodgson General Manager

Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We went to Craiglands for a weekend break away. We found that the staff were very attentive, and gave personalised service. Food was delicious. Rooms were spacious, though en suites were not as great as the rest of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethany S
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team, it is always great for staff moral to hear lovely comments such as yours. We hope to welcome you back to The Craiglands Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Chris Dodgson General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Took my wife there for afternoon tea as treat on Valentines day 2014. Very disappointed with the experience. Tea for two cost £19 using the Groupon offer, apparently at half normal price. Even at £19 it was expense for what we got. As we don't drink alcohol, we were not offered an alternative to the prochetta advertised on Groupon offer....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shabir A
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your valued feedback, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. I hope that you were able to mention the fact that you were not completely satisfied whilst still in the hotel so that we were able to rectify the issues you felt you faced. We are very proud of...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I won a valentines package at the hotel which included 3 course meal, champagne and chocolates and b&b. We were running late as tragfic was horrendous and called ahead to advise of eta. The lady on reception was wonderful, and even asked if we would like her to ask the chef of be could stay in so we wouldn't miss...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie W
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, I will be sure to pass your comments onto all departments involved that made your stay so enjoyable! it is always great for staff moral to hear wonderful feedback such as yours and we do strive to always make our guests enjoy their experiences with us as much as you...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were lured to the Craiglands hotel by a Groupon voucher and had high hopes as there are a great many venues in Ilkley that are favourites of ours. I noticed in someone elses review that the afternoon tea was listed at the same price as on the Groupon voucher anyway, which makes it seem like a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you felt you did not receive the best service or product on this occasion; I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return and see the usually great service that we always aim to achieve. In regards to the...

Louth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Following previous poor reviews I was slightly concerned However the room was spacious warm and the bed very comfortable .Both evening meal and breakfast was well cooked and presented. Staff all friendly A very pleasant weekend break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne J
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review it is always wonderful to hear when our guests have enjoyed their experience when staying with us. We do hope to see you back here again in the near future. Kind Regards Chris Dodgson General Manager

Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I looked at the reviews after I had booked as this was a hotel deal online and the price was excellent. However I had real concerns over the reviews and ratings. I found the staff helpful, rooms clean with some minor faults as this is a old building and must be expected, the food was very good in an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-juke

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel
7.9 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
8.5 km away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
13.2 km away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Price Range: ₹ 4,320 - ₹ 9,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Craiglands Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior rooms are well worth the extra payment. We had a great room and the views were expansive.”
 of 5 bubbles Pasodoble13, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“north facing as you get the view of the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles emmaW6330LO, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“needs a update to rooms”
 of 5 bubbles makefitltd, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check if there is a wedding on when you stay and ask for a quiet room if so.”
 of 5 bubbles StoneyJ176, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 121 is big and has a huge bed, modern bathroom and blackout curtains”
 of 5 bubbles DebraW708, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay