We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Black Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Just eaten in the restaurant. We had 2 courses from the Al a Carte menu. Starters we had soup Green pepper and Chilli absolutely gorgeous. Really creamy with a warm aftertaste. For mains we both chose the Ribeye steak that was cooked to perfection. Acompliments were chunky chips garlic mushroom vine roasted tomatoes lambs lettuce. Very generous portions. Starters were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GBW9
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear GBW9 We thank you for taking the time to leave a review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We very appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Ordered the fish cakes and stuffed chicken breast from the fixed price menu (£23 for two courses). I expected a nice dinner but was served a truly memorable meal - very tasty indeed. My friend had the scallops and duck from the main menu and was also impressed. Great food and great service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slb66
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear slb66 We are delighted to hear you and you friend enjoyed your meal with us. It's always nice to surpass people's expectations! We hope it's not too long before we see you again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This place is really a hidden gem. First class service from reception to the bar staff. Rooms very well decorated and very pleasant, spotless. The restaurant is fantastic, the food is amazing and as I said the service is second to none! The beer garden is a lovely area well worth a visit. Great place well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewartfraser
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Stewartfraser We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and your kind comments regarding our rooms, service and food will be shared with the team here. We hope to welcome you back to The Black Horse Inn soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Stayed for one night on a travelzoo deal. Decent room perhaps needing a little tlc in some areas. Wifi worked ok when we switched the booster on! Dinner was included and we paid extra to order off the a la carte menu which was pretty good especially the cheese board. Enjoyed breakfast even more - very friendly service. Seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank princewobblebottom
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear princewobblebottom Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your particular mention of our cheese board, breakfast and the friendly service you received. It's true, some of our rooms have low beams but that comes part and parcel with being a 17th century coaching inn! If you let us...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed at the Black Horse Inn in July16 having got a deal on travelzoo for evening meal B&B. We were accommodated in the cottage! Very disappointing the room décor and furnishings were very tired and could have been cleaner. I suppose the moral is if you don't pay a proper price you don't get a good room!! I went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worrall1
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear worral1 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you did not like the courtyard room you were given. We are in the middle of refurbishing many of our rooms and if you voiced your unhappiness to a member of the team, we would have happily moved you. We are delighted to...

Reviewed 26 July 2016

We checked in with a pleasant lady who showed us around and told us where the restaurant and bar was and then took us to our cottage room which was across the road from the inn. It was charming with all the usual amenities, plenty of space to move around, comfy bed. Bathroom was spacious with bathrobes provided, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank linda g
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear linda g Many thanks for your charming review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday with us and it was our pleasure to organise a little birthday treat for you. We also appreciate your kind words about our staff and we shall be sharing your positive comments with all the team here. We look forward to welcoming...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This is a lovely and charming restaurant theres little rooms where you can have a private meal with friends or family .there is a good al a cart menu also a fixed price 2 &3 course set menu..The food on both are well presented and of good quality,the haddock and chips is like a whale but there is a smaller...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11oyd
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear 11oyd Thank you for your review. We love your analogy of our haddock being like a whale! This is one of our most popular dishes and you can see why we offer a smaller portion! We hope it's not too long before you visit our restaurant again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Aberdeen
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Stayed for a night and had an evening meal and breakfast. Had one of the courtyard rooms, which was nicely decorated, beams were a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and food was very good, would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swannie67
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Swannie67 Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you'd consider staying with us again. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Huddersfield
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Just want to acknowledge our enjoyment at our friend's evening wedding celebration at The Black Horse. Everything excellent, lovely function area with bar and very friendly and efficient staff. The hot buffet food was delicious and plentiful, everyone we spoke to enjoyed the evening. I'm so pleased the team at The Black Horse looked after our friends on their special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrierjez
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear terrierjez, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at your friend's wedding. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself and we appreciate your kind words about our venue, food and staff. We hope you will visit us again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Just spent a night at the Black Horse at Clifton, Brighouse on a special deal. We arrived mid afternoon and checked in. The receptionist asked if we had been before .We said no so she told us the way to restaurant and bar and showed us our room. The room was clean and a good size with tea / coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davetrucker
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Davetrucker Thank you for your positive review of your stay. We are delighted you and your wife enjoyed your stay. We thank you for highlighting the good service you received from staff members and will be sharing your your kind comments with Molly, Damian and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.7 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
273 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
9.0 km away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
5.6 km away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Price Range: ₹ 4,862 - ₹ 9,400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single bed rooms perfect for the solo business traveller”
es488, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have a lazy morning and let the traffic on the M62 clear, breakfast is worth taking slowly, it is good!”
jwlasseter, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take earplugs and eye mask.”
C_GNorthYorks, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the larger rooms, some are quite small”
775kingarthur, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Champagne House away from the road.”
S1310EWdebbies, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5