We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Expedia.comUS$ 54*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 68*
US$ 54*
Great Deal
US$ 68*
US$ 55*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 240: English reviews
Start your review of Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
 Click to rate
Marseille, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At the begining was great, we arrived everybody were nice and friendly. We had an all inclusive with food and drinks during 3days. Then we had a problem with our shower the first day , it was not working . They said to us they were going to send us someone but we had to wait 2 days... We realize...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJones n
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Resort. We thrive to be the best and are always training our staff, etc... I understand that staff get to personal once they get to know you and think they can joke around like that, instead of staying professional. Tourism is new here and we are doing our...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are even considering this place don't bother. I've never had a worse experience with staff in my life. So many things went wrong and no one even tried to help or fix it. Staff were unhelpful and got every order of food wrong, and we were told it was our fault. The drinks and food are overpriced, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch. It was unfortunate that there was a flash storm, which turned off the power, and the resort was full. The issues were fixed immediately. Your friend already wrote the same negative review 2 reviews earlier than this, so below you will also find the reply to her, which...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An incredible all-inclusive experience close to the beaches of San Juan del Sur. Great food, swim up bar, tasty cocktails and relaxing tunes. There is free shuttle into town if you need it a few times a day and they can help arrange trips further afield too. A nice alternative to the dirty and chaotic San Juan town and certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jadk001
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I don't usually write bad reviews, as I work in the service industry and understand that sometimes this happen that aren't ideal. That being said, our stay at Surf Ranch Resort was beyond disappointing. First off when we arrived there were two towels in the bathroom, we had four people staying in the room. The food menu seemed quite good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RN484
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is unfortunate to hear that you had these experience and first time that it was brought to my attention. I just talked with our onsite manager, to clear this up to make sure it does not happen again. I will go over each point below. 1. The resort has an onsite generator, as the power goes out...

Huntsville
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked through another website and when we called to see about a shuttle they said they didn't have our reservation. Finally got the problem resolved and they upgraded us to the deluxe room which was great and had its own private rooftop with a hammock. Couldn't get wifi in the room, but could up top. The wifi works great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vern128
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Service was excellent, I arrived earlier than check in time hotel manager Joselyn managed to accommodate us science we had a very rough night earlier I was very lucky to find one room small but cute, no TV but excellent for two people, was the only one left. For $30 dollars you can add the all inclusive don't forget to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DIANA S
West Kelowna, British Columbia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We had such a great time at the surf ranch! Even the 3 hour hotel taxi service from the airport was a great experience. Everyone working at this little resort was very helpful and friendly, and the simple foods they make have great flavour. It's a short taxi ride to town, and even town isn't touristy at all. The surf...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassy498
Oceanside, California, United States
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We rented one of the casitas at Surf Ranch and had a wonderful vacation. We loved having a resort right outside our door and enjoyed all the activities they had to offer. The climbing wall was a blast and my husband enjoyed a couple hours of paintball with some guys he met on our stay. It was easy to arrange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Surf Ranch San Juan Del Sur is hands down one of my favourite places to go and relax for a day and enjoy the pool. Its only about a ten minute drive from down town San Juan. They have a fun skate park and a rock climbing wall. Great pool side cold drinks and food not to mention they run...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethania G
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am glad you got to receive the experience that our guests have come to know and love. Looking forward to your return. Thank you.

Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

1st at check in they make you sign a form that says that they are not responsible for nothing. Theft injury nothing. $20 per hour if you check out late. I pre-paid so I had no choice no refunds stuck for 4 nights. This place is the biggest ripoff I have ever encountered. 1st night at dinner and drinks I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank joeloenicacano
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I spoke with our manager about this, and she mentioned that it was difficult to deal with you, although they did everything they could. We thrive to offer the best customer service, but the resort does have policies that we need to abide by. Let...

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
7.5 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
142 reviews
2.7 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
311 reviews
4.9 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
220 reviews
10.4 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
10.8 km away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surf Ranch in San Juan Del Sur, features Nicaragua's largest skateboard park, rock climbing wall, private gym, jungle paintball, volleyball court, world class restaurant & bar, swimming pool & swim up bar, poolside cabanas, standard rooms, villas, and deluxe condos. The Surf Ranch offers many extreme sports and activities such as surfing, skateboarding, paintball, sailing, fishing, yoga, rock climbing and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Address: Empalme de El Valle, 991.5 m al Este, San Juan del Sur 47008, Nicaragua (Formerly Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: ₹ 3,374 - ₹ 7,850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think AC is standard in all rooms, but if not, definitely worth springing for.”
DS31488, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were put in one of the last available rooms for booking, which did not have air conditioning. There was enough air circulation to make it comfortable, however.”
400mirandab, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the deluxe condo was the best!”
magisan03, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a safe.”
654neilw, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“standard room was perfect for me”
Globalgoddess316, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 54* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$ 68
TravelocityUS$ 55
Hotels.comUS$ 55
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates