We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Ariki

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Casa Ariki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of Casa Ariki
 Click to rate
Granby, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We didn't reserve before coming at San Juan, we just found it as we were walking to find a quiet Hostel! This is a perfect place for people who are looking for Peace, tranquility, good prices and confort 😍 actually we paid 25$ for a private room and we were alone with this big perfect casa 🙏🏻 Gracias a Dios!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This is a slightly faded guest house with about five or six rooms, making it a friendly and quiet place to stay. We had a private room with shared bathroom for 25 usd and slept pretty well for the three nights we were there. No hot water. Kitchen is well equipped and there is free coffee in the morning. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shmatherine
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We stayed at Casa Ariki for three nights as we explored San Juan del Sur & the surrounding beaches. Compared to other locations in Central America the sand is fine & the gradient is low so you can walk out in the calm waters. This makes this area of Nicaragua perfect for families. That is actually who we saw enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erik V
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We booked two rooms for two nights but we only slept one. The bathrooms were dirty as well as the rest of the house...bugs on the floor. The roof of one of the rooms was leaking all night, soaking one of the beds. It wasn't the first time that happened that is for sure. The manager just turn the mattress!!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nilof22
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback. There had previously been a leak in that room which we had hired someone to fix. When it rained the night you stayed, and leaked over the bed, then we knew it had actually not been fixed. We did not purposely let you stay in a room with a leak and are very...

Toledo, OH
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Two friends and I stayed at this location in June 16. We stayed in a three bed room with a bathroom, a/c, and television. The bathroom was just fine, nothing special. The beds were pretty dated. The cleaning crew never really checked our room. They did have wifi and free drinking water available. The location is in town but far...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GiggaMan
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I can't rate this place as we did not get a chance to stay there as they cancelled our reservation before we arrived. I booked this place through a online booking website, I received an email back that afternoon that the reservation had been confirmed. We had a early shuttle out of Leon to San Juan del Sur the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshleyDawn84
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review

Hello Ashley! Thank you for your feedback. As we are a very small hotel (only 5 rooms), it is sometimes hard for us to honor last-minute bookings such as yours. Unfortunately, the booking site you used does not allow us to not allow last-minute bookings. We work very hard to accommodate our guests and as you mentioned in your post,...

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at Casa Ariki for three months earlier this year. The owners Sarah and Baldo are amazing. They were always thinking with me when I decided to go to Costa Rica or Mexico for a bit and wanted to leave my bag at their place. They are very flexible and they can tell you all about SJDS. Baldo knows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilian E
Uhlstadt - Kirchhasel, Germany
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We stayed in Casa Ariki for 6 nights. The staff was really nice and helpful. The room was ok, but we missed fly screen on the windows. We didn't use the A/C because it would have cost 15 $ more. It was a bit warm during the night but ok. In the kitchen you can find everything you need, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja G
Granada, Nicaragua
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed two years ago excellent room and large kitchen clean and tidy. Family owned and good staff Nice balcony upstairs to read or chill. Stayed again twice in downstairs room with ac and tv with private bathroom.only comment would be that our room was in need of a facelift but a nice hostel in good central location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 07jenny752
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

I'm so happy to have checked out of this location, it caused me sadness knowing I had to return there for 2 nights to sleep. I'm not sure which improvements the managers are talking about, our room looked like a prison cell. Felt dirty and dingy. The curtain was barely hanging on and was transparent, people could see directly into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aphillips28

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
146 reviews
5.1 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
139 reviews
0.2 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
160 reviews
0.5 km away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only two and a half blocks from the municipal market of San Juan del Sur and only three blocks from the bay, Casa Ariki is a home away from home. With five private rooms and beds for up to 17 people, we offer a laid-back environment to relax and enjoy your time in San Juan del Sur to the fullest! In addition to comfortable accommodations, Casa Ariki has free Wi-Fi, a guest kitchen, a common area with boardgames, books and magazines to borrow, a balcony on the second floor with an incredible view of the town's rooftops, free coffee from Matagalpa and friendly staff. Want to rappel down a cliff, surf, ride horses or view the ocean from the tree tops? No problem! Our staff can set up rappelling tours, surf lessons, beach transport, horseback riding, canopy (zip line) tours, fishing and much more! We're sure that when the time comes to check out, you will leave Casa Ariki reluctantly, wanting to come back again and again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Ariki

Address: From the Municipal Market, 2.5 blocks South | Del Mercado Municipal, 2.5 cuadras al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: ₹ 3,799 - ₹ 7,861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Casa Ariki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ariki Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Ariki staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Ariki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Keep track of the remote to the air conditioning unit!”
 of 5 bubbles arieljohnston, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Our room was #5, maybe the other rooms are better.”
 of 5 bubbles DominicD353, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Two if the rooms have private bathrooms, while the others are shared. Worth the money to have your own restroom.”
 of 5 bubbles windym_17, 21 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Room 1 with a private bathroom was perfect, two sets of bunk beds and a full(?) sized bed. Very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 97AshleyB, 16 Mar 2013 | Read review
“Room by the stairs has its own bathroom, sleeps up to 6.”
 of 5 bubbles JaclynO759, 16 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5