We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 401: English reviews
Hamburg, New York
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Our initial impression of the hotel was great. Then we approached the woman behind the counter about reserving a room and she shooed us to the other young lady working on the other sider of the counter. The second young lady was reluctant to be helpful and had to be asked more than once to please call to see if...

2Thank Jennifer B
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

We stay here all the time we are in Erie. The staff is excellent and the cost is very affordable. Not everything in life is perfect and the ignorance that some plastic people post about this hotel is false. We love the hotel location and staff. They are always fir the guest.

1Thank hitthejackpott
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you kind words! It is heartwarming to see our repeat guests staying with us. Even though we are not a 5 star hotel we try to uphold a continued level of customer service. We appreciate your business an d look forward to serving you for many years to come!

Reviewed 1 February 2015

I have been around including Africa, South America, Australia. Two years in a row for a event & both times bad. Dirty & not well maintained. Bath room walls cracked, mold, etc. Another person on are floor, shower would not shut off then flooded the area. They Were told over a hour before maintenance guy can showe up. Oh no...

1Thank Abeast
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. We would love to have you back to enjoy a stay in one of our renovated guest rooms. Our hotel has not completed all renovations but we anticipate to in the future. We offer a hot breakfast buffet on the weekends and I am sorry to hear that you did...

Moon, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

Hideous, disgusting, filthy, old, nasty! I could go on & on! Over priced. I will never go there again. They told us that they don't even rent out rooms on the floor that we got because they need redone so bad and they overbooked so they put people in there anyways there was blood or something on the walls. beds...

1Thank Mary M
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We thank you for addressing your concerns and we apologize if we were unable to meet you standards. We hope that you will re-consider staying with us again so we can show you what we truly have to offer.

Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We stayed at the Avalon last minute after our couch surfing plans fell through. We had a mid-renovation Deluxe suite, and it was fine. The tub was a bit dirty, and certain choices, like having no available towel racks/hooks, but overall the experience was tolerable. It was located close to great food and directly across from the Erie Playhouse. Staying...

1Thank SaeraDanae
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your offering your thoughts and we appreciate your feedback. Our hotel has not yet finished renovations but we hope to in the future. We are also looking into offering some additional amenities. When they are complete, we would love to have you back again!

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Quick overnight during a trip to Buffalo. Excellent nights sleep and hat seemed to be a classy enough place. Room as clean as expected. Relatively quiet and secure. Downtown location but it is only Erie so even downtown is not a difficulty to navigate.

2Thank richard d
Reviewed 14 January 2015

There are many things happened to me in this (MISERABLE HOTEL).. 1) I found it a dirty rooms the cleaner are really bad. The dirty came while the manager know. I told the manager I saw a mouse in my room, but she ignored me and said: "impossible I will told the housekeeper". Nothing happen until I catch it then...

3Thank Abdullah A
Franklin, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Excellent party! Everything was a class act! Please continue to offer this package! The food was excellent. The DJ was top notch and the staff was helpful and courteous throughout the evening. The value for what we received was exceptional!

1Thank Nevin R
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that you brought your New Year in with the Avalon! We will continue to host our annual party every year and we hope to see you again you to bring in 2016!

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 19 December 2014

Stayed here in 2011 and could only give it a C. This past Thanksgiving we were back for an evening. Remodeling shows this older facility in a much better light. While probably never going to be a high quality stay, it certainly meets the need for those looking for a close, clean accommodation in the downtown area. Parking in dark,...

1Thank TTinToledo
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your continued business and will work hard to provide all of our guests with the best customer service possible. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you for years to come

Reviewed 20 November 2014

I've stayed at the Avalon a few times since it is very close to the Erie Insurance Arena (about two blocks away) but haven't gotten around to writing a review until now. I stayed there again recently and had some good and bad. Overall, my stays here have been positive and I enjoy staying here especially given its good location...

1Thank JB8588
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to address you stay with us here at the Avalon. I would like to apologize for the substandard service you received from our staff. It looks like we need to brush up on our customer service skills. We are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary parking and breakfast and hope that you visit us...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (91)
Room/Suite (24)
Bathroom (7)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Dining (2)
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (39)
Room/Suite (8)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Dining (2)
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
5.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
208 reviews
1.6 km away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
7.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Erie
7.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 W 10th St, Erie, PA 16501-1402 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Price Range: ₹ 4,220 - ₹ 6,874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles Cruisingrace, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I call hotel directly.”
 of 5 bubbles KayD11662, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay the additional small amount for the superior room”
  • Note the damaged wall on the right.
  • Some rough spots, but overall an okay bathroom
 of 5 bubbles coasterlink, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ok for a cheap place to sleep but not worth the $95 it cost; should be more like $75.”
 of 5 bubbles edied2013, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“AVOID this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles marb_11, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay