We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Powerhouse-Kunjithanny Road, Chithirapuram, Munnar 685565 India
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (197)
Room & Suite (88)
Dining (10)

About

#5 of 21 in Chithirapuram
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are situated in the valley of green shades of Chithirapuram near to the supplementary river of Periyar called the 'Muthirappuzha'. We are providing you trekking through the Forest Mountains with genitivally divers. We are 13 Kms away from Munnar, and this location is well connected by road. We are just 95 Kms away from the Kochi International Airport and 120 Kms away from Kochin city. Nearest railway station Alwaye is 100 Kms away from the location We have a very nice farm yard, where you are very close to the freshness, and the calm and peace full fragrance of the spice garden. 2.5 acre property surrounded by the home stay, The home stay, which is now 4 years old, has cozy and simple rooms and its construction is only 14 years old. It is encircled by cardamom, nutmeg, glove, coco, coffee and pepper plantations, imposingly tall trees all around and has virtually no other building in sight. Out of the home stay’s 3 guest bedrooms, two are independently located and attached by a common area. These rooms are ideal for small families due to their apartment-like character. The home also has an open-air seating area in the backyard with the view of majestic mountains all around.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Bottled water
Iron
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
169Reviews1Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 45
  • 9
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sivaguru wrote a review Jan 2022
Tiruchirappalli, India1 contribution
Wonderful to stay Hygenic and food top class Wonderful sight seeing from room Kindly treated by santhosh ( owner) Wondeful gardening Will suggest my friends to stay here Home food Spices garden backside was amazing
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Gunasekaran wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
We, two families stayed at "The Shade" resort at munnar during Jan' 22. The stay was very satisfactory refering the cleanliness, homely food, their hospitality and friendly nature. We would go for the highest rating, and we also recommend others also to choose "The Shade" to have a satisfactory stay
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Ellery R wrote a review Jan 2022
8 contributions
Calm, serene, with an amazing view! The room was clean and hygeinic. Breakfast was good and tasty but the location was far from the main road and its hard to travel. Especially when we visited there we didnt have a vehicle . Aside from that all was well. Definitely feels like home not the typical hotel i may say.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Apoorva D wrote a review Jan 2022
8 contributions
+1
I found The Shade a very good place to stay. Calm, beautiful place with equally good owners. My family liked the place; and its surrounding is very good. Breakfast was tasty. Requested dinner superb, Should stay there at least for two days. Memorable experience. Owners take full care of tourists. The place is picturesque. Good place to see beautiful sunrise. Cleanliness awesome. God has blessed The Shade in 'God's own place', i.e. Kerala. You can't ask for more from The Shade, because it offers more than required for tourists. I wish abundance to the owners. I recommend to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Manjusha Q wrote a review May 2019
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Location was very good but facility is not like any hotel where customer get basic services like daily room cleaning ,arranging bed, changing towels and lot many other small things. It’s homely stay . Food is nice and homely but with limited choices.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from theshade, Owner at The Shade
Responded 29 May 2019
Thanks for your review, but you have sum miss understanding mum this is not a hotel this is a home stay and the service is very limited, when you stay in a star hotel it will be available as you mentioned above like daily room cleaning, daily bed arranging etc. we are providing things what you need in a home if you need anything extra you should ask it. As you said, we cleaned your room daily. You are Wright, we have some limitations of food here we have only traditional kerala sought Indian style, no things like Chinese or continental foods it is available only in hotel, and 60% of food items and spices is from my own garden.
Read more
Ré N wrote a review Feb 2019
Chilches, Spain26 contributions17 helpful votes
Captive audience. Away from everything you are like a prisoner in a golden cage. Golden cage. The location of the SHADE-villa is indeed very beautiful, views are impressive, you have the silence and the singing of the birds. But then you are at 400.- roupies rickshaw from the center of town, which makes 800 (more than E 10.-) to go and come back. And you are rather far away from the tea estates... Of course the SHADE provides your dinner... There you are trapped. Stingy breakfast - stingy dinner Dinner menu for 4 (four) people: For 4 people we got - 2 tiny bowls of potato-curry, one spicy, the other not spicy; - 1 tiny bowl of salad, that was refilled; - parathas I asked for rice. Answer : NO rice. - No rice in Kerala! A guest had brought a watermelon - so we fed on watermelon... For breakfast next morning, we got the same tiny bowl of potato-curry we had not finished the night before - toasts, butter, a little chunk of jam, and tiny bananas. A glass of fruit juice and one cup of tea.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from theshade, Owner at The Shade
Responded 28 Feb 2019
Hi sir many thanks for your review, you are a 76 years old man we all given respect to you during the stay at my home. And your statement 100% rowing, I am not an enemy, you stay in my home only two nights, I think we have no mistake and we have Anny mistake I am very sorry. How to write wronging statement like this Mr René Scheidegger? I am very sad because very silly matters, your very experienced man in the world many time visiting in india by tourist visa but you’re not a tourist sum thing business, violation of Indian visa rule.. First day dinner dal curry, potato stuu, pappadam, cabbage thoran chapatti and rice etc. 2nd day sampar , salad and parathas and paratthas heavy food because not make rise. If the first days dinner was worse why don’t you go to a restaurant and have dinner their? And I am not charging anything 2nd day dinner. My breakfast I think not bad every day two item one kerala item and one or two fruits one fresh juice butter jam bred and tea or coffee an unlimited quality. How do you know that 800rs is charging to munnar and you did not go to munnar by tok tok , you came from cochin by taxi and 2nd day gone to sightseeing by taxi, and 3rd day called tok tok gone to 3.5 km and bus stop .its charge 80rs , And finally story of water melon, we have other guest he bought a watermelon because he will eat fruits in night only.
Read more
thereviewer1994 wrote a review Jun 2018
Dundee, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights in June. Welcomed by the friendly host and his family and checked into our room which was very clean with incredible views across the hills and valleys. Breakfast was included but we had dinner each night at an extra cost. All home cooked and plenty of food! We had breakfast on the balcony overlooking the hills, perfect! The owner organised a trek for us with a local guide and and gave us water for our day our. Also helped us with troubles we were having with a taxi driver. Very helpful and would definitely return! Slight issues were the room seemed damp but this might be due to visiting in monsoon season. Also there was a slight smell of sewage coming from the sink.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
OscarBoothby wrote a review Apr 2018
London, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
The Shade is perched on the corner of an endlessly winding mountain road, poised like one of the many greater racket-tailed drongos that clasp the leaves of palm trees around it. It makes the most of its excellent location. Huge windows surround its rooms, giving them a tropical outpost vibe. There is something magical about living among the canopy like that. Santosh and his family were unfailingly helpful and we enjoyed the food we ate there (particularly the plentiful papadums that we greedily devoured, crumbs and all).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Jean D wrote a review Feb 2018
Comox Valley, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shade. Wonderful mountain views, hiked in the tea plantations, swam in the river, had some delicious home-cooked dinners, there's a nice 5 km circle walking route we did every day as well. Our host was very helpful, answered all our questions and arranged a driver to take us to Varkala.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Wendy L wrote a review Dec 2017
Norwich, United Kingdom37 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed here as we wanted somewhere more remote and touristy than Munnar. The journey getting there by bus was not something I want to repeat - Indian bus drivers do not seem to fear death in the way other mere mortals do! However, the views at this homestay were amazing and I am really glad I made the trip. We were there on our own the first day and had a brilliant breakfast served on the terrace. We didn't venture far that day, so we had dinner there too and that was equally delicious. There isn't a great deal to do in the area other than admire the scenery, and that is just what we wanted - however it might be a bit too remote for some people, and Munnar is a good 20-30 minute away. The following day we were joined by some other guests and we all ate together in the house - again, the food was lovely. The host is very friendly and helpful, and gave us a view of his land and explained what he was growing. He also gave us some helpful travel tips. I wish we could have stayed longer as I would happily have sat on the terrace reading my book and enjoying the wonderful sights and sounds. The accommodation was also clean, modern, and well equipped - with a lovely hot shower and fabulous views over the valley. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: My husband and I had the end room on the ground floor - brilliant views from the picture window.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$28 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaIdukki DistrictMunnarChithirapuram
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Shade
Which popular attractions are close to The Shade?
Nearby attractions include Tea Gardens (4.9 km), Kalari Kshethra (1.1 km), and Punarjani Traditional Village (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Shade?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Shade?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Shade?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Shade?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saravana Bhavan, Rapsy Restaurant, and Hotel Sri Nivas.
Does The Shade have airport transportation?
Yes, The Shade offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Shade located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Chithirapuram.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Shade?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Shade?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does The Shade have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.