McKenzie River Inn

McKenzie River Inn

49164 McKenzie River Hwy, Vida, OR 97488-9608
Traveller (25)
Crockery and glassware.
Room & Suite (9)
Kayaked right to the inn pulled up right on the lawn
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in Vida
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Three acres of lush grounds and 460 feet of river frontage surrounded by old growth forest highlight the historic McKenzie River Inn. Our (artist-) retreat-workshop program offers teachings and instruction from various artists famous for their work throughout the year. The 700 square feet studio is utilized with work benches, easels, and leather sewing machines and our outdoor courses, like painting classes, take place on our patio in spectacular surroundings. Cabin rental Spacious and private, the cabins offer a variety of accommodations that may include decks, whirl-pool tubs and full kitchens and are pet friendly with private bathrooms. Parking is provided in designated area’s next to your cabin. We offer free WiFi, high speed internet in and around all buildings including the riverfront.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Beach
Badminton
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Adults only
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Boating
Canoeing
Golf course
Horseback riding
Skiing
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German

Location

49164 McKenzie River Hwy, Vida, OR 97488-9608
64Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 11
  • 3
  • 9
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ashley S wrote a review Dec 2012
Yelm, Washington, United States
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We purchased the living social deal and just returned from our weekend at the inn. I was very nervous about what we might find after reading the reviews here so I wanted to add mine as well. As soon as we arrived at the river otter cabin and walked in, I immediately understood the smell so many people have described. Let me clerify that it is not a dirty smell at all, it smells exactly like my great grandmothers house! It is just an old country home smell, we bought a candle and it didn't bother us at all. We panicked a little the first night when I went to open the wine and realized I didn't bring a corkscrew, until I opened the drawer in the kitchen and found that they have everything! We ended up rumaging through the cabinets amazed at how thoroughly the kitchen is stocked! pots and pans, covered dishes, colander, wine glasses, silverware, knives, seafood forks, corn on the cob spears, etc. That alone made us really appreciate the small detail they provide at the inn. The tv downstairs had a dvd player and a vcr as well with a few movies too, there were board games and puzzles in the linen closet for the kids, extra pillows and blankets. I believe the river otter is the only one that is 2 story, but upstairs was the master bedroom which was very spacious. It has a small tv, and a chair that overlooks the river which is literally right outside the door! The bathrooms are plenty big enough and the master has a shower stall with very good water pressure (the water however does not warn you when it runs out of hot water. It just turns cold. lol) My only complaint really about the entire stay was that the master bedroom does not have a door. (It is still semi private since it is upstairs and there is a walkway into the room before you see the bed anyhow). Overall my husband and I decided we would love to come back....in the summer! In december there was almost nothing to do without driving 45 min to an hour. We did very much enjoy our family snowball fight but Vida has very little to offer. Gas was ridiculously priced in the town. The Vida Cafe was really good and the hostess there was a lovely woman who was very sweet to our children.
If you look around you will find a cobweb here and there, as you would anywhere in the country, but if that ruins your stay, you should really stay in the city in the first place. We enjoyed ourselves!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caddisfly07 wrote a review Jun 2011
Portland, Oregon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After having read some of the reviews of the McKenzie River Inn, there is a note of truth in many of the criticisms and praises. Yes, the furniture is dated, and yes, there are some bugs in the bathrooms. Some screws need tightening here and there. The McKenzie River Inn is situated in a forest, nestled in 3 acres of riverfront property, with fruit trees, plenty of paths to explore, and plenty of fishing right in front of the property.

Do not have preconceived notions that this is the Ritz Carlton, or a fancy B and B decorated in Laura Ashley with potpourri in every room. The beds are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are clean, but some are dated. When we had extra people in our room, the hosts brought the rollaway bed and extra towels right away.

The reason why we return to the McKenzie River Inn is the warm hospitality and the outdoor amenities that are offered by the Inn. These include the two fire pits with lounge chairs at the river's edge, outdoor grills with all the necessary supplies, rafting or guided drift boat fishing trips down the McKenzie with Bert. Bert taught us how to fly fish, and just as importantly, how to clean fish. His wife taught us how to cook up the trout. Ellie made us a great breakfast with homemade applejuice. It's not fancy, but it is well compensated for by the excellent hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1Beammeup wrote a review Oct 2014
Eugene, Oregon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The simple yet very adequate accommodations on the lovely McKenzie River was the perfect getaway for our anniversary. Crystal clear gently cascading water over multihued stones brought kayakers and rafters merrily past our deck as we enjoyed the sun. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: These are all small cabins with one duplex. All on the river. Don't expect luxury, but revel...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BertdeKlerk, General Manager at McKenzie River Inn
Responded 14 Oct 2014
Thank you for your positive remarks. Your words and impressions are a great addition to our web description. We hope to see you again soon at our spot on the McKenzie River in Oregon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OrDuck99 wrote a review Jun 2013
Eugene, Oregon
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife reviewed the McKenzie River Inn on June 26, 2013 and gave it a two star rating, more than generous for what this B&B had to offer. I won't rehash the negative comments that she wrote with the title "Cheap quality. Poor service. Way over-priced." What I would like to concentrate on is a five star review that was rushed quickly onto the website on the heels of our negative review. I draw your attention to the June 26, 2013 review titled "So amazing we changed our plans to stay longer." The reviewer claims that they came into Eugene, Oregon to attend their daughter's graduation only to find all of the hotels in the city were booked. As a resident of Eugene, a city that has more than enough rooms to accommodate the floods of people coming in to observe and participate in the Olympic trials, I highly doubt that there were no rooms available in the City of Eugene. It leaves me, as it should you, questioning why a reservation wasn't made well in advance of such an important event. Lets assume for one improbable minute that there were no rooms in the city of Eugene. Would arbitrarily traveling east, away from the more heavily populated areas of Lane county, be the wisest solution to finding a place to stay? Was there any attempt to find a place in Springfield? If their daughter couldn't accommodate them, might she not have suggested some more logical choices such as Junction City, Cottage Grove, Corvallis or Albany? The whole notion of traveling east with no set location, particularly late in the evening, and magically stumbling across this so called oasis on the McKenzie river seems highly suspect. If that weren't enough to question the legitimacy of this rave review, please take note of the comment, "we by chance saw the International Space Station fly over...amazing." Yes, that would be truly amazing, considering that any satellite, including the International Space Station, is nothing more than a tiny light traversing the sky. To know what you were actually seeing would probably take a very keen, astronomical mind.

Dear readers, I challenge you not to be sucked in by the five star reviews that you see. If this last review seems plausible, by all means, book a room at the McKenzie Inn and see if everything is as great as your hosts lead you to believe.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyLondon1 wrote a review Jun 2017
Eugene, Oregon
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
AWFUL! The best thing about our 'stay' was leaving. And we did that after about 40 minutes.

The idea of a cozy, riverside cabin appealed as a change from the range of motels and hotels we'd been enjoying throughout our Pacific Northwest road trip. This, however, was very clearly the wrong choice. We now understand why their website states so prominently that they give no refunds.

Our cabin had no visible redeeming features. Shabby, cold, damp and smelly, the A/C was a small unit wedged into a part-opened sash window, the glassware comprised two (non-matching) wine glasses and one tumbler, the chipped crockery included just one breakfast bowl, and the cutlery consisted of three forks and two grubby knives. The 'closet' next to the bed turned out to be a door directly into an external storage garage full of old junk, the wooden, kitchen/living space cupboards had obviously seen better days (and certainly deserved better maintenance), the TV wasn't connected, and the bedroom had a messy patchwork of repairs to the ceiling tiles. I could go on. This place was simply awful.

Fortunately, we were able to get online and book somewhere else. An hour's drive later, we were enjoying the absolute contrast of the luxury of the Best Western Premier in Lebanon. Even with breakfast included, this worked out at 20 dollars a night less than the McKenzie River Inn horror-show.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The best choice of room would be one in a different hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bert d, Owner at McKenzie River Inn
Responded 16 Jun 2017
Dear guests, We were shocked to hear that you left so early. Historically this cabin was the first built in 1929 by homesteaders. It is our most popular cabin and appreciated by guests for it's authenticity! The price is comparable with other properties on the river, and our cabin has the luxury of a nice deck 35 feet from the river, and access to our gardens. You opted to book the least expensive cabin through one of our online travel organizations with an extra discount if you choose the non-refundable option. We have had a long rainy winter and spring, but the tenant that lived there over the winter (which is way colder) loved it and didn't want to move out. She was there for 7 months. As you stated you are comfortable with staying in hotels and motels in urban area's. Our country Inn has existed since 1978 and is considered a gem on the McKenzie River.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lissa C wrote a review Aug 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We choose this location to celebrate our anniversary and had planned on staying two nights. The setting was nice, but our room was very dirty (bugs, cobwebs, grime), came with fleas, and a very old lumpy mattress. It also smelled like mold. When we asked what time breakfast was, we were told that it didn't come with. Very strange for a B&B and our reservation stated it did. The woman at the property was extremely rude and told us we would have to pay $8+ per person for breakfast, and refused to honor the documentation. We, of course, refused to pay additional. Our first morning there, someone turned the sprinklers on the window next to the bed at 6:00am. We got up, packed, and left even though we had paid in advance for two nights. We then drove to driveways down to a lovely B&B with owners who provided great customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa C wrote a review Nov 2011
Portland, Oregon
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The nicest room in the place was not worth the price. All the furnishings were dated, uncomfortable, bed was lumpy and wobbly...yes, riverfront but grass and no amenities to really enjoy it. Would NOT go again or recommend it.

Lisa C.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesslynnKwak wrote a review Aug 2017
Orem, Utah
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Lack of communication on having to pre order breakfast the night before so our family starved and was referred up the road.... Over charged us for the room. Had to dispute the charge to get the money back.
A true BNB has breakfast included with the cost of the room. They want to charge you separate for it. Travelers BEWARE.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bert d, Owner at McKenzie River Inn
Responded 5 Aug 2017
Dear guest, the McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining is a resort with a Bed and Breakfast, cabins and a restaurant. The Lodge contains the rooms that, when booked, include full gourmet hot breakfast. The cabins are equipped with full sized kitchens. As a courtesy to our guests we give the option for people staying in one of our cabins to pre-order breakfast the next day. You came in at 9.30 AM in the morning expecting to be served breakfast without any prior notice of how many would like to eat. On our web site and listings of online travel organizations these stipulations are clearly stated. The polite thing for you to do is amend your argument and rewrite your review here on Tripadvisor, Thanks you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TDP187 wrote a review Sept 2013
Eugene, Oregon
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in order to attend a friend's nearby wedding. We stayed in the West Room, and people should be aware that the photos on the website make this place look a lot nicer than it really is. It could use a good refurbishing. Everything is pretty run-down and not even all that clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morgan418 wrote a review Jun 2013
Eugene, Oregon
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a coupon and booked two nights in the Atrium Suite. Could only handle one night. There is a strong, toxic smell, which we traced to the old Rattan and wicker furniture. Even though it's non-smoking, it also smelled like years of embedded smoke. The owners cheap-out on just about everything, too. The liquid hand soap in the kitchen was watered down, and the bottle in the bathroom, while full, did not dispense. There's a sign above the kitchen sink that says to clean up the kitchen or pay $25 for them to wash the dishes. They provided about a half inch of watered-down dish soap and only one hand towel. There was one small wrapped bar of soap in the bathroom.

The water pressure in the bathroom is non-existent. If you want to use the Jacuzzi tub, it will take 45 minutes to fill. They provide two crappy towels and one robe—size small. One of the bathmats had duct tape on the back. At least the bathroom is tiled. The rest of the place has concrete floors.

The bed is old and creaks LOUDLY every time you move. It is situated a couple feet from the front door and is in the livingroom. There is no separate bedroom. The bed is on the side near the highway, you hear trucks roaring by all night.

The innkeeper didn't mention anything about breakfast and there's nothing listed about it in the in-room information. When we decided to check out at 7:00am, we had a hard time finding anyone. I went inside the Inn, where breakfast would be served, and called. There were dryers running off the kitchen, but no one in the building. The sign instructed to "go to the log cabin if you need assistance." We made multiple trips, pounding on the door of the log cabin and also trying inside the inn. We also tried calling on our cell phone. Nothing. Finally, the innkeeper hollered out the upstairs window, "What do you want?" When we told her we wanted to check out, a night early, she hollared, "leave the key in the room." No inquiry as to why. It's my feeling that they had no intention of serving breakfast to us, even though it's a B&B. At this point, we wouldn't have wanted to eat there anyway.

The only good thing was the view, but for the amount we paid, I think we could have found that somewhere with a less creepy vibe.

This whole experience was very disappointing, as the place looked so nice in the pictures. Even though it was raining, we figured we'd enjoy the view, do crosswords, just have a couple of relaxing days. Instead, we came home exhausted from no sleep and sick from the horrible smell. Don't waste your money on this place!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Head up the road towards Sisters where there are more reliable accommodations.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BertdeKlerk, Manager at McKenzie River Inn
Responded 27 Jun 2013
Dear guest, so sorry to hear about your disappointed stay at our resort. After you left we went in your Suite to clean, but could not detect a odor related to the Rattan and Wicker furniture. We did notice the left over smell of the cleaning products used to clean your suite after guests left and prior to your stay. Our rooms and cabins are non-smoking and to our knowledge no previous guests have smoked in our Atrium Suite. Maybe smoke traveled from bbq’s and fire pits used by other guests outside have traveled to an open window or the French doors into your suite. We are using high end soaps and other amenities for our guests needs and use liquid soap in the dispensers for easy pumping. We could not find and issue with the dispenser in the bathroom. Towels and wash clothes are provided according to the number of guests staying in a particulary room or cabin to prevent cluttering the space. Extra towels or wash clothes are provided on request at no extra charge, as with soap, shampoo and make-up remover wipes. Since the Atrium Suite is ADA friendly we had to install a water reducer and mixing chamber in the jacuzzi and shower to prevent scalding, since we are obligated to serve hot water to a determined temperature. The ‘duct’ tape you referring to are non-slip attachments to the bathroom rugs, after using the jacuzzi for our guests in general and especially for our less able bodied guests. The robe is meant mostly for our female guest using the suite. With all different body sizes it is merely impossible to have wardrobe with robes for everybody, so our apologies if it wasn’t your size or taste. Our Atrium denotes a class of luxury accommodations containing a living room or sitting room, with a couch that converts into a bed with an additional bathroom with a jacuzzi and walk in shower and as mention above, friendly to people who are immobilized with the use of a wheel chair or crutches which makes us ADA compliant. Although we are located and tucked away from highway it is possible for sounds to travel into the rooms and cabins especially if semi-trucks use Jake brakes or with motorcycles using ‘open’ exhaust pipes, which is as you would understand beyond our control. On our web site were you saw the ‘nice pictures’ and many other listings we are featured in it is clearly noted that our opening times are from 8 AM to 10 PM and that the rooms in the lodge come with breakfast, which is optional for the cabins and suite since they are equipped with full size kitchens. I clearly remember you banging on my door at 7AM and my hospitality skills of 35 years replying to you: -How can I help you?” You answered: “We are checking out where do we leave the keys?” There was no mentioning from you about your dissatisfaction or any complaints on the day you left or on the day of your stay while several staff members and even the owners were around. That’s why it is very disappointing to us and unneccesary that you choose afterwards to go publc with your complaints instead of addressing them with me, the innkeeper, so I would have the opportunity to correct any or all of your complaints. Still we do hope you will visit the magnificent McKenzie river again and find accommodations more to your liking with one of our colleagues.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
andruth wrote a tip Oct 2019
5 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe try something other than Kingfisher to be further away from the main home and dogs."
Read full review
Lauren W wrote a tip Aug 2018
Portland, Oregon, United States45 contributions52 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else."
Read full review
Sara R wrote a tip Apr 2018
Portland, United States10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the cabins are river view and well off the highway."
Read full review
RoyLondon1 wrote a tip Jun 2017
Eugene, Oregon9 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The best choice of room would be one in a different hotel."
Read full review
VinoLover69 wrote a tip Sept 2015
Hood River Oregon18 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The private cabin was nice and had its own kitchen which was nice."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vida area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
McKenzie River Inn B&B and Cabins
LOCATION
United StatesOregonVida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MCKENZIE RIVER INN (Vida) - Inn Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about McKenzie River Inn
What are some of the property amenities at McKenzie River Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at McKenzie River Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at McKenzie River Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at McKenzie River Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at McKenzie River Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at McKenzie River Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Is McKenzie River Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.