We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Historic Union Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Historic Union Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Historic Union Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Camas, Washington
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Check their website and see the rooms they have available. The pictures you see are exactly what you get. (That isn't usually the case.) Each room is charmingly decorated in a special theme, i.e. SW, garden, 19th hole. Each room has a private bath and most have claw footed tubs with shower, and each room has its own individual air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyce R
Arizona, USA
Reviewed 19 August 2015

This is the second time we’ve stayed at this hotel. Our son lives here so we stayed three nights. I was late making my booking and the only room available was the Hoffman Suite. In reality, this is an apartment with a bedroom with a queen bed, a living/sleeping room with two twin beds, a kitchen and a bathroom (see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jspace63
Whitefish, Montana
Reviewed 27 July 2015

A restored hotel in the grand style of the past. Ruth, Charlie, Amber and Rosie the dog will accomodate your every need, from a bike room to an early breakfast (6 am) or a late lunch or dinner. They even let us keep our things in the room the nite were were gone. The place has a collection of restored...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soloman9993
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 29 November 2014

This is an old seedy hotel - flies in the lights - nothing charming about this place! The mattress was shot and bent inward ... We could and should have gone to a best western and had clean rugs, a room that wasn't smelly etc. blankets on the bed looked worn and dirty. No tv, no ice no amenities ......

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AliGator55
Charlie M, Manager at The Historic Union Hotel, responded to this review

We are sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We were half full during the Thanksgiving weekend. Our website clearly states that there are no TVs in our rooms; we do have a TV room, free WiFi and a small library for our guests. Ice, drinks, snacks, irons and hair dryers are available from the front desk. We...

Cove, Oregon
Reviewed 6 November 2014

We booked this hotel for visiting friends. They upgraded to a room that was supposed to accommodate five people. Upon their morning showers, they were told that they could not all shower in their room, and would have to use the shower room down the hall. This was an unexpected inconvenience, especially for the logistics of the children/comfort in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank catmcd2014
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 25 October 2014

My husband biked through Union last year and was so captivated by it that we added it to our fall vacation trip. We stayed in the Davis Brothers Room, full of old west ranching items. An added feature to this room was a large wood-lined shower. The room was actually two of the older rooms combined so it was more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommajam44
Oregon
Reviewed 11 October 2014

My husband and I have dinner here at least once a week because the salmon dinner is superb, and we also enjoy visiting with the folks who run this place! (We live in a little town a few miles away called La Grande. In early September we drove over mid-week for dinner, but the owners had changed over to their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank April Krueger V
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Good food, but hotel and service a bit shabby. Carpet in rooms need cleaning, and ours had yrs of dust under radiator plus along edges. Bed was very soft. Stayed at hotel 10 or so yrs ago when rooms just updated so surprised to see such decline. Other parts of this old hotel need upkeep, but we're sure very expensive....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeli5559
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our group of 18 cyclists spent a night in the Union Hotel during a 6 day bike trip. The uniqueness of each room really makes this a quaint, unique find! Rooms are on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors, with the lobby and restaurant on the main floor. The restaurant has been wonderfully refurbished and is elegant. Our dinner (both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orygunmike
Beaverton, United States
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The staff went out of their way to accommodate our party of 18 biking the Grande Tour Scenic Bikeway. They provided a locked room in the basement for all the bikes. Feed us a wonderful dinner...highly recommend the salmon with caper sauce, pecan rice and saute vegetables. All were cooked to perfection. The next morning they prepared us sack lunches...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shauna M

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
20.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn & Suites
22.9 km away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#4 of 8 in La Grande
73 reviews
21.0 km away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
185 reviews
21.0 km away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
290 reviews
20.2 km away
Quail Run Motor Inn
Quail Run Motor Inn
#5 of 8 in La Grande
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Historic Union Hotel

Address: 326 N Main St, P.O. Box 522, Union, OR 97883-8901
Region: United States > Oregon > Union
Number of rooms: 15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Historic Union Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Union Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room on the second floor had a window facing the street, which wasn't a problem because it's a small quiet town.”
  • The stairs from room level to the lobby. That's Rosie the big dog on the floor.
 of 5 bubbles MauriS120, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Visit their web site for room descriptions.”
 of 5 bubbles jspace63, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“talk to the owners about your specific needs and they will show you to the right room for you.”
 of 5 bubbles 431nathanl, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique. We enjoyed the Davis room with its wood paneled, double headed shower.”
 of 5 bubbles soloman9993, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Be sure to look at the room descriptions when selecting a room as each room is unique.”
 of 5 bubbles Mommajam44, 25 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5