We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
477 NW Phoenix Drive, Troutdale, OR 97060
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Booking.com
$149
View deal
FindHotel
$146
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Travelocity$149
Hotels.com$149
Priceline$149
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Troutdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Conveniently located off I-84 and within minutes from downtown Portland, The Columbia River Gorge, Portland International Airport, Multnomah Falls, The Sandy River and Bonneville Dam. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate the wide variety of hiking, biking, camping, hunting and fishing. Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring signature hot items served daily, indoor pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness area, wireless high speed internet access and meeting space that can comfortable accommodate up to 100 people. Historic Troutdale is nestled off the Sandy River and within a short distance from Gresham, Oregon. Located at the gateway of the Columbia Gorge, we are centrally located between Vancouver, Mt. Hood, The Dalles, Hood River, as well as the Oregon Coast.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
185Reviews1Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 59
  • 27
  • 21
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LISA S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I had to wait a few days to write this review as I was so disturbed by the unprofessionalism and rudeness of the front counter staff. Upon check in we were greeted by an unbelievably mouthy woman and a man who claimed to not speak English, even though we heard him speaking English on the phone to someone. We entered our room and the stink of cigarette smoke and filth was almost overwhelming. The room was described as a suite, yet had no comforts a suite would normally offer. For example, this room supplied a sofa bed, yet no bedding. When we requested the bedding we were told they did not supply it. Never in my life have I been expected to provide my own bedding at a hotel. And the woman at the front counter actually called my husband "bucko". LOL If it wasn't so late in the day we would have found a different hotel, but decided to stick it out and give it an honest chance to redeem itself overnight. Throughout the night there was so much noise from other guests that sleep was impossible. Next morning at breakfast there was no food left, as a girls athletic team had cleaned out the breakfast buffet, and nothing was replaced. We had this hotel booked for our return trip a week later, but found a different accommodation and went to the front counter to check out and cancel our return reservation. Again, very rude staff at the counter. She placed the hotel copy of our reservation within our line of sight and we saw there was a note on it that actually said we were "belligerent". The only request we made was for the bedding for the sofa bed, so I guess that was unreasonable of us. So folks, if you're expecting a friendly welcome....a clean room....bedding....food at the complimentary breakfast....a friendly checkout....do not stay at this hotel because you will not find any of these things. We stayed at a Holiday Inn Express the previous night, in Coeur d'Alene, and it was a fabulous experience. Friendly staff, clean rooms, just wonderful. Not sure what is happening at the Troutdale location but it is a complete dump and I will never be back. Without a doubt the worst experience I have ever had at an IHG Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eugene K wrote a review Sep 2022
Geneva, Switzerland289 contributions217 helpful votes
Stayed in HI Express Troutdale for one night as a stopover during our road trip through WA and OR. From the moment we entered the reception, the hotel looked old and in need of refurbishment. The room proved the same. We had an OK sleep. breakfast is not worth mentioning. Absolutely nothing special. The hotel is good for a night's sleep, but I would not stay for longer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DJS wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
A condition of choosing the best hotel we looked for a hot tub and a swimming pool. When booking the reservation there was no mention of a broken hot tub. When we checked in there was no mention of broken hot tub. When we went to use the hot tub we were told it was out of order while they wait for a replacement part.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tom M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
BED BUGS!!! My fiancé and I stayed there on Thursday, July 21st (I believe it was room 105), and we not only got multiple bites from bed bugs, but they hitched a ride back on my fiancé's suitcase, infesting her bed at home and continuing to bite her more than a week later. GROSS! (We've since taken care of these unwelcomed travelers from Troutdale, OR!) However, when she called to speak with someone about this "situation" - she was blown off and told someone would call her back. That never happened. So, consider this a fair warning travelers - be prepared for some unwelcomed guests courtesy of the Holiday Inn Express Portland East in Troutdale, OR!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Request one without bed bugs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Hi 1968TMac, Thank you for staying in Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale. We appreciated your feedback and strive to provide an environment of peace and simplicity. I reviewed your evaluation and am sorry for the events that made your stay unsatisfactory. I know this is not what you expected from a quality chain like ours. I distributed your message to our managers and took the necessary steps to stop this from happening. We hope you allow us to host your next travel to provide you with the excellent service characteristic of our chain. Warm wishes, Oscar C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca D wrote a review Jul 2022
Cuenca, Ecuador382 contributions67 helpful votes
Good room, but it is an older model compared to other Holiday Inn Expresses in which we normally stay. That said, it is still a nice room. Nice king suite with good pillows and they put 4 bath towels in room without being asked for 2 adults. Good breakfast area and breakfast. Polite front desk staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Our room was quiet on top floor end.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Darren D wrote a review Jun 2022
Texas702 contributions289 helpful votes
The hotel served as a great place to stay on the northeast side of Portland, the night before driving east along the Columbia River. We wanted to stay near Portland but far enough from the city center. Clean, quiet, well-maintianed hotel. The location of the hotel is nice too. This was the fifth stop on our journey through the western U.S., and we appreciated the dependability of IHG . We departed before breakfast, but I'm sure it was fine, since IHG consistently does breakfast well. I appreciated that coffee was available very early. (IHG, please consider an additional service to customers: takeaway breakfast items for those who depart before breakfast time.)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ellen B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Checked in with no notice and Tristan was super!! Went above duty to find us the best room for our needs!! Was willing to bring us more towels just to be nice! The hospitality industry needs more Tristans!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LindaK wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We were greeted by your friendly staff during check in and check out. Forgot the lady 's name who did the check-in (4/26 at around 4pm). I believe she was from CA. The lady's name during check-out (4/27) was Monaj. Both ladies were friendly and helpful. The room we stayed was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nice. We enjoyed the cutie omelet.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shane O wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Me and my wife spent 1 night at holiday inn express Portland east/ troutdale. It was our 6yr wedding anniversary and upon checking in we met CARLOS the receptionist there. CARLOS was very pleasant, friendly, and outgoing we mentioned to CARLOS that it was our 6yr wedding anniversary. CARLOS upgraded us to a bigger room with a king size bed and couch with a refrigerator and microwave, we were very pleased with the accommodations. CARLOS went above and beyond the call of his duty as a front desk receptionist, CARLOS deserves an increase in pay for his quick response in making us feeling at home. We will definitely come back to stay here again, kuddos to you CARLOS. The indoor pool and whirlpool was awesome as well as the complimentary breakfast in the morning. I love the quick online check out service as well. Again we will definitely be back thanks to the friendly staff at Holiday Inn Express Portland East/troutdale, Godbless you all🙏🏽😇🙌🏽
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kat S wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
This property is old, dated, dingy and the beds are absolutely terrible. I typically stay in similar category properties like Holiday Inn Express, Hyatt Place, Hampton Inn, etc. and can say that, without a doubt, the bed at this property was the worst bed I have ever slept in and I wouldn't be surprised if the mattresses are very old. The area itself is really questionable and I got sketchy vibes from the parking lot both in the front (where there was what looked like a broken down RV out front) and the back lot. The only redeeming values were the ladies at the front desk were very nice and helpful at check-in and the overall cleanliness seemed good and on par with most budget properties so props to the employees. The bed was brutal though and I expect better from IHG.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2022
Hello ksmithtravel, Thanks for sharing feedback. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, what you mentioned about the facility being old, dated and beds not comfortable made us miss the mark this time. I am sorry for the letdown. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Comments such as yours are valuable and relayed to the team to help point out areas needing additional attention. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn troutdale, troutdale comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn & Suites
LOCATION
United StatesOregonTroutdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Columbia Gorge Premium Outlets (0.4 km), Sandy River Delta Park (1.0 km), and Troutdale General Store (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Di Pompello, Troutdale General Store, and Troutini.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Troutdale.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Portland East - Troutdale, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.