We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Portland Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Portland Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Portland Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Concerned about the area but our room was situated on the back corner on the second floor of the third and farthest building from the office. It was quiet and clean. The wood laminate floors, modern towel holders in the bathroom and corner shower added to the sleek and clean feel of the place. Ask for a non-smoking room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
San Jose, CA
Reviewed 26 July 2015

There was no handle on the outside of the bathroom door. The only plug available in the living area was loose in the wall. There was no washcloth provided when I checked in. No channel guide for the TV. Wifi was intermittent; over a three-day stay it worked for a grand total of 20 minutes. And I paid US$120 a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jde1953
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rates and the inconveniences you experienced. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for the dissatisfaction you describe with our policy. We strive to...

norway
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Really bad wifi, and the beds was terrible, it hurt lying to in the bed. Great location with resturants and bars close by, and we was greeted well in the reception. Spacious room and clean. Would not go back here for more than one night, and that is if nothing else is available.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hesy
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Hesy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our policy and the connection to the network. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the bed comfort...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This is a great location for the convention center, but the facility is rundown and poorly maintained. There was no wifi in the rooms, so all guests had to go outside to get a signal. Our room had a door frame clawed and ripped off the wall, and a sink that never drained properly despite repeated reports. Bedspread full of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sally R
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sally, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced. We are glad...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 21 June 2015

When visiting portland, I always stay near the convention center for the great access to mass transit and easy walk to the Waterfront Park. For my last trip all the hotels in the area were booked but the Motel 6. I was a bit hesitent but booked it anyway. I got both a good nights sleep and a warm shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tzlord
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 17 June 2015

As I had a good experience in Motel 6 Anaheim, I safely decided to book in another trip. My overall experience was very bad because: 1. The bed was terrible and the matress has a big hole as I have never seen in any other hostel, motel or hotel. Also the furniture was too old, the image of the television...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andreortega_sp
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Andre, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the availability of a non-smoking room. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Our aim is to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory...

North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 May 2015

My husband and I needed a basic hotel room as we weren't spending much time in the room at all. Our room was standard "Motel 6" but I must say the bathroom was clean but in bad condition. Our room was non-smoking but still smelled like cigarettes and all the furniture was old and pretty worn down. The front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry you experienced dissatisfaction with the concerns you describe. Our staff aims to...

Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Driving truck I spend layovers at various motel. 6 this was barely better the. The worst I've stayed at. That one out of Troutdale OR only charged 49.00 versus 110.00 parking very limited. If at capacity you won't have a parking spot. The max system is right out front with a stop so that is one huge perk. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GibandJenniferGraham
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Giband, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We sincerely apologize...

Reviewed 14 April 2015

This is the worst place we have ever stayed!! We booked it for a concert at the moda as according to our expedia rep it was very close and convenient with gated secure parking. (And "LUCKY" us we got the last room available) There was no parking at all we could barely pull in the lot. Front desk said there...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 3Twinkles3
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for...

Kent, Washington
Reviewed 19 November 2014

I've never felt the need to write a review before, but felt I really needed to for this hotel. First room they gave us 115 smelled terribly of cigarette smoke even though they are non smoking. He quickly and nicely changed our room to 117. It smelled the exact same, smoke and musty smells, just not as bad. Figured this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Monica N

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 km away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#72 of 139 in Portland
322 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.1 km away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.8 km away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#63 of 139 in Portland
536 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Portland Downtown is minutes from Portland Intl Airport and within walking distance of the Portland Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena, downtown Portland, and a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment. Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland Downtown

Address: 518 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2020 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: ₹ 6,612 - ₹ 9,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland Downtown Hotel Portland
Shilo Inn Portland Convention Center
Portland Shilo Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Portland Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Portland Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“warning: don't stay”
Applause2090, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose a room here!”
978deniseh, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“do not go to this hotel....extremely noisey from trolly hitting man-hole cover”
susannelenzl, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Parking is first come, first serve but at least its free.”
elizabethdY5952BY, 6 May 2015 | Read review
“I would run the other way and stay somewhere else in any other room at any other establishment. This place isn't convenient enough for all its other issues. A cab fare would have been worth it.”
3Twinkles3, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5