We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Downtown Value Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Downtown Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

This is a really good place to sleep and stay. It is so affordable even in summer at about $110 per night. Nothing fancy, but there is a tv, refrigerator and microwave. Not enough hangers for clothes, but they have an ironing board on request. The light rail and street car go by the hotel, so it is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We greatly appreciate the kind words of feedback you had for the Downtown Value Inn. We were glad to see that our facilities were satisfactory and that you were pleased with the service that you received during your time with us. We look forward to your return visit!

Colorado
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Upon arrival the room and beds had obvious signs of bed bugs. We immediately left. When speaking to the management on our way out he was extremely rude and refused to refund our money. Since we were past the cancellation period there was nothing we could do. We found another hotel that was more expensive, but definitely better than bringing...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank 26255home
Lewiston, Idaho
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I had a pleasant experience here. Yes, it's not the most modern hotel, but it is close to my office and the room was clean. The bathroom was clean, I had no issues with hot water or anything. The room has a refrigerator and microwave (great for warming up the pizza from next door) and they have FREE parking. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carith A
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that we were able to meet your accommodation needs. We hope to see you back again soon!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Myself along with 2 of my friends went on a trip to Portland a few weeks ago. When we arrived we decided to stay at a lower end hotel so that we would have more money to spend on recreational activities. The room itself was perfectly fine. It was clean when we arrived and kept clean daily. It smelled odd...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jake R
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I've stayed here three times now. It has a good location for a business meeting. Friendly staff. However, the room was marginal, run down, cold showers, lots of noise from the street and bar below the room. The place is run down.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim-BoiseIdaho
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

Came here with two women in their seventies and requested ground floor. To get from the lobby to the "ground" floor you have to climb a flight of stairs! There are cobwebs in the corners and no counter in the bathroom. I am very disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chell2000
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We arrived with low standards but were still very dissapointed with the place. Walked into the room and there were two half empty beer cans and the bedding had a few stains even though the room had been cleaned. Staff werent very approachable either. If you want to see Portland properly even while on a budget, stay elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank samander11
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 2 June 2015

It's a completely acceptable 2-star hotel. The room and bathroom were all very clean and serviced daily. The bed was comfortable, the hot water worked, and the air-con was just fine. There wasn't any noise issues. I mean it's a bit outdated/cheap looking - exterior lights for bedside lamps, bad paint job. Our TV literally caught on fire... BUT for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j123456123
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We made a last minute trip to Portland to meet up with family. We booked the room last minute and was lucky to get something cheap. Being a bit wary of super cheap places, we brought our sleeping bags but did not have need for them. Beds were clean, no bed bugs, bathroom was clean, there was air conditioning, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gia P
Stevensville, Montana
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Lots of the bad reviews for this place, I feel, are from older peopling who could probably afford a better place to stay. For what we paid, which was less than half of other downtown Portland hotels, no complaints. It had the classic old cigarette hotel smell, the room was a bit dirty (found a cigarette butt against the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DirtyPatches

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 138 in Portland
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 138 in Portland
1,832 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: ₹ 5,027 - ₹ 10,792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“# 34 was our room and the owner had just painted and remodeled the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles vld, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room not on the main road as the trams are go right pass the front and start at around 5.30AM”
 of 5 bubbles 817karlp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you can park on-location,”
 of 5 bubbles 883luisj, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you have to stay here, be sure to ask for a room away from the street and trains/street cars”
 of 5 bubbles jessmxoxo, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Conveniently close to Portland's downtown core.”
 of 5 bubbles jd307, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5