We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
415 SW Montgomery St, Portland, OR 97201-5518
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Booking.com
$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Hotels.com
$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Priceline$114
Travelocity$126
StayForLong
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (119)
Dining (1)

About

#123 of 160 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Downtown Value Inn their motel of choice when visiting Portland. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Downtown Value Inn is a budget friendly motel offering a flat screen TV and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The motel features 24 hour front desk. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Close to some of Portland's most popular landmarks, such as Ira Keller Fountain Park (0.2 mi) and Keller Auditorium (0.4 mi), Downtown Value Inn is a great destination for tourists.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the diners, including Punch Bowl Social Portland, Byways Cafe, and The Roxy, all of which are a short distance from Downtown Value Inn.

Best of all, Downtown Value Hotel makes it easy to experience many great Portland attractions like Wahclella Falls and Jamison Square, which are some popular waterfalls.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Downtown Value Inn as you experience all of the things Portland has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
127Reviews1Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 27
  • 26
  • 23
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RPF49 wrote a review Jul 2022
Davis, California353 contributions198 helpful votes
The Downtown Value Inn offers a good budget alternative to the ridiculously high priced hotels and motels in the downtown Portland area, esp during the annual Waterfront Blues Festival. It is within convenient walking distance to the fest. It offers the basic amenities of a refrigerator, microwave and free Wifi. No in room coffee. The cable TV didn't work during my first day, but the management got it going for the rest of my 4-day stay. There is not enough on site parking to cover all guests, depending of course on the level of occupancy. However, I fortunately arrived early enough to get one. I will reserve a room with them for the 2023 fest.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Lower level. if you mind climbing stairs, since there are no elevators.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
baaaaaaa wrote a review Feb 2020
Fountain Valley, California2496 contributions298 helpful votes
Bathroom small, narrow & tight. Shower hot water only at maximum with any lower adjustment turning cold fast. Light bulb out. Room was large and included large table, small refrigerator & microwave. Bed had small pillows and low end blankets. Inn is old and worn BUT in reasonable proximity to downtown and transit options.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Manager at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 20 Feb 2020
We welcome your feedback! We are glad to know that your stay with us was satisfactory. We were also happy to see that our location was so convenient to your needs. It was our privilege to be your hosts and we are looking forward to being able to serve you again on your next trip to Portland.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoeandKim14 wrote a review Sep 2019
Denver, Colorado6 contributions5 helpful votes
This hotel works well if you want to be in Downtown Portland with access to the light rail and are traveling on a budget. The staff was also helpful and friendly. The air conditioning was nice. The cleanliness was, however, questionable. The biggest thing that potential guests should be aware of is that there is no elevator and you will need to carry your luggage yourself at least one level as there are also no rooms on the ground level. We were not aware of this until we arrived. Not romantic but a basic place to stay near PSU. Parking is difficult with a full size vehicle. I would have given it a better than a two rating if there was an elevator.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Manager at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 11 Sep 2019
We appreciate your review! We are happy to know that your time with us was so enjoyable. We were also glad to see that our location was to your liking. We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness of the room was not to your liking. Was the front desk personnel made aware of this? We are lucky to have a wonderful variety of eateries here in our neighborhood, from food carts, to sushi, to steakhouses. We appreciate you choosing The Downtown Value Inn. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again whenever your plans bring you back to Portland.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie M wrote a review Jul 2019
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Called an hour prior to arrival to confirm a room was available, being sure to confirm the price for a room with 2 seperate beds, as i did not wish to sleep next to my sister... Arrive and am given a key to a King bed room (very nice I might add). However, dissapointed I return to reception and refer to our prior phone conversation confirming the price and room that was agreed to on the phone. They try to deny that this was said (after telling me earlier that they can't remember my call?) to which my sister aids my case confirming what she heard on our phone call. They then tell me that another room will cost $20 more, which i politely decline and refer again to our phone call. She then tells me that this room is not available - which makes no sense whatsoever, as she just offered me the exact room we agreed upon (2 queen beds) for an additional price? I raise this point to which a counter offer of $10 is made - which i find very unprofessional (haggling with customers about a previously agreed upon price?) Reluctant to argue further or search for another room I begrudgingly accept the additional fee, being sure to let them know that this will be published online. Besides this - the room was OK (Aircon nice and cold) however the bathroom towel rack fell on the floor upon removing a towel? definitely needed fixing and was potentially dangerous, especially for a smaller child - Fix room 41 if you read this guys! All in all, I got a nice sleep in a decent bed, a good location, nice aircon, poor customer service and OK room. No wifi provided? not sure what happened there. TLDR: price provided via phone (1 hr prior) is changed upon checkin, haggled with for an extra $20 and told I should have booked in advance? Dodgy Bathroom Towel rack but nice cold aircon & bed and OK shower.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be sure to confirm the correct bed number and price via phone - this might be changed on you upon...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Owner at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 5 Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share about the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you had issues with the room type at check in and apologize for the inconvenience. We have altered our management to the issues that you have raised and make sure future guests don't share the same experience. Also, we have retrained our staff and management in addressing such issues and we hope that you will try us again in the future to see our improvements.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RPF49 wrote a review Jul 2019
Davis, California353 contributions198 helpful votes
The best thing about the Downtown Value Inn (DVI) is its location in the heart of downtown Portland. It is a convenient distance from Tom McCall Waterfront Park, where I attend the Waterfront Blues Festival each July, It is next to Portland State University and within walking distance of the Portland State and the Old Town Saturday markets and numerous eateries. Second, the price is very reasonable in the context of Portland during vacation season. The elite hotels like the Marriott charge outrageous prices and even the mid range hostelries charge well over $100 per night (my rate through Hotels.com was slightly under $100, not including tax). The DVI is no frills and it has its flaws. In room amenities include a refrigerator and microwave but no coffee maker. My room (#33) had no place to hang clothes. Apparently, there used be a rack, but it was removed to accommodate a large flat screen TV (as an aside, there was a good mix of channels available). There is plenty of wall space available to install another rack. I had trouble connecting to the Internet; however, the desk clerk was very helpful in getting me connected and it functioned well thereafter. The bed was comfortable. While it took a long while for hot water to reach the shower, it did finally arrive. Parking is free and 1st come, 1st served, as there are not enough spaces for all the rooms. Most of the other hotels and motels either don't have parking or they charge for it. The only negative about the subterranean parking is that the spaces are very narrow and are bounded by wide concrete pillars, and it is very tricky maneuvering a vehicle into place. I was barely able to squeeze my mid size car into place without scraping against concrete. However, it was free and I walked everywhere during my 5 night stay (i.e., didn't have to go in and out and worry about not having a space).. So bottom line, DVI met my needs and I have already reserved a room for next July.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 27 Jul 2019
We welcome your feedback! We are glad to know that your stay with us was satisfactory. We were also happy to see that our location was so convenient to your needs, that our hospitality associates were able to provide the necessary assistance when you needed them, and that you felt our prices were competitive. Our available parking is less than ample, but because it is limited we are determined to make sure that what space we do have is always offered to our patrons free of charge. The renovation of the property is continuing and we think that our guests will be pleased with the improvements and upgrades that have been planned. It was our privilege to be your hosts and we are looking forward to being able to serve you again on your next trip to Portland.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lessye wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution
I did not know what to expect, arriving in Portland on a budget, having booked a room based primarily on cost and proximity to my conference, whose fancy high-rise hotels I could not afford. The staff was helpful and attentive, the room clean, the bed comfortable, and everything worked: TV, shower, WiFi, air conditioning. The towels were better quality than many I have had to use at well known franchises. The room had a microwave and refrigerator I did not use, but missing a coffee-maker I would have made use of had they provided it. It is right next to the Portland State campus, the MAX train lets you off at the corner, there are coffee and food vendors just across the street, so everything is very convenient. The only bad thing I can say is, if they had an elevator I did not see it. I had to walk to my floor up the stairs, and although the desk clerk offered to carry my suitcase, I was more fit to do so than she was.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 4 Apr 2019
We welcome your input! We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at The Downtown Value Inn. We were happy to see that you were treated kindly by our personnel, that the facilities met your needs and expectations, and that you felt our prices were affordable. We hope you were not too inconvenienced by our lack of an elevator. Unfortunately the size and design of the hotel makes the costs of installing and operating an elevator so exorbitant as to be beyond our reach. Thank you for your suggestion about having a coffee maker. It was our privilege to serve you and we hope that we will be your first choice for accommodations whenever you travel to The Rose City.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Feb 2019
Vero Beach, Florida11005 contributions113 helpful votes
This is possibly the last motel in downtown, and judging from a big new building across 5th Avenue and more construction underway, it might not last long. The building houses a Pizza Schmizza downstairs with outdoor seating. Upstairs includes a hostel section. Rooms have functional windows, so you can get fresh air. With a Streetcar line running on the building's north side, rooms on the south side might be a bit quieter. My room was spacious, well cared for, if a bit dated. Other than one short spell of apparently no hot water, everything worked well. The heating unit was quiet. If the southern end of downtown fits your needs, or you don't mind a short MAX or Streetcar ride north toward Northwest or the Pearl District, it's a fine location, with the Schnitzer Auditorium (Oregon Symphony), Newmark Theater, and Keller Auditorium nearby. Streetcar access to the Armory theater (Portland Center Stage, close to Powell's Books) is quick. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful. I found it a very useful low-cost place to stay for several days without a car.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Your feedback matters! We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay at The Downtown Value Inn. We were pleased to read that the accommodations provided were to your liking, that you had a positive experience with our hospitality associates, and that you felt that our prices were affordable. It was our pleasure to serve you and whenever your travels bring you to Portland we hope that you will return to visit us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sub C wrote a review Oct 2018
Hong Kong, China1419 contributions100 helpful votes
+1
WE stayed there one night for convenience and found it most unacceptable . Despite it situated in the center of town , it offers nothing to the guest . There is no coffee machine or any cups in the room , no free coffee or tea , no hot water or bottle water given , no vending machines in the lobby . There is no free breakfast and the wifi is poor . The hotel situated next to the tram track so all night long you will be waking up from the tram noise . The light is dim so you can save from doing any reading and the carpet is heavily stained and seems like not been clean for decades . There is no elevator also so you will need to haul your luggage with strong arms up several staires . Even the parking is not good , the space is very tiny and odd shaped so if you have a full size car or SUV beware ! Only a few eateries nearby and the choice is limited . The hotel asks a premium price of a 3 stars but the offer is worse then a roadside no name motel , we all feel like gotten ripe off and will not stay there again . Its a NO NOTHING hotel and you deserve better ! ( We found later there is Eco Hotel nearby for half the price and far better , at least you get a cup and coffee ! )
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Dont stay in this hotel or you will be regret and felt ripe off
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 23 Oct 2018
We saw your review. We were sorry to see that you were less than happy with your stay. We read that several amenities which we do not offer were a source of disappointment for you. We can understand you being quite upset if we had advertised these things and that upon your arrival they were not available. Being angry over not getting something that was never offered to begin with however is more difficult to fathom. Most two story hotels do not have an elevator due to the prohibitive costs associated with operation, maintenance, permits, etc. (We contacted twenty other two story locations here in town and none of them were equipped with an elevator.) Our web site does describe that our parking is limited but free. Many other properties in downtown Portland charge $20 or more per night per vehicle for use of their parking facilities, but not us. What space we do have is available without charge to our patrons on a first come first serve basis. Also, anyone who does a cursory internet search of our neighborhood will quickly see that there are dozens and dozens of great places to eat nearby. From a myriad of food carts, to Mexican food, to high quality sushi, to steakhouses, to vegan fare, to sandwich shops, to Chinese cuisine, etc. In fact the hotel shares a building with a pizzeria. We fail to see how this equates to "few" and "limited". As to a cheaper facility in the area, when we did repeated searches online for hotels in or near downtown by price The Downtown Value Inn came up as the most inexpensive each time. Your claim that there is another place nearby at HALF our rate is at the best a gross exaggeration, at the worst a deliberate mendacity. We regret that our establishment was not to your liking. We wish you well in finding alternative lodgings elsewhere on your future visits to The Rose City.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrtynz wrote a review Oct 2018
Cambridge, New Zealand116 contributions16 helpful votes
Generally clean and tidy and everything worked. The room we were in the window was broken making it hard to close and as the tram runs right outside and a building site across the road plus downstairs bar it could be noisy. There seemed to be a constant hum from somewhere. Even the floor was a little uneven.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 17 Oct 2018
We value your feedback! We were glad to read that you were happy with the cleanliness of the facilities. We regret that you had a problem with the window. Were our hospitality associates made aware of the problem so that our maintenance team could repair it for you? We apologize that it was not already in proper working order upon your arrival. Our close proximity to the public transportation hubs downtown are very convenient but with a level of noise to which some of are patrons are unaccustomed. We hope the sounds of the buses and light rail were not too much of a bother. This is an older hotel and since the current ownership has taken over there has been a great deal of effort put into renovation, but our goal is one of constant improvement. Most of the anticipated remodel work is to be done during our less hectic winter season, and we hope you will be pleased with the upgrades that we have planned. We appreciate you choosing The Downtown Value Inn and we hope that we will have the chance to offer you our hospitality again on your next visit to The Rose City.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie L wrote a review Sep 2018
New York10 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice Size Rooms, but all very old and tired. As for facilities no elevator, no ability to make tea or coffee either in the lobby or in the room (apparently due to someone pouring hot water over their hand) so everyone now has to suffer the loss of this facility. There is however a fridge and Microwave, but you don't get any complimentary water or basic snacks in the room or in the lobby, unlike Motel I stayed in on the Olympic Peninsula which was cheaper than the Downtown Value Inn, they also have WiFi but I found it temperamental. on the plus, the location is just a short walk to the centre of town and plenty of mass transit right outside the door. All in all disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel/Motel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn
Responded 25 Sep 2018
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion! We regret that your time with us was less enjoyable than you had hoped. We were glad to read that the size of our rooms was to your liking and that you found our location convenient. Our rates are a reflection of our location. The average price for accommodations in Portland is about 25% higher than they are for the Olympic Peninsula. We apologize for the lack of an elevator. With the high cost of maintenance, inspections, operation, permits, etc. an elevator is quite a rarity at two-story properties. We contacted over twenty different hotels in the Portland Metro area and only one of them had an elevator, and it was a much larger three-story establishment near the airport. Most of our remodel work is done over the winter season and we hope you will like the updates and improvements we have planned. Thank you for your patronage. We hope we will have the chance to serve you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$93 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
downtown value hotel portland
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortlandDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOWNTOWN VALUE INN (Portland) - Motel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Downtown Value Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Downtown Value Inn?
Nearby attractions include Portland Farmers Market (0.3 km), Oregon Historical Society (0.5 km), and Keller Auditorium (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Downtown Value Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a 24 hour front desk.
Is parking available at Downtown Value Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Downtown Value Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Higgins Restaurant and Bar, Morton's The Steakhouse, and Restaurant Murata.
Is Downtown Value Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Portland.
Are there any historical sites close to Downtown Value Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portland Center Stage at The Armory (1.4 km), Old Church (0.5 km), and Japanese American Historical Plaza (1.7 km).