We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace

Save
Share
2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
$144
View deal
Booking.com
$144
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/10/22
Travelocity$144
Priceline$144
Algotels$166
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (196)
Room & Suite (103)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 17/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Updated 17/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#48 of 160 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Get comfortable at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace. Our extended stay hotel in Downtown Portland offers everything you need to make yourself at home. Relax in our suites with fully equipped kitchens, cable TV with streaming capabilities, and plush Marriott bedding. Pet-friendly accommodations are also available. Start your day with tasty selections from our free grab-and-go breakfast and enjoy lunch and dinner at nearby restaurants like Bambuza, McCormick & Schmick's, and Southpark Seafood. Maintain your workout routine at our 24-hour fitness center or take a walk along the waterfront right outside our door. Our downtown hotel is located along the Max Light Rail service so enjoy easy access to Oregon Health & Science University, Oregon Convention Center, and more nearby attractions. Our convenient location also makes our venues a great choice for your upcoming meeting or special occasion.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
874Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 434
  • 287
  • 97
  • 35
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sahil_sethi wrote a review Sep 2022
Seattle, Washington4 contributions2 helpful votes
Terrible experience. Ac did not work on the two nights we were here. Second night was worse with daytime temperatures in the 90s. All we wanted was to cool off in the comfort of the room but sadly the ac didn’t work. Worse the windows don’t open so there was no way to get fresh air in the room And it just felt sweaty and muggy . Never imagined a hotel room without air conditioning Apparently we weren’t the only ones with the issue and several guests had a bad night. Front desk could only shrug their shoulders and say “sorry, we don’t have maintenance on site”. The location is also super weird with nothing to do nearby and a bunch of highways intersecting next to the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are so sorry to hear that you had such a terrible experience at our hotel! We absolutely understand how frustrating it can be to not have working air conditioning, especially when it is hot outside. We are sorry that our front desk was not more helpful and that they were not able to get someone to come and fix the issue for you. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny T wrote a review Oct 2020
36 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I can’t recommend it enough. The rooms are so spacious and have everything you need. Best part is the mattress which somehow beats my temperpedic cloud supreme at home as I slept like a baby. There is no noise at this hotel! Just a quiet, clean comfortable stay every single time we are here. Nowhere better in downtown Portland.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Thank you for the excellent review, Jenny! It's wonderful you had such a fantastic stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/RiverPlace! The comfort and happiness of our guests are important to us. We're thrilled you enjoyed our large and comfortable rooms so much. That's what we like to see! We look forward to hosting you again soon for another amazing experience! Have a fantastic day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B Lee wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
This hotel is like the rest of Portland these days, trashed. The kitchen was missing doors on cabinets, carpet ripped, mismatched door knobs, stained towels and bedding. The AC didn't work on one of the hottest days of the year because of lack of maintenance. No cleaning service or places to set out your own trash. Guests were leaving bags of trash by the elevator. So many dogs staying as well, which isn't great in an elevator. The only advantage is the proximity to OHSU, but even then we'll look elsewhere for our next appointment. Such a disappointment from prior stays at Residence Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Lee. We regret that you experience with us was anything less than perfect and that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we aspire to so we've shared your concerns with the appropriate members of our team so that we may improve moving forward. We hope to have a chance to host you again so we may share a more positive experience that our guests are accustomed to.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OurScreenName wrote a review Jun 2022
Marysville, Washington44 contributions52 helpful votes
This was our third and probably last stay here. We had a spacious quiet room, but it had issues. First, I'd forgotten that the windows are sealed, which I hate. But on top of that they were filthy, so it ruined the view. The mattress was worn and soft, and collapsed if you sat on the edge. The bedside lamps were too bright, while the shower room light was too dim. The kitchen had only 2 mugs, 2 glasses, 2 plates, 2 forks, and so on - that's absurd. The breakfast buffet was really scaled down. All paper and plastic ware, and way fewer offerings than in the past. And no coffee out during the day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 17 Jun 2022
We appreciate the feedback. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel didn't exceed your expectations. We regret you weren't entirely satisfied with our furnishings and accommodations. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MTC wrote a review Jun 2022
Fort Myers, Florida4 contributions
We have stayed here about twice a year for the last 15 years, with the obvious gap of the last two COVID years. Returning recently for our latest family visit, we were really disappointed in the decline. To state a few specific reasons: spotty to non-existent wifi service; failing air-conditioning, with two calls for service and still not working, in a hotel where one cannot open windows; poorly organized and ill-trained front desk personnel causing no answer to front desk or "0" several times; dirty parking areas where one pays $39 per day; smokers congregating by the parking entrance so one has to enter through a cloud of smoke; and I could state more. Sad decline and we will not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 14 Jun 2022
We appreciate the feedback, ExperiencedReviews2. We're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality of our accommodations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1TravlFan wrote a review May 2022
Seattle, Washington16 contributions10 helpful votes
I made the mistake of booking three nights at this property. I arrived early, around 11 AM, and was sent away, the front desk clerk telling me they had no rooms available yet, but assuring me that she would call me as soon as a room became available. I gave her my number and left. No offer to store my luggage, no hospitality of any kind. Just "you're early, go away." But then no call all day. Nothing. So after 5 PM I attempted to check in using the app. No key was ever generated. I reached out to the hotel over an over again until after 11 PM and got no reply, and finally had to find somewhere else to sleep. Called this morning, got the same unhelpful clerk who tried to make all kinds of excuses as to why she/the hotel utterly failed to do their jobs - comical. All she/the hotel had to do was check me in and assign me a room. They literally had all day to do it. But it proved to be too much for them. They also somehow couldn't be bothered to check their messages yesterday either. For eight hours. Tried to reach the GM but never got a call back from her, either. You should definitely AVOID this hotel - they are terrible, and they literally do not care at all about their guests. (I bet they try to write something in response full of bs and nonsense - should be entertaining)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 23 Jun 2022
We sincerely apologize for this situation, however we do believe that it was interpreted in a different way by our team based on the events that occurred that you had not mentioned in your review. We do take all of your feedback seriously, and our team takes a great deal of pride in taking care of our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
roadwarrierMD wrote a review May 2022
Cary, North Carolina203 contributions179 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights. While the room was comfortable and its nice to have a full kitchen, there were several things wrong with this property. Never got the wifi to work, and many guests noted the same. One elevator was not working. Parking is expensive and very narrow spaces; they make you sign a special waiver if you park (in effect it says “don’t blame us if you dent your car”) . Ran out of hot water while taking a shower. Toilet didn’t work well. On the positive side, breakfast was good, and they have a nice fitness center and indoor pool. Too many things wrong; can’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 21 May 2022
We appreciate the feedback. We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us despite our services and accommodations not exceeding your expectations. We'll address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We do hope to host you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taz001_11 wrote a review Mar 2022
Seattle, Washington33 contributions21 helpful votes
A comfortable and convenient location for seeing Portland, especially along the Willamette River, downtown, Omsi. For a family with a dog, this is a good place, although with a $30 per day dog fee and $39 per day parking fee, the cost is considerable. The grab-n-go breakfast is adequate, the staffing is light, and there is construction on the entire west side, at this time. I have known this place in pre-pandemic times and it ran more smoothly, which I expect to return in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Even the rooms facing the river have the mass of freeway bisecting the view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 17 Mar 2022
Thank you for your review and feedback, Taz001_11. We're glad you enjoyed our prime location in Portland but we apologize for the construction at this time, and we expect things to return to normal in the near future! We would love to host you again for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fanny H wrote a review Mar 2022
Albany, Oregon3 contributions
I’ve stayed here 3 times. Once for business, once for our daughters 14th birthday with some friends, and once with our two younger children and 14 year old. The people here work hard and are friendly and accommodating. You’re out of the way of right down town, but can get places easily. There’s nice restaurants and coffee shops in walking distance and it doesn’t take long to get downtown. The hotel is quiet. The rooms were clean. The pool and spa and workout room are open again and they have a lot more options for breakfast again. Our kids loved it and we will most definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 15 Mar 2022
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review, Anne! We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/RiverPlace! We appreciate your praise for our team; they work very hard to ensure every guest feels right at home. We are delighted you felt welcomed and valued during your time with us! We'd love to share another positive experience with you in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh M wrote a review Aug 2021
San Jose, California9 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel is spacious and modern, but the $39 parking is s ripoff, esp when the only breakfast is granola bars and some fruit as others have said. But wait... HERE is the deal: on-street parking is FREE from 7pm to 8am !!! There is a lot of parking within 2 min walk! So if you are out all day, just park on the street. The next day, put $2 in the meter at 8am and that is good until 10am ( you should get out and sight-see before that, right? ). So, avoid the hotel fee until they bring it down to $15 which would be reasonable. PS: Gym and pool were closed as of Aug 2, 2021.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 8 Aug 2021
We appreciate the feedback, JMado. We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our modern accommodations and amenities. However, we're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. We regret that our parking services and breakfast accommodations didn't meet your expectations. We'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn portland downtown / riverplace hotel portland, portland residence inn
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortlandDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
258
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Nearby attractions include Tilikum Crossing (0.09 km), South Waterfront Park (0.2 km), and Thirst Wine Bar and Shop (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Conveniently located restaurants include McCormick & Schmick's Seafood & Steaks, Little River Cafe, and Il Terrazzo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.