Woodlark

813 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205-3121
Traveller (187)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
₹13,485
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
₹13,485
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 153 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Business
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
325Reviews3Q+A34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 258
  • 33
  • 15
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jacqueline M wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We recently stayed at the Woodlark over Valentines weekend to visit some friends. Ideally located, this adorable boutique hotel checked off all our boxes for a quintessential Portland stay. The staff genuinely greet you on arrival, each with their own uniqueness (not fake like you sometimes get at the big name hotels), the cozy entrance has a coffee bar with yummy snacks, light breakfast options in the AM and plenty of comfy seating. The banana bread and coffee drinks were awesome! I loved the bar/lounge on the same level as the entrance for their crafted cocktails and very chill vibe. And the menu was comfort food in the right portions (not too big or small) and delicious!! Every detail in our guest room was well thought out. Such unique and modern style/finishes. The bathroom has your normal towels but they have a black wash cloth for makeup, great detail that goes a long way!! I appreciate the small details like that. Also, I know a lot of hotels are moving away from honor bars but I appreciate that they have one. Good snacks, local brews, not overly priced. But the absolute winner for the stay was the bed and the pillows!!!! We are currently moving and actually looking at buying the same brand because it was that amazing! I’ve stayed at plenty of hotels big and small and woodlark nailed it. I even loved the flowers at the entrance!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management_365, General Manager at Woodlark
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Hi Makymargo, Your absolutely incredible feedback left our team smiling. Thank you, from all of us, for going into such detail regarding every aspect of the Woodlark experience that you loved including our city-inspired touches, delicious breakfast options, well-planned rooms and so much more. It was truly our honor to welcome you over Valentine’s Day weekend and we hope you will allow us to do so again in the future. To that end, if you loved our flower arrangements, you might also enjoy our new “Bedside Botanicals” amenity. Please ask about it when you return as we’re sure it’ll breathe new life into your visit. All the best, Sean – GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K-traveler13 wrote a review Sept 2021
West Palm Beach, Florida26 contributions35 helpful votes
We stayed at the Woodlark because we had heard very good things about it. Our first impression was good. We checked in late at night and received a warm reception at the front desk. Initially our room, though smaller than expected for an upgraded king, looked impressive. The impression began to wear thin, however, when we discovered no closet and practically no drawers for our clothes. Coat hooks and a Rube Goldberg contraption holding hangers were Woodlark’s attempt at minimalism. We were staying four nights!!

The next morning we asked to be upgraded to a larger room. The front desk staff was extremely cooperative. We couldn’t switch rooms immediately so the staff permitted us to wait until evening to make the switch. Our new room was an improvement over the first. It was larger and included a large sofa and chair. Strangely, however, there was no more drawer or closet space to put away clothing. The coat hooks were located in the bathroom. It was as if the hotel’s designer had never stayed in a hotel before or h/she designed the hotel solely for one night guests.

A saving grace is that the king size bed was very comfortable and the Woodlark is central to most areas of downtown, about a 15 minute walk at most to the Pearl District, 10 minutes to the Museum of Art and the University and about a 10-15 minute Lyft ride to the Japanese and Rose Gardens. Also, an excellent coffee shop and an exciting bar and lounge have rented space on the first floor of the Woodlark. Although these businesses appear to be independent of the hotel, they add a complementary buzz and vibe that helped make our stay palatable despite our room’s troubling design flaws.
K-traveler13
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Bernard, General Manager at Woodlark
Responded 17 Sept 2021
Hi K-traveler13, Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Woodlark here on TripAdvisor. I'm very pleased that our guest services team were able to accommodate a move to a a larger guest room and were able to work around your busy schedule. Good Coffee and Abigail Hall, are such amazing venues and we are lucky to have them. We truly are in an unbeatable location steps away from The Best that The City of Roses has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. All my best, Matt and The Woodlark Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRS wrote a review May 2021
Beverly Hills, California154 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
I recently had a quick stay at the Woodlark. What an absolute find. Very stylish lobby incredibly friendly and helpful front of the house team and just an overall fantastic vibe.

The room was exceedingly comfortable and designed with great care and style. Most importantly, the bed and linens may rank as some of my favorite sleeping accommodations of all time. I literally felt like I was sleeping on a cloud... an incredibly comfortable and luxurious cloud, and this is coming from someone who can be a self proclaimed mattress and linen snob!

Alexis at the front desk was incredibly helpful on my last day when I needed to work out a later check out due to business needs and steered me in the right direction for some incredible lunch options and local favorites.

One slight note for improvement.... The location of my room on the ninth floor was amazing but for some reason the water pressure in my room was really weak and this is some thing I would take a point off for. I did mention this at the front desk when I checked out and they seemed very surprised and it seems like weak water pressure is not typical at all so I am willing to overlook this and well Hope when I stay next this will not be an issue.

Bravo Woodlark!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicky McMillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Woodlark
Responded 26 May 2021
Wow! Thank you for leaving such an amazing review of our team. We are celebrating Alexis a little bit extra after reading your huge compliments. We do not normally like to boast, but our beds and linens are truly amazing... Thank you for bringing the water pressure to our attention, our engineering team was able to swiftly resolve and return the pressure to our high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back many times over. Best regards, Nicky and the woodlark team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarajaju wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
I really wanted to give this place 5 stars. It's beautiful, best bed/pillows I’ve had in a hotel and Brianna is fantastic! It's in a nice location and the room is quiet, especially considering all the construction outside. But, they have 2 tv's in the loft, one upstairs with the bed and one downstairs. In the middle of the night the downstairs tv turns on, no sound just light, but I'm too asleep to deal with it so I leave it as a nightlight. Then the tv in the loft turns on, no sound just light, and I get up to go around to the other nightstand to get the remote. Got back to sleep and about 2 hours later the tv flips on again!! This time it's 5:30 and I have to get up in an hour so I decide to just get up. In the room they have an electric pot to heat up water with 2 nice big cups...but there's nothing to put in them! No tea, no coffee…nothing, even a Red Lyon Motel trusts you with a small coffee pot. They even have "Coffee Bar" etched on their front window but absolutely no coffee available, I didn’t need a Latte just coffee, I understand we’re closed for Covid but they could at least have something for the rooms. Because of Covid and construction most of the local coffee shops are closed and the others don't open until 9 AM. I was so disappointed. I almost bought myself a Starbucks cold Frappuccino the night before but was like, no there's hot stuff at the hotel (in my mind I saw the hot water pot w/ mugs).The lady at the counter did offer to make me some black tea on my second trip to the front desk (in my pajamas) This wasn't a pleasure trip, we were in town for an early morning surgery (my son) and this sucked, not sleeping sucked. We only live an hour away from Portland so this was only to relax and enjoy a little luxury with a side of Portland food carts. Boo.
I did let management know prior to posting my review, their response was to please try us next time you’re in town, as a business owner this response tells me a lot. I’m a consumer, I don’t need an apology, my time and pocket book was effected, not my feelings. The fact that they didn’t offer a money reimbursement or voucher of any kind tells me they have too many complaints to be that generous when things do go bad and or the owners are cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Bring your own tea and coffee, they do have hot water.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicky McMillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Woodlark
Responded 13 Apr 2021
Hi Sara, I am so glad we were able to touch base. We were so happy to have hosted you on our grand (re)opening weekend. Thank you for bringing the issues with the TVs to our attention, our amazing engineering team was able to quickly resolve the issue once the malfunctioning hardware was replaced. I am so sorry you had to endure such a frustrating technological issue. I realize you had to be up and out of the hotel early but wanted to let you know, Good Coffee is in our lobby serving up the best coffee in town from 8AM-3PM daily, their owners are looking to expand their hours as business starts to return to downtown. I hope your son is doing well post-op. Here at Woodlark, we hold ourselves to very high standards and we clearly missed the mark. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the luxurious relaxation that we are so well known for and you so greatly deserve. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly to plan your return trip, Best, Nicky Nicky.McMillen@provenancehotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cmlibra06 wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We loved this hotel! It’s beautiful, new, and clean. The housekeeping staff was super friendly and went above and beyond! When I was carrying two coffees back up to my room, the gentleman cleaning in the morning walked over to elevator and scanned his card and pushed the button for me! I don’t know how I would have done this without a free hand. He deserves a huge shout out! We also loved that they texted us in the morning about our car, and it was waiting outside at the time we asked for it.

Even though we had a mostly positive experience, there were a few negatives. One is the $20 amenity fee. We didn’t use the amenities during our trip, and had to ask for our drinks. It would be nice if you just asked your guests at checkin. It was also a huge disappointment that you didn’t have bottled water as an option. We don’t like sparkling water. We also would have loved a wine choice, over just beer. It seems like if you’re charging $20 there would be more choices of beverages, and they would be offered instead of having to ask.

The other negative would be the interactions with the front desk staff. When we arrived to check in, they were too busy having a side conversation to say hello or greet us. Over our stay they didn’t seem very friendly or customer service driven.

I still gave 5 stars because of the quality of the room, and the amazing housekeeping staff!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Definitely ask for your drinks that you should get due to amenity fee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jen H wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City2 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff and the attention to detail is what made my stay absolutely wonderful. On my second visit, Diana even left a hand written note with cookie in my guest room. You can really feel the hospitality of the staff starting from the front door all the way to your room. The building also has very unique history, the decor is gorgeous and they really try to support local artists and products from the photography in the guestrooms to the bouquets in the lobby and the snacks/products in the guest room. Hands down my favorite place to stay in Portland and cannot wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management_365, General Manager at Woodlark
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Hello, Among the many special features that the Woodlark offers, from our support of local businesses to our historical roots, providing unforgettable hospitality is what our team takes the most pride in. We’re glad that was on full display during your visit. Thank you, from all of us, for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. We are honored to have become your go-to Portland hotel and cannot wait to welcome you again. Best Regards, Sean – GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lindsey H wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Such a delightful experience the rooms are spotless cleaner than any place I’ve ever stayed before well designed tastefully laid out. Beautiful view of the city And within proximity to Local restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. Being on a solo trip as a female sometimes the homeless population can be slightly intimidating thankfully not only was the hotel well lit and easy to find But the concierge / front attendant was at their station the entire time not once was there a lack of the hotel staff/ personnel. Truly a great experience will be returning soon! compliments to The entire staff ,housekeeping ,front desk ,management bar ,kitchen, everyone all of you truly are passionate about what you do and it shows thank you for A perfect and well needed daycation!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Bernard, General Manager at Woodlark
Responded 25 Jul 2021
Hi Lindsey! Thanks for taking the time to share your 5-star Woodlark experience here on Trip Advisor! There are so many amazing things to do just steps away from our front door! I'm so happy that you had a chance to get out and explore our amazing city and that your overall experience was delightful. I'll be sure to share your warm comments with the entire team. I wish you safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely yours, -Matt and The Woodlark Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddie K wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
The staff was incredible -- So friendly and willing to help. They are knowledgeable about Portland and the surrounding area and it is as if they are there just for you, to make your experience better. The location was great, central to everything Portland has to offer. The rooms/lobby were also beautiful - charming, chic, modern. The location lends itself to smaller rooms but they did a great job with the usage of the space.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Bernard, General Manager at Woodlark
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Hi Eddiek, Thanks for the amazing 5-star review! I couldn't be happier that our team provided you with such an amazing stay experience. I'm glad they were able to help you truly dig into our amazing city and all that it has to offer. We can't wait to welcome you back. All my best, -Matt and The Woodlark Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James B wrote a review Mar 2020
Dallas, Texas4 contributions
A classy establishment conveniently located short walking distances from entertainment, shopping and restaurants. It's the staff who are really making the difference, from Nathan the Valet, to Dyanna supervising the front office, they not only promote a professional environment, but pay attention to opportunities that will help make a person's day. The Woodlark is a place I genuinely felt comfortable having a cup of coffee downstairs, a drink at the bar, or just passing through without needing to feel hurried or in the way. I highly recommend the Woodlark, it's worth every penny.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Bernard, General Manager at Woodlark
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Thanks for the 5-Star review here on Trip Advisor. Our team truly loves taking care of our guests and providing unforgettable experiences. We'd love to welcome you back soo and thanks for being our guest. Cheers, -Matt and The Woodlark Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yihan H wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Came to Portland for a solo leisure trip and decided to stay at Woodlark. Walking in, the lobby is spacious, quiet, and beautifully decorated. And there is a nice coffee shop right next to the front desk. The hotel employees at the front desk are very helpful and friendly. I booked a king studio and it is very clean. The bathroom definitely convinced me to give the hotel 5 stars as it is tastefully designed and very roomy. I'd definitely stay at Woodlark again for my next Portland travel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Bernard, General Manager at Woodlark
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Dear Yihan, Thanks so much for the amazing review of Woodlark here on Tripadvisor! I am so pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful lobby and that you had an incredible Studio Suite experience. I'll be sure to share your warm comments with the team! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! All my best, Matt and The Woodlark Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KAM059 asked a question Mar 2019
UK78 contributions34 helpful votes
What are the non-valet parking options please ? Thanks
Answer from pinkwarrior72
Gleneden Beach, Oregon15 contributions11 helpful votes
There are several public parking garages around the property, the same garages the valet uses, in fact. You just have to be willing to walk about a block or so.
Show all answers
SMcBaker asked a question Mar 2019
Missouri City, Missouri192 contributions147 helpful votes
Are there laundry facilities?
Answer from chris b
portland
Thanks for asking. We provide same day laundry and dry cleaning. If you are able to get it to us by 8am we can get it back to you by 6:pm. Sunday is the only day that this service isn't provided. There are also coin op laundry facilities near the hotel. We can give you directions upon arrival if you wish.
JarosDesigns asked a question Mar 2019
Geneva, Illinois5 contributions
Do they have a gym/fitness center?
Answer from chris b
portland
We have an amazing gym and fitness center located in the lobby. It includes a Traverse Rock Climbing wall, ellipticals, treadmills and recumbent bikes as well as Peloton Spin Cycles and an interactive mirror with all - in - one responsive display comprised of LCD panel, stereo speakers, etc. Our fitness center has it all!!
Show all answers
Richard Y wrote a tip 15 Feb
Dallas, Texas3 contributions
"The back bar/lounge can get busy so check in early for drinks..."
Read full review
Megan D wrote a tip Nov 2023
Kapaa, Hawaii2 contributions1 helpful vote
"If you want a city street view you may want to call to discuss/request that. Our suite faced the close wall of the other half of the hotel."
Read full review
Topeze314 wrote a tip Oct 2023
New Jersey181 contributions29 helpful votes
"For much larger sized bodies, ask about the shower setup, as the door opening inwards was a bit tight for me."
Read full review
Rozz S wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
"Get one of the suites! You won't regret it!"
Read full review
christigray1 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Tallahassee, Florida69 contributions38 helpful votes
"Must valet"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portland area.
PRICE RANGE
₹14,092 - ₹18,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortlandDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WOODLARK (Portland) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Woodlark
Which popular attractions are close to Woodlark?
Nearby attractions include Powell's City of Books (0.3 km), Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall (0.4 km), and Living Room Theater (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Woodlark?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Woodlark?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Woodlark?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Woodlark?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Woodlark?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mucca Osteria, Cheryl's on12th, and Southpark Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Woodlark?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Woodlark located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Portland.
Are any cleaning services offered at Woodlark?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Woodlark?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Woodlark offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.