The Hoxton, Portland

The Hoxton, Portland

Perfect size to sit and have coffee or tea. Or late night snacks from the nearby food carts.
Traveller (257)
Roomy King
Room & Suite (91)
Dining (23)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

₹13,563
Get rewarded with One Key
₹13,563
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#27 of 153 hotels in Portland
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
A 4-minute walk from the Old Town/Chinatown MAX LRT station, this stylish hotel in a restored 1906 building is 6 minutes' walk from Tom McCall Waterfront Park. It's a mile from the Portland Art Museum. Chic, streamlined rooms feature modernist-inspired decor and artwork. All provide complimentary Wi-Fi, flat-screens and minifridges, plus coffeemakers. Upgraded rooms add sitting areas; some have floor-to-ceiling windows. Room service is available. Free perks include loaner bikes and in-room continental breakfast. A warm lobby lounge has exposed beams and brick walls. There's an upscale restaurant, a rooftop cafe and a subterranean cocktail bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

15 NW 4th Ave, Portland, OR 97209
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Portland Intl Airport
Union Station
8 min
791Reviews9Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 545
  • 118
  • 64
  • 37
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
EJL wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Portland Hoxton is easily one of the best hotels you can find in downtown Portland. A perfect blend of formal and casual, the Hoxton positions itself as a perfect location for either a quick getaway or a reliable work location while in the city. The hotel is furnished in a very "Portland way" with a good mixture of modern and more classical furniture.
Thomas C. was phenomenal during my multiple stays at the Hoxton, consistently providing a level of care that I have struggled to find anywhere else. Being recognized at check-in makes the Hoxton feel that much more like a home away from home.

The food at the hotel is also very fairly priced and of great quality. Tope has been a wonderful experience each time I have come, to the point that I went as a customer even when I was staying at different establishments in Portland. I had the pleasure to be served by Luke most of the times I dined at Tope and I must say he is one of the reasons that I keep coming back, phenomenal service with great attention to detail. He is always able to recommend something new and good to try both in the food and the drink department while maintaining the highest level of cleanliness and social distancing possible. What Thomas is for the Front Desk, Luke is for Tope. A winning combination that is hard to come by nowadays.

In regards to the COVID response at the Hoxton, I can confidently say that I never felt anything other than safe. From the plentiful hand sanitation stations located throughout the building to the implementation of QR menus and increased spacing between tables and the enforcement of facial coverings throughout public areas, the Hoxton is absolutely killing it and creating a safe and enjhoyable environment.

I look forward to being back, sooner rather than later, and to be able to finally eat at Lovely Rita!

"top 2 and I am not two"
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The Cosy with a View is the best balance between price and size of the room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elli Blakeman, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 17 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback -- this is exactly what we strive for! I'm thrilled to hear that your experience was one for the books. We truly do have an incredible team here that is dedicated to making your time with us top notch. Thank you for staying, dining and hanging out with us. We're looking forward to next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blair wrote a review Mar 2020
Los Angeles, California30 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Image you find an artsy, hip, and trendy hotel in the heart of a city that won’t kill your wallet. Can you think of one? Probably not. Well, let me share my experience of staying at the Hoxton with my boyfriend for a weekend getaway. It is located in the heart of Chinatown in downtown. It is walking distance from all the popular destinations such as Voodoo Donuts, Blue Star, Ruby Jewel, Mother’s, Pine Street Market, Portland Daily Grill (view of the city on the 30th floor), some great shops, Powell’s Bookstore, Lan Su Chinese Gardens, and many more popular spots. While my boyfriend and I went before the Coronavirus hit hard to the US, all spots were very popular and the small shops supported the local artists, which I very much enjoyed. Anyways, the hotel has 3 bars and upon entering, the staff was very kind and hospitable. Since it was sold out upon arrival and we had the “snug” room, we chose to have the room inside rather than overlooking the Main Street. We wanted to be in a quiet room. It was great for what we needed it for and the snug room is 113 square feet. It fits a bed, a TV, 2 night stands - 1 containing a free shelf and the safe and the other a refrigerator, along with a full bathroom. They provide bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. The body wash smelled nice and made my skin soft. We weren’t in the room much but we were in the hotel for grabbing coffee on the go, breakfast before we started our day, dessert after a busy day, and explored one of the two bars that are on the property. They have a speakeasy on the side of the building that is open Wednesday-Saturday, while we didn’t get an opportunity to go, it looked amazing and the drink options were endless. As for the rooftop bar, Tope, located on floor 9, it was busy and loud. However, while it is in March where it is rainy and quite chilly, the outdoors were desolate but the bar was where the party was at. The scenic view was of the back side of the city and a must see if even for a few minutes or for a drink. Now, my favorite spot was Lovely Rita. It’s bistro that offers all meals and truly delightful but a limited desert menu. It hits home personally because my grandma’s name is Rita and they have stickers in the cafe, I definitely took a few! They have tasty food, when we went for breakfast, it was very yummy! I had the banana smoothie, tasty but certainly not filling. So to accompany it, I had the avocado toast- which was delightful! My boyfriend had the golden burrito and I don’t think I have seen food disappear so quickly from his plate. At the end of our trip, we had checked out and both myself and my boyfriend decided we will definitely return. I highly recommend for first timers visiting Portland and frequent travelers. It is definitely a great spot in the city!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was good for us-- we had a car that was parked in the carpark across the street so we could easily go out, but it was also super close to walk to Powell's city of books, Voodoo donuts, and some other cute coffee/bubble tea places. One thing to note is that if you do drive, you will have to pay for parking. It was like $12 overnight and we added an extra $3 in the morning for another hour.

The ambiance was the highlight of this hotel. The plants in the lobby looked like perfect specimens (looked so good I thought they were fake to be honest) and has a houseplant/rare plant enthusiast, I spent a good 10 minutes wandering around the dining area and lobby looking at the plants. They have a wall of cute local goodies and the entire hotel had a "mismatchy but sophisticated" vibe. The kind people at the front desk informed me that they'd open up the roof soon, and there were many more plants I could look at up there. Some in the lobby were for sale for not a bad price. If you are also really into houseplants, I highly suggest staying here. It gives a wonderful atmosphere to start and end each day you are in Portland.

With COVID, there was a waiver we had to fill out with clean/dirty pen bins, hand sanitizer was everywhere, and everyone we saw was wearing a mask. They allow you to eat in the dining area (without masks) but most people seemed reasonable and spread out.

Lastly, they are extremely friendly and generous. We originally booked the stay for Valentine's day weekend, but due to the snow, couldn't get down to Portland. They allowed us to reschedule for the next weekend with no issues at all (thank you Tommy!). The stay we picked also gave us $25 voucher to use at their cafe/front desk drinks, which was more than enough for a breakfast for two. (Highly suggest their matcha latte, it was pretty high quality for not specializing in matcha!) When we arrived, they had upgraded our room, which was a nice bonus!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elli Blakeman, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 22 Feb 2021
Thank you so much for taking time to write us such a thorough review. I was thrilled to read all that you had to say about your stay as it is everything we aim for. Not to mention that I drink it almost daily, so I totally agree. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Elli Blakeman Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cally D wrote a review Apr 2021
Springfield, Oregon1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second stay here at this location. (December 2019; April 2021) This is my first stay during the pandemic. Sadly, I wasn't able to have the amazingly glorious breakfast sandwich or cocktail I had at my previous stay because the downstairs restaurant is closed.

The staff is incredibly kind, welcoming, and energetic. They genuinely seem to be happy to see you and happy to help with whatever your needs are. They offered numerous accommodations and I felt I could have asked for nearly anything and they'd have provided.

The beds are incredibly comfortable and the pillows are perfect.

I don't know how busy the hotel was over all, but I didn't hear another soul the entire time I was in my room.

The location is just on the edge of Chinatown. This area has its pros and cons. The gorgeous architecture and murals are juxtaposed with boarded up windows, garbage strewn about, and strings of homeless persons tents. There's evidence that this part of Portland used to be a gorgeous and bustling area. But now, maybe partly due to the pandemic and partly due to vandalism/riots, it's verging on being a ghost town.

I spent an entire day walking around Chinatown with my boyfriend. Never once did I feel afraid. One homeless person walked by us and asked if we had a dollar. We were polite to say no, and he was as well, in response. They all seemed to keep to themselves. There were a couple groups who seemed to be kind of rowdy, but mostly they were inside their tents and quiet.

The Hoxton keeps their area immaculately clean and there are no homeless people camping anywhere along the Hotel. There are a couple of locations for paid parking. I believe both are monitored by security. One of them is gated. I parked in the open city parking between 4th and 5th street for both stays and had no problems, nor did I see any signs of problems with any other vehicles. No suspicious folk loitering, evidence of busted windows, etc.

Over all, I highly recommend the stay. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and accommodating. It's a wonderful location to walk to so many great places (Voodoo Doughnuts, Stumptown Coffee, the waterfront, the Portland sign, Powells Books, the Chinese Gardens), and easy to catch an Uber to take you to some further-away points of interest. If you can look past some of the more undesirable aspects of the area, you'll find an interesting little part of Portland worthy of getting lost in and discover something beautiful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elli Blakeman, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 30 Apr 2021
Thank you so much, Cally! We're thrilled that you came to hang out with us and took a moment to share such detailed feedback. Pro tip: our bedding comes from Down, Etc and they are fantastic. I highly recommend indulging so you can feel like you're on vacation every day. I completely agree with your observations about the neighborhood. While our neighbors who live on the streets are milling about, they tend to be polite and I've never been scared wandering the streets. I'm so happy you had a similar experience! We're so happy to hear that you got to enjoy quite an array of local businesses - the spots you mentioned are some of the most unique places that really make Portland Portland. Thanks again! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly wrote a review Feb 2021
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just finished our stay at this hotel and could not recommend it enough. We had lost power like many people in Oregon Valentine's Day evening, and after doing one cold night decided to book a hotel until we got power. The Hoxton was able to accomodate Myself, partner and dogs with no problem. They even had dog bowls we could use to feed them.
The whole staff was extremely friendly and helpful, offering parking suggestions and recommendations for food nearby when asked, and just overall positivity. Everyone was wearing masks and hand sanitizer was readily available. Their restaurant was closed, however they did have the seating opened for you to eat any food you had delivered there which was a great option to have!
I honestly do not have words to describe how great and relaxing they made this experience for us during an incredibly stressful time. I am definitely going to be back and will be recommending them as my go-to hotel for friends and family going forward. 10/10 best vibes
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Very pet friendly atmosphere!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elli Blakeman, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 21 Feb 2021
It was an absolute joy to host you both and your pups! We're beyond grateful that you took a moment to share your feedback and are thrilled to hear that you had such a good time with us. Your referral to friends and family is so appreciated and we're looking forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
courtneyaubert wrote a review Mar 2020
Auburn, Washington1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When choosing this hotel I wasn’t too picky just because I just needed somewhere to sleep. The vibe in the inside was low key and very hipster-casual. The inside was as expected, maybe even better than I expected for the price for a Saturday night. They also delivered a complimentary breakfast to your room in the morning which made it so easy to not have to worry about waking up in time to catch a breakfast buffet. Since it is across the street from all of the bars and clubs it was extremely loud outside until about 2:30am which is fine if you booked this hotel for that reason. However, if you are here over the weekend (I’m assuming the night life is poppin every weekend) and plan to actually get sleep I would not recommend staying here. The staff were so friendly though! Also, the parking situation is just outrageous and burned a hole in my wallet because I surely didn’t plan on having to pay for parking at all.

Overall, it is a very nice hotel. Personally, I Probably won’t stay here again just because I don’t drink, go to bars or to the clubs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring ear plugs for sleeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from nolan_m_hox, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 11 Mar 2020
courtneyaubert, Thank you for giving us a review! The weekends do tend to be a little louder than the weekdays, but we can try and put you in a quieter room the next time you stay. Just ask at the desk and we will see what we can do for you! We hope you come back and try us out again. Cheers, Nolan M.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian C wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My girlfriend and I made the great decision to stay at the Hoxton during a quick weekend trip to Portland. Even prior to landing in Portland, the staff at the Hoxton was extremely helpful in making sure we got the most bang for our buck- they helped us find the best deal available (promos and prices for rooms vary month to month, and they were more than willing to adjust reservations to give us the best deal). I want to make sure to give a special shout out in particular to August, who fielded all of my questions over the phone and provided prompt follow-up emails for any unanswered queries I had. August continued to be an absolutely amazing resource during our actual stay, providing numerous recommendations for food/drink and even being the one to handle our late night requests for towels, water, etc.; basically, if August is working during your stay, you are in great hands. As for the Hoxton itself, it was prime central location from which we were able to explore all parts of Portland. In addition, they have a great coffee shop in the lobby, as well as one of the most prime rooftop destinations for drinks/food in all of Portland. The general store in the lobby also provided local cocktails and wines at a very reasonable price. As far as the room itself, we opted for the ‘Cozy,’ which was more than enough space for us considering we were spending more of our time outside of the hotel. All in all, we were extremely satisfied with our stay and will definitely be staying at the Hoxton the next time we are in town.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elli Blakeman, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 30 Apr 2021
Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your feedback, Brian! It was delightful to host you and your girlfriend. I completely agree with you - August is a gem! It sounds like you had a great time and were able to partake in much of what the hotel has to offer. Thanks again and we can't wait til the next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daveandbonniem wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a scary area. We have traveled plenty & never seen any 3rd world country this bad! Homeless urinating all over a doorway across from the hotel, yelling at us, asking for alcohol. The street was loud all night, got no sleep.

Parking in an open parking lot surrounded by sidewalks lined in tents of homeless was scary.

The staff was lukewarm and more concerned with having us fill out the Covid form. We so wanted to ask if we were exposed to Covid could we get our money back and leave?

The room didn’t seem overly clean. I could see water rings on the counter that if properly cleaned would wipe up easily. It’s the first hotel where we pulled the blankets and sheets all the way down to make sure the sheets were actually clean.

It’s really a shame because the property has potential. If I owned the place, I would sell and move elsewhere (anywhere would be better). There can never be pride and success in being in the hospitality industry at this location even if housekeeping and staffing improved.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Delphina Kopacki-Pothier, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 10 Sept 2021
Hello, Dave and Bonnie. Firstly, I would like to thank you for sharing this feedback. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was so unenjoyable and that you encountered so many issues during your stay. As such, I would like to address some of the concerns you mentioned. It is true that the Portland area in general has seen a significant growth of its houseless population. The pandemic has weighed heavily on those who were already living in poverty or close to it, and it is reflected in the number of folks who are unfortunately now relegated to living on the streets. In general, we do not find reason to worry about most of these people, as the majority tend to keep to themselves. Our hearts go out to those that are in need of mental health care, and to do our part we do partner with two local non-profits with the goal of aiding in making life better for the houseless and in cleaning up the surrounding area. I apologize if you felt unsafe at any time. I'm sorry to hear that our team did not feel friendly and welcoming - this is not our standard of service, and I will be sure to touch base regarding your feedback. Though the Covid waiver is very important for contact-tracing and for the general health and safety concerns of our guests and staff alike, it should not be the focus of your check-in experience. As for the room, it is disheartening to see that it was not as clean as it should have been. I have already logged your concerns with our housekeeping team and they will not be taken lightly. Cleanliness is extremely important to us and I am sorry that this was not reflected in the condition of your room. Overall, it is discouraging that you had such a poor experience. This is not what we strive to offer, and it's clear we missed the mark this time. The area will only continue to grow and improve with time, so we will continue to do our part to make the neighborhood a lively, enjoyable place to be. I hope that in the future you will be able to visit us or another Hoxton property and enjoy your time with us. If you do choose to visit again, please don't hesitate to reach out to the front desk directly so that we can take care of you on a more personal level. Again, I appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback. It is through these types of conversations that we are able to implement changes that improve the guest experience. Best, Delphina KP Guest Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
boyangz62 wrote a review Jan 2020
Chongqing, China2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A nice stylish, hip vibe boutique hotel with amazing decor. The rooms are small but it’s really nice and has everything you need. The staffs are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast bag is a nice plus to the experience. The location sits between the edge of downtown Portland and Chinatown, but you can take the nearby max trains to nearly everywhere. There are bars and restaurants on property and the food and cocktails are really worth trying as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I got the snug room. It might be too small for two people but definitely still manageable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from nolan_m_hox, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thanks for taking the time to send us a shout out! Glad to hear you enjoyed our team and the food and drink we have. We hope you come back sooner than later. Cheers, Nolan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ciera wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So great we stayed longer than we planned! We had only planned on staying 1 night and we eneded up staying 4 in total. I really can't say enough good things about this place and its staff. I originally booked the first night through air bnb and the additional nights with the front desk staff. Where to begin... On the first day I called to ask about parking and was informed of a easy safe parking lot across the street AND they allowed us to check in hours early! Thomas informed us of the brunch in the roof top bar Tope so we went straight there. Upon arrival Rhet seated with no wait despite them being quite busy. The views from any seat where to die for. Rhet was a total Saint, he was beyond helpful for our entire stay. We interacted with him several times during our stay, both in the upstairs and downstairs bar. Everytime he was straight up the best. The food was worth going for even if you don't stay in the hotel. The beds and the pillows where so comfortable. I'm normally the person who brings my own pillows to a hotel but it was completely unnecessary here. The front desk has complimentary waters and a great little sundry selection of local products, including wine. Several times we used their QR code to order food and cocktails, the system was extremely user friendly, my only complaint is that it doesn't save your payment info. Either way the prices are great and the product is spectacular upstairs and downstairs. Our stay was extended because of wildfires and Delphina was so compassionate I felt safe and at home, she also gave spectacular brunch recommendations. The rooms say they're on the smaller said but they don't feel cramped in anyway. Although Thomas, Rhett and Delphina stood out and went above and beyond don't want that to downgrade any other staff, everyone we encountered was a total joy. When I come back to Portland I will absolutely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elli Blakeman, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Portland
Responded 19 Sept 2020
Wow -- this is so great to hear! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. It's so encouraging to hear that you not only extended your stay, but that you were comfortable, well cared for and had fun! We can't wait to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1 helpful vote
Hi Michael, Check out "Change it Up," our flexiest rate on the site! Don't pay until you stay and fully cancelable up until 2 PM the day before arrival.
Answer from Keith K
Hilo, Hawaii18 contributions1 helpful vote
Book well ahead and ask for a bathtub. We did that and got room 203 which was amazing. Pedestal tub in the living room. Oh and it had a LIVINGROOM!
KCinLG asked a question Apr 2019
Los Gatos, California1,376 contribution151 helpful votes
Does this hotel offer a gym?
Answer from squashbear
93 helpful votes
No gym. However you will get plenty of exercise attempting to avoid all the homeless people that surround the hotel.
KAM059 asked a question Mar 2019
UK80 contributions34 helpful votes
What are the non-valet parking options please ? Thanks
Answer from g hartley
Monrovia, California8 contributions1 helpful vote
I am so sorry, we did not investigate parking as we took the metro from the airport to the hotel. I would suggest contacting the hotel directly. The staff is very helpful!
Dianna A asked a question Mar 2019
Hays, North Carolina6 contributions1 helpful vote
Handicap access?
Answer from Anne K
Seattle, Washington61 contributions36 helpful votes
Yes, the front door to the hotel is very heavy, but there was always an employee there to help with that. Once in, there are no stairs. Not sure about the elevators' buttons, but the corridors in the hotel are rather narrow, and getting into the rooms might be a bit of a problem unless you have one of the larger sized rooms.Our room, a "snug", would have been difficult. Our daughter's room, a "cozy" would have worked better with a wheelchair.
Dracoschnauzer Dad wrote a tip Mar 2024
Los Angeles, California581 contributions134 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the area"
Read full review
Alba C wrote a tip Feb 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be nice + respectful, the staff works really hard to make your stay awesome."
Read full review
Laura P wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to stay on a middle floor if you don’t want noise from the upstairs or basement bars Be prepared to valet your car "
Read full review
Adam S wrote a tip Aug 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance for the rooftop restaurant Tope as it’s extremely popular."
Read full review
Annie Nelson wrote a tip Aug 2023
Marathon, Florida64 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I wouldn’t stay here again. I’d avoid the whole neighborhood honestly. The dollar you pay is not worth the lack of safety outside the hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portland area.
PRICE RANGE
₹12,242 - ₹14,823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HOXTON, PORTLAND - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hoxton, Portland
Which popular attractions are close to The Hoxton, Portland?
Nearby attractions include Lan Su Chinese Garden (0.3 km), Portland Saturday Market (0.4 km), and Ground Kontrol Classic Arcade (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hoxton, Portland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Hoxton, Portland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hoxton, Portland?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hoxton, Portland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lechon, Mothers Bistro, and Thai Peacock.
Is The Hoxton, Portland located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Portland.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hoxton, Portland?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Hoxton, Portland?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Hoxton, Portland offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hoxton, Portland?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hoxton, Portland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portland Center Stage at The Armory (0.6 km), Old Church (1.2 km), and Japanese American Historical Plaza (0.4 km).
All Portland HotelsPortland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortlandHotels near The Hoxton, Portland
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire